We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in the Jungle. Great rooms and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 59 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Relax in the Jungle. Great rooms and great food”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed here twice now. Its good for 2-3 days to relax and enjoy the calm.
Seafood excellent. Rooms always clean and fresh. Here you get the personal touch of a small boutique hotel.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BritKyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    32
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
109
297
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2010

The location is great. Very quite but only short tuk tuk ride to Bentota and short walk to beach. Unfortunatley we could only paddle as the seas were too rough due to the monsoon. We booked two rooms which were huge, very clean and had wonderful views over the jungle. We enjoyed seeing the wildlife from the balcony and from the poolside particularly the monkeys, the woodpeckers, Sea Eagles, Kingfishers and the bats flying over at sunset. Great breakfasts served on the balcony. Sri Lankan omelettes, English breakfasts and great fruit juices. The Rice and curries for dinner were great and one nightth we had huge prawns on BBQ. Hosts are excellent and gave us good recommendations for dinners in Bentota and for activites such as visiting the monday markets, watersports, boat trips for crocodile and water monitor spotting and trips inland through tea plantations for swim in pool beneath waterfall. We spent one day just chilling out by the excellent pool and had good sandwiches for lunch.
We highly recommned that you book this guest house i promise you will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed at Shangri Lanka for 6 nights for some R&R after a pretty intensive 10 day tour of Kandy, the cultural Triangle and a Yala Safari. My wife booked this based on the reviews on trip advisor and on the whole we were happy with the accommodation - nice rooms, comfortable beds and very clean. The 2 young chaps who work there were very good. However, on the evening of day 4 my wife was told by the owner (Rohan) that we "had to move rooms" - from the ground floor, to the top floor. When she queried it she was told another family were coming and they had 2 children so he didnt want to put them up the stairs. So my wife agreed and she, our 14 yr old son and myself set about emptying the wardrobes and repacking our cases to move up to the third floor room.
Next day we saw the new family arrive with their " 2 children" - 2 young ladies who appeared to be late teens in the swimming pool. Later that evening we noticed that the owners had invited the family up to their accomodation to have dinner on their balcony....so it seems we were decanted from the best room to accommodate their friends. NOT how you would expect to be treated by a quality establishment!!!
Please also be aware that you will be charged for your bottled water (with a 100% mark up from shop prices), whereas it was complimentary in other establishments we patronised.
We spent time at Chaaya Hotels in Habarana and Yala, where the accommodation was comparable, but we were on a full board basiswith 5 star catering for less than the B&B price at Shangri Lanka. We also checked the rates at some of the other hotels in Bentota and there are better value places around.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilanka, Owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
Thank you for your feedback we appreciate you taking the time.

We are very unhappy you were dissatisfied and totally unaware. We wish you had given us the opportunity to explain and rectify the situation.

We are not a hotel but a very small 4 bedroom guesthouse that welcomes you into our home for a different experience away from the 5 star hotels. We are open and friendly to all our guests and treat them as friends if we can.

As you changed your booking at very short notice we were genuinely trying to be helpful to give you the extra night you wanted. it wasn't possible in the same room.

The guests with the children aged 2 and 6 arrived late through the night and were sleeping in next morning hence you didn't meet them until later when the admired the fantastic drawing your wife did of our dog.

We are sorry we confused you but we moved out of our room into the main house and rented it out which we do all season. We had never met before and they ate alone on their balcony although Rohan did serve them and chat to them.

We had no idea you weren’t happy with the prices or standard of food as you ate here most nights and were very complimentary. The prices are all up to date on the website were agreed at booking stage even before you asked for an extra night.

We are proud to be open and honest and the cheapest rate in Bentota for same standard of accommodation and unique in giving complimentary internet access in all rooms with use of our laptop/netbook.

Our prices are inclusive and so the 23% service charge and tax is not added to the total bill as it is in all hotels/restaurants in Bentota and most of Sri Lanka.

I have emailed you directly and hope this explanation has helped a little if there is anything else we do please let us know.

Kind regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2010

The villa was everything I'd hoped for. Great view over the countryside from the top floor room, delicious breakfast on the balcony, a huge room, lovely grounds and a swimming pool. Dinner made to order and the team made me feel very welcome.

Rohan was very helpful in arranging my 4-day sightseeing tour around the country. Special thanks to Hema, my driver/guide, who made sure everything went well and made my trip special.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rona_mcdowall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Our 2nd visit in 6 months....again fabulous. It was a welcome retreat after the hustle & bustle of Kandy.
We started our holiday with a 5 day tour arranged by Rohan which we thoroughly enjoyed, the highlight being a trip to Minneryia and seeing over 100 wild elephants up close.
We really wanted a relaxing week after all the sightseeing and that is what we had. Chaminda took us in the tuk tuk to Lunuganga, we really enjoyed looking around the beautiful gardens overlooking Lake Dedduwa. The lanes around the villa are really pleasant to wander round too, or cycle as we did, everyone says hello or waves to you.
If you are after peace & quiet in beautiful surroundings along with good food & outstanding hospitality then this is the place!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We had a wonderful stay with Karen and Rohan, who are impeccable hosts. We could not have asked for more. Everything about Shangri Lanka is first class. The staff are friendly and courteous, always ready to help. The accommodation and facilities are divine, and the menu is flexible and the food delicious! We know how hard it can be to find good accommodation in Sri Lanka, and the Shangri Lanka is truly an oasis. Thank you so much Karen and Rohan, Sanka, Chaminda and Danushka, and off course Bobby and Mazey! Our stay with you was the highlight of our wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed here for just three days, and made sure we had booked our return visit before we left. From the moment we arrived we were looked after superbly. The room was huge and spotless, with a bathroom you could park a large car in! The staff were friendly and very helpful. Rohan and Karen were wonderful hosts, seeming to know exactly what their guests need. And Rohan's cooking was heaven. The setting was terrific, near enough the beach to walk to but far enough away so there was no feeling of being in a resort. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrot199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
817 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Property: Shangri-Lanka Villa
Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing