We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Nearby Hotels
$144
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$93
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saman Villas(Bentota)
$413
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$68
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Janus Paradise Rest(Bentota)(Great Value!)
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Villa(Bentota)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
485
33
7
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
33
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaren rohantuk tuksri lankawonderful hostsday tourhuge bathroomother guestspaddy fieldsguest housejumbo prawnslittle piece of paradisebird lifeyala national parkboutique hotellovely pooltea plantationrelaxing break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 530 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2010

My daughter and I only had one night at Shangri-Lanka, to end our two weeks of touring around and we undoubtedly saved the best until last!

This is a true home-from-home, but located in a tropical paradise. It would be hard not to feel truly relaxed or at home here. Karen and Rohan are true professionals, delivering a fantastic holiday experience and being so very friendly and approachable without ever being intrusive. The lovely touch of king coconuts magically appearing on our balcony within moments of our arrival was an example of this, as was a mosquito coil under the same balcony table just before dusk .. all quietly and efficiently done as was everything at this lovely place.

We were here to meet up with friends from India and our excellent dinner was served down in the garden, as was breakfast, when we joined the other couple staying at Shangri Lanka too. Just having 6 of us here meant that friendships were formed easily and added to the lovely holiday experience.

What more can I say? The room ... well, it wasn't just a room, it was an apartment ... was huge and so beautifully decorated that I wish I had Karen at my home to practise her design skills further. We had the top floor suite but had a good nose around at the other two so can confidently say that no one would be disappointed, whatever one you had. The pool was gorgeous and hotter than most hot-water showers in most of the guesthouses that we usually stay at. The 2 family dogs are real characters and the luckiest former street dogs ever ... fancy ending up in a place like this!!

Bentota Beach, an easy level walk away, is fine for beach lovers but for me, true paradise was right there at the villa, surrounded by tropical greenery, butterflies and birds. I only hope my photos do it justice. Thank you Karen and Rohan, for a short, but intense holiday experience. I only hope I can return again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusieStAustell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Everything that can be said about Shangri-Lanka has already been said in the earlier reviews in a much better way than I can. All the things said about this place is very true and I must admit I went there hoping to find some flaws but boy am I glad to be disappointed.

Karen and Rohan have created paradise in Sri Lanka. We were warmly welcomed by Karen and Rohan and the staff took our luggage to our Suite in a jiffy. We were treated with Tender coconut water the moment we arrived with our friends from Cornwall. We stayed in Suite 2 whereas our friends were put up in Suite 3. There are 3 rooms in all and each one is decorated in a unique way. It really hard to believe they did not appoint interior designers to get the fabulous results!!!. Our room had enormous bed and decorated with flowers. The bed was done daily and the room was kept to date by the staff. The rooms are all air-conditioned but don’t have television (who requires it anyway at this place). The size of bathroom awes you as you enter and the sunken bath in ours was a treat. We had a peek at the suite on second floor as well and it was also tastefully decorated with theme of its own. Each suite has its own balcony where you can have your breakfast/meals in privacy. There was a well stocked mini bar in our room.

Karen and Rohan are a delight to chat with and are full of stories of Sri Lanka. They are ably assisted by 3 staff - -Dhanushka, Chaminda and Sanka. Their service was brilliant. The dogs – Macy and Bobby are well behaved and friendly. There have a lovely swimming pool which was fully utilized by my wife :) !! Beach is 10 mins walk or a 2 mins tuk tuk ride which is arranged free of cost by Rohan. The tuk tuk can be taken for local trips free of cost. My advice is to go walking to the wide sandy beach and see the tropical wild life, fields along the way. Rohan also arranged for a 3-hour exclusive boat safari and we enjoyed every minute of it. We saw mangrove swamps, water lilies, baby crocodiles, water monitors and a plethora of birds.

We enjoyed the company of our friends from Cornwall and a very charming Swiss couple and we shared our best moments in Sri Lanka at the dining table with them. Karen and Rohan were also around and we never felt like we were guests. It was more like old friends catching up.

The food there was really good and we had our dinners there for 2 out of the 3 nights we stayed there. One night we went to Malli’s Seafood restaurant, which is run by nephew of Rohan and is recommended by him. The food in Malli’s restaurant was also delicious. Rohan's arrack cocktail was amazing. We had the most succulent crabs and prawns we ever had at Shangri-Lanka. The seer fish fry was lip-smacking. The breakfast was amazing especially the Sri Lankan string hoppers. We also had very tasty sausages and a variety of tropical fruits.

Karen was kind enough to let us use high-speed internet free of charge. She also let us borrow some books from her well stocked library. Karen and Rohan have uncanny ability to manage things perfectly without any brouhaha.

A very highly recommended place with 5-star comforts at 3-star price and most importantly this place has a soul and is very different from the faceless so-called luxury hotels.

If you intend to have a relaxed holiday, sumptuous food, friendly atmosphere and a memorable Sri Lankan experience, look no further.

We will be back……..again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank yashwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Excellent mixture of real Sri Lanka and upmarket guesthouse set in a locals road surrounded by jungle. Large monkey colony next door. Very exotic wildlife. Minutes from an empty sandy beach. Just three letting rooms and three full time staff result in a high level of service. Evening meals optional but recommended. Good swimming pool and constant supply of cold drinks. We took all of our meals outdoors, a nice thing to do in the middle of February!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Formatge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed at the Shangri Lanka Villa for a week in January, near the beginning of a one month visit. I booked it because all the reviews were so good - and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived, it seemed that Karen and the staff were just trying to make everything relaxed and easy for us.

We stayed in the ground floor room, the one with twin double four poster beds - it was a huge room, and the bathroom was something else - and everywhere spotlessly clean. When we stepped out onto our patio in the morning and the lovely breakfast was brought to us there, we felt like film stars!

Karen was a great host - Rohan was away until our last night - very chatty, full of interesting stories about Sri Lankan life. Also very helpful in letting me use the internet and making suggestions for the rest of our trip, which we were making up as we went along. And now and then offering a great cup of tea out of one of her collection of pretty china mugs.
The three boys on the staff were always very pleasant and helpful.

We made a couple of trips to look at local places of interest - Geoffrey Bawa (the architect)'s home at Lunuganga, and his brother Bevis's house at Brief - Karen and the boys organised tuk tuks for us. Highly recommended as something a bit different to do.

The only thing wrong with staying at the Shangri Lanka Villa was that we did it at the beginning of our trip - which meant that everywhere else was a bit of a come down afterwards!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainbeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Spent two nights and wish it could have been longer but it was a lovely start to our holiday. We were looked after very well and the food was delicious. The room was delightful with an enormous bed and bathroom, plus its own veranda. I do hope we can return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews