We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would give 6stars if i could”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 62 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

lovely lovely place with friendly beautiful people. So very clean and beautifully appointed. rooms were huge and cleaned daily. staff were so good we felt like we were leaving friends when the time came to come home. \loved the dogs Maisie and Bobby, will miss Maisie calling in for her morning McVities gingerbread bicuit. Many thanks to you all for making our holiday so special will definately be coming back.

Room Tip: all the roooms are very good and huge whichever you are offerrred will be fine
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hydrotherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-Lanka Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 491 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here in February and the owners actually really helped us plan our holiday and travel plans beyond just Bentota.

The Accommodation was very nice and away from the main road/rail track, so it was very quiet and tranquil. It was a about a 5 minute walk down the country road to the main road. The owners arranged transport via tuk tuk, or mini van around the place and they would select drivers that were honest and safe.

While staying here, we eat here most the time and the food was always delicious. We even arranged a roast suckling pig spit one evening.... yummy! They set up the dining table on the lawn... wow... awesome evening.

The place is quiet, so if you are looking at a nice quiet relaxing time, to get away from it all, this is great place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren-Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We chose to stay at Shangri Lanka after reading glowing reports on the trip adviser site.
From our first contact with Karen to leaving to return home the standard of customer service provided was nothing short of exceptional. Prior to departing the UK Karen provided invaluable advice on a variety of subjects ranging from flight info to island tours.
On arrival we were made to feel so welcome as we were met by all the staff who were on duty at the time.
We stayed in room 2 which surpassed our expectations - it was huge with a fantastic balcony area overlooking the pool and gardens.
The gardens and pool area are immaculately maintained - in the main due to the hard working Paraman (I hope this is the correct spelling) - this man is an absolute joy who always has the broadest smile imaginable.
It is actually no exaggeration to say that all the staff are exceptional - nothing is too much bother for any of them- it was actually a pleasure to be in their company even though they were working.
We ate at the villa most nights as the food was wonderful and Rohan(chef) was always prepared to vary his menu to suit individuals.
We had not arranged any island tours prior to arriving but this was not a problem at all - after speaking to Raymond and Rohan(boss) everything was sorted with no fuss or mither and we set off on a 3 night tour with Rohan. All we can say is that the trip was unbelievable from start to finish with amazing attention to detail and what we had said we wanted to do.

All we can add is that Shangri Lanka Villa was a fantastic experience and one that we will recommend to anyone - thanks to everyone who made it so special.

PS -The 2 dogs Maisy and Bobby are so attentive and fun that it almost seems that they have been on the Shangri Lanka customer service training !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lescoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

So much has already been written about Shangri Lanka Villa that it's very difficult to find anything further to add.

The accommodation exceeded my already high expectations. The room was huge, spotlessly clean, air conditioned and with a very large bathroom. Food is wonderful, there only being 5 rooms means that you virtually gave a chef at your complete disposal, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast sitting under the covered canopy or on your balcony is lovely and prepared individually so everything is fresh. Lunch if you want it includes my personnel favourite - a marvellous fresh prawn sandwich washed down with a nice cold local beer! Evening meals were as good, if not better than any meals I sampled in local restaurants. The curries are beautiful the fresh lobster and prawns however are my recommendation along with the homemade roti bread with garlic butter - scrumptious!

The location of the Villa is also good, tucked away well off the main road down a quiet side road. The beach is a 10 minute walk away although a free tuk-tuk is available if your feeling a little lazy. The attractions of Bentota including it's many restaurants and shops are within easy reach should you want to venture out - although you may well not want too. Such is the comfort, relaxation, beautiful surroundings and attraction of the pool that you may find it difficult to venture out of the Villa.

Don't think of Shangri Lanka Villa as a guest house, think of it as a unique, very exclusive boutique hotel - the quality is that good.

What does set the Villa apart from almost every hotel and resort I have ever stayed at, including many 5 star establishments is the incredible attentiveness, friendliness and genuine caring attitude of both the staff and owners. Genuinely nothing is too much trouble. Everyone goes out of their way to ensure your complete satisfaction and comfort.

I would like to take this opportunity to say a huge thank you to everyone at Shangri Lanka Villa for making my holiday this year as perfect as it could possibly be, above all else it is they that added that extra undefinable something that turns an annual holiday into one that will never be forgotten.

Don't go expecting all the facilities and fuss of a 5 star hotel go to relax in the simple luxury of a beautiful boutique guesthouse where you will be looked after like like nowhere else.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank SimonLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Where do we start to say how amazing out recent trip to Sri Lanka in February was??
Well let's start at the very beginning, on recommendation from two good friends who rightly said it was such an amazing place.I messages Karen at Shangri Lanka hoping to stay from 10th Feb to 20th but unfortunately she couldn't fit us in until the 13th, my birthday :-)
Karen suggested she organise a 3 night/4day tour for us ending on the 13th arriving at Shangri Lanka for 6 days pure relaxation and sent through two suggestions, we felt this would be perfect and quickly booked up.
On arrival we were met by our guide Heman and his immaculate car. The 4days that followed were fantastic and so interesting as Heman was a wealth of knowledge and so passionate about his beautiful country and keen to share this with us a true gentleman - thanks Heman we will be back and hope you will be able to show us even more.
We arrived on my birthday at Shangri Lanka and we're greeted by the staff wishing me a Happy Birthday and even organised a beautiful cake at dinner.
I have titled this review Paradise found and this is exactly it, all the staff were so friendly, attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The relaxed atmosphere and amazing food meant that we didn't even bother venturing out for dinner at all, spent nearly the whole 6 days bare foot, relaxing and making new friends round the pool - oh and not forgetting the two most well behaved resident pets - maisy and
This was our first experience staying in a guest house and boy will we be challenged to better it, the rooms are amazing with attention to detail second to none, everywhere is spotless and perfect in every way.
I could go on and on but would just like to say a HUGE thank you to everyone who made our stay so perfect -
Karen & Roban boss
Rohan chef
Rayman
Rahmon
Paraman
Kumari
Heman
(So sorry about any miss spelling!!)

We will be back xx

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hlw132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

What has Shangri-Lanka got that others don't have?
You arrive at the gates after travelling down a small lane and you are greeted by a toothless little man with a big smile and two friendly dogs, one of which "talks".
The smiles continue as you are welcomed to this oasis in the jungle and led through the garden to your room. We meet the other guests at breakfast and often at dinner at the guest house. Nobody is particularly interested in eating out as the company of the other guests make the evenings so amusing. We have never experienced such a stimulating and relaxed atmosphere. The staff was unobtrusive and always at hand. The "icebreakers" were Bobby and Maisy, the two dogs. This concept is brilliant, no TV or other media appeared as the coversations and stories went on into the night. All this is of course due to Karen and Rohan the owners of this lovely villa. Add to this all the other ingredients which other guests have mentioned already and you are guaranteed an unforgettable holiday experience. Brian and Chris Turner, Sweden

Room Tip: All five suites are excellent!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was our second time at Shangri Lanka. It was the first place we stayed at on our first visit to Sri Lanka in November 2012 and we said then that we would return. We did for 6 nights in February 2014. The food cooked by Rohan the Chef and staff is wonderful and although it was tempting to go out and try different Restaurants, we only did this once as we wanted to try as many dishes as we could from Shangri Lanka's menu! It is amazing how a small team can prepare such a variety of high standard fresh food. I would recommend the grilled Prawns. The service and presentation is outstanding too. Our room was immaculate as always with every small detail down to fresh flowers on the bed. It is so spacious and comfortable that you just don't want to leave! We enjoyed having massage treatments by the pool by Kumari too, she is very good. We love the location, the village setting means that there are many different beautiful Birds in the garden and the sound of Crickets and Frogs in the evening is amazing. It is a treat to sit on the balcony first thing and watch the colourful birds flying around. It is lovely to walk down the lane in both directions, to the beach one way and through the village past a pretty backwater the other. In addition to being a beautiful place, there is just something about Shangri Lanka that makes you sad to leave and want to return. We think that it is the kindness and friendliness of Karen, Rohan and Reymond and all the people that work there. Oh and and of course Bobby and Maisie, the 2 pet Dogs!

Room Tip: All the rooms look gorgeous. We have stayed in Room 3 twice and love the private balcony and views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny_DFrodsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
865 reviews
7.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range: $97 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing