We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificant guest-house in the country-side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 59 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Magnificant guest-house in the country-side”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you like luxurious rooms with 16 sqm bathrooms and private terrasse situated in a British well-kept garden with a very nice pool and no visible neighbours, this is a guest-house for you to consider. The beach is 10-15 minutes walk away, and so is Bentota by tuk-tuk (200 roupies or 1,30 euro). The only "complaint" we have is the price level of the services and in particular the restaurant of the guest-house. It is of course low by European standards, but quite high by Sri Lankain standards. We enjoyed the guide and restaurant services of Alwis's Fish Restaurant down the road.

Room Tip: Our room, i.e. no. 2, was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMSilfverberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilanka, Owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about the magnificence and maintenance of our property. We are very proud of it as we designed it ourselves

Our team of 7 employees help us maintain it to this high standard.

The same level of quality is displayed in our open kitchen. We don't take any outside guests so we can cater personally and individually for our own guests.

We have a clear and open policy and so our menu and current prices are on our website so there are no surprises..

Sri Lankan standards in Bentota are not low and most restaurants are similar in price to ours and a few are higher and the top end.

The place you enjoyed cheap seafood was opened while you were here and as you are aware it is not a fair comparison to any legal restaurant in Bentota. It is in the garden of a local house with no facilities.

We were very glad you enjoyed our breakfasts included in the room rate but we wish you had sampled more of the menu and you may have have found the price to be fair for portion size and quality.

You are very welcome back though for just bed and breakfast anytime.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    32
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
109
297
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This will be a short review as previous reviewers have said everything there is to say. The Shangri Lanka villa is a little bit of paradise. You do as little or as much as you want to do. We stayed for 12 nights and only ate out once as we content to stay at eat the wonderful food at the villa. The staff are wonderful and very attentive and Karen and Rohan were lovely hosts.

I hadn't been too well before I went and am facing surgery on my return so this was the perfect place to relax and build up my strength. Other guests who went on tours arranged by Rohan had a fantastic time with plenty of stories about their trips. We did go on the river cruise and that was well worth the trip.

I can't recommend this place highly enough and would love to return and take advantage of some the trips.

Thank you to all for making our stay such a delight.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timaru
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved our holiday at Shangri-Lanka. We had 5 days there and then 6 days on tour (which Karen and Rohan organised), before returning for another 5 days. Everything far exceeded our expectations. The rooms are luxurious, spacious and beautifully presented. We loved being able to have a cup of tea at any time - tea is delicious in Sri Lanka, probably because it is so fresh! We also loved the fact that we could join the crew in the kitchen to watch them whip up yet another tasty curry. The food was outstanding, freshest fish, biggest prawns, fabulous fruit - and plenty of it. Rohan (the cook) took us to the local Monday market - lots of fun and photos. The beach is a 10 minute stroll along a lovely country lane with water buffalo grazing in the wetlands on either side, but the pool is so gorgeous you won't want to go anywhere. A place you can be as friendly or as reserved as you like - intimate but private - you can eat on your balcony or join the other guests al fresco. We made lovely new friends and enjoyed the conviviality shared each evening. We especially want to recommend two things we did - a trip to the garden at "Brief" ( English artist Bevis Bawa lived here most of his life) in a tuk-tuk ,was well worth it - a tranquil and interesting place with some erotic sculptures that raise a smile, plus, you get served tea and biccies! The other visit was far more sobering but almost something everyone who visits Sri Lanks should do - go to the "Tsunami Photo Museum" - on the road south to Galle - just before the huge white shrine the Japanese have constructed at a site where a train derailed, drowning all aboard. The "museum" is little more than a simple shack set up by a lovely young woman and a Dutch tourist who survived this catastrophic event. Photos have been gathered from all around the world and the stories that accompany them are heart-wrenching - I cried my way around the exhibition. The purpose of the museum is to educate young people who did not live through the experience and to bring to everyone's attention the ongoing impacts on those living in devastated areas. One of those visits that makes you appreciate your little corner of the world and how fortunate those of us who can afford to be tourists are.
Sri Lanka is a beautiful country with wonderful, hospitable and charming people - there is so much to do and see- wild animals, flowers, fruits and trees, ancient temples and palaces, tea plantations, spices and gorgeous colours absolutely everywhere. Karen and Rohan organised the perfect tour for us and at half the price of commercial tour groups - highly recommended.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely - if you want a more expansive view of the paddy fields and neighbouring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimaruKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The short review: BOOK WITHOUT THINKING.

The long review:
This beautiful gem of a resort will knock you sideways with its lush, green fields and fantastically modern and ginormous rooms. Everything in this artful villa is curated and thoughtful from the wonderful modern Sri Lankan paintings and linens to installing a notebook computer in every room. Very few places have made me feel this much zen. I would return here in a heartbeat - my only regret is that we only spent one night here.

The villa is just as much about a spectacular setting as it is about its people.
The masseuse is excellent - can't remember her name but my muscles thanked her!
Raymond is ever helpful.
The chef is uber-talented and caters to every whim.
And finally, the hosts Rohan and Karen are lovely. Rohan is a wonderful guy, so friendly, genuine and humble, he has built this villa with so much heart - my family and I enjoyed hours of conversation with him on the porch.

Room Tip: The new wing is massive - two rooms in an annex with own balcony and porch. Great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyallovertheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The reviews say it all it would be good to keep this secret as I can see Karen and Rohan will never have enough room for a return trip from us we loved it so much. Karen was amazing at returning emails promptly and arranging our tour to fit in with when there was a room free at the Villa.
Our driver Atma met us at the airport and we went straight on tour for 5 days. Karen arranged for us to stay on the beach in Negumba for the first afternoon and night. After a long flight with very little sleep this was an excellent idea. Hotel review to follow Goldie Sands was excellent. We were fresh for our 4day tour the following day. We visited some wonderful sights and stayed in two good hotels on route.Atma was the best Driver we could have, a perfect gent who coped with my constant questions from the front seat and took us to some wonderful places.
Shangri lanka, was perfect our room was on the first floor the bathroom as big as my bedroom at home. The staff particularly Raymond and chef Rohan were so attentive always greeting you with a smile. Rooms were kept beautifully clean the breakfast was just perfect the fruit platter every morning I am missing so much as everything is so fresh. We didn't bother to eat anywhere else in the evening as Rohan cooked everything fresh and the menu extensive enough for you to have something different every day. When the Fisherman brought in fresh fish most days we were shown the jumbo prawns or the crab which I had on my last night just amazing beautifully cooked and great value for money. The local Arrack at the end of each evening just rounded off a perfect night.
It was wonderful to eat with people from other rooms comparing tours and ideas Karen and Rohan have large tables and encourage you to sit together we had a brilliant time thank you Glenys,Julia, Brian ,Carol,Jude,Ken not forgetting Rosie and her lovely family you made our holiday too.
We found the walk to the beach 10 minutes and into town about an 3/4 hour excellent, you do get hassled to go to the restaurants etc on the way but if you are firm they will leave you alone. The beach was always empty just be careful of swimming in the sea on the nearest stretch of beach as the rip tides can be dangerous. If you don't want to walk Rohan can get the local tuk- tuk in run by his cousin to take you to town, the market on a Monday is worth a visit as is the trip down the river Bentota.
We arranged to go Whale watching while we were there sadly we ended up on the boat for 51/2hours with sea swells of 2-3 metres my husband was very sea-sick and we didn't see any whales. We know Karen went a few days later and saw loads so it is down to luck.

Karen and Rohan are brilliant hosts Bobby and Maisie the dogs are no problem even if you aren't a dog lover. This truly is an amazing place to stay thank you so much.

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms all of excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Thank you to Karen and Rohan who helped to make our holiday so perfect. The Villa is beautiful and its location very good, with only a 10 minute walk to the beach. The staff are all friendly and always smiling. Rohan kindly booked our four day trip to visit some of the interesting places in Sri Lanka, which were out of this world. Although we were booked into a couple of lovely hotels on route, we couldn't wait to return to the villa to experience the wonderful food. Definitely a winner!

Room Tip: The top floor overlooking the swimming pool provides a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenys H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodaikanal, India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our plan to go with this choice of stay was truly a great one. The hosts emailed us promptly and reassured us. We were picked up from the airport and driven by Rohan, to their lovely property. The ride was long but the view of the pool that greeted us on arrival was awesome and made up for the fatigue we felt. The pool was put to good use by us.
The property is super well maintained, the staff efficient and friendly, the room spacious and tastefully done up and the food to die for. We did try other dining options in the vicinity but be warned! there is no delicious food like the food you are served in Shangri Lanka!
Don't go looking for dining options. This place rocks!
The food, the local arrack and even the tea served here is par excellence! We must also take this opportunity to thank both Rohan and Karen for the time they spent with us! This was one quick weekend getaway that really energized us! Kudos!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingsnwheels86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
817 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Property: Shangri-Lanka Villa
Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing