We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything and more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-Lanka Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 63 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Everything and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The reviews say it all it would be good to keep this secret as I can see Karen and Rohan will never have enough room for a return trip from us we loved it so much. Karen was amazing at returning emails promptly and arranging our tour to fit in with when there was a room free at the Villa.
Our driver Atma met us at the airport and we went straight on tour for 5 days. Karen arranged for us to stay on the beach in Negumba for the first afternoon and night. After a long flight with very little sleep this was an excellent idea. Hotel review to follow Goldie Sands was excellent. We were fresh for our 4day tour the following day. We visited some wonderful sights and stayed in two good hotels on route.Atma was the best Driver we could have, a perfect gent who coped with my constant questions from the front seat and took us to some wonderful places.
Shangri lanka, was perfect our room was on the first floor the bathroom as big as my bedroom at home. The staff particularly Raymond and chef Rohan were so attentive always greeting you with a smile. Rooms were kept beautifully clean the breakfast was just perfect the fruit platter every morning I am missing so much as everything is so fresh. We didn't bother to eat anywhere else in the evening as Rohan cooked everything fresh and the menu extensive enough for you to have something different every day. When the Fisherman brought in fresh fish most days we were shown the jumbo prawns or the crab which I had on my last night just amazing beautifully cooked and great value for money. The local Arrack at the end of each evening just rounded off a perfect night.
It was wonderful to eat with people from other rooms comparing tours and ideas Karen and Rohan have large tables and encourage you to sit together we had a brilliant time thank you Glenys,Julia, Brian ,Carol,Jude,Ken not forgetting Rosie and her lovely family you made our holiday too.
We found the walk to the beach 10 minutes and into town about an 3/4 hour excellent, you do get hassled to go to the restaurants etc on the way but if you are firm they will leave you alone. The beach was always empty just be careful of swimming in the sea on the nearest stretch of beach as the rip tides can be dangerous. If you don't want to walk Rohan can get the local tuk- tuk in run by his cousin to take you to town, the market on a Monday is worth a visit as is the trip down the river Bentota.
We arranged to go Whale watching while we were there sadly we ended up on the boat for 51/2hours with sea swells of 2-3 metres my husband was very sea-sick and we didn't see any whales. We know Karen went a few days later and saw loads so it is down to luck.

Karen and Rohan are brilliant hosts Bobby and Maisie the dogs are no problem even if you aren't a dog lover. This truly is an amazing place to stay thank you so much.

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms all of excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    31
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
108
293
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Thank you to Karen and Rohan who helped to make our holiday so perfect. The Villa is beautiful and its location very good, with only a 10 minute walk to the beach. The staff are all friendly and always smiling. Rohan kindly booked our four day trip to visit some of the interesting places in Sri Lanka, which were out of this world. Although we were booked into a couple of lovely hotels on route, we couldn't wait to return to the villa to experience the wonderful food. Definitely a winner!

Room Tip: The top floor overlooking the swimming pool provides a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenys H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodaikanal, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our plan to go with this choice of stay was truly a great one. The hosts emailed us promptly and reassured us. We were picked up from the airport and driven by Rohan, to their lovely property. The ride was long but the view of the pool that greeted us on arrival was awesome and made up for the fatigue we felt. The pool was put to good use by us.
The property is super well maintained, the staff efficient and friendly, the room spacious and tastefully done up and the food to die for. We did try other dining options in the vicinity but be warned! there is no delicious food like the food you are served in Shangri Lanka!
Don't go looking for dining options. This place rocks!
The food, the local arrack and even the tea served here is par excellence! We must also take this opportunity to thank both Rohan and Karen for the time they spent with us! This was one quick weekend getaway that really energized us! Kudos!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingsnwheels86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed with Karen and Rohan after Shangri Lanka was recommended by a colleague. We were treated more like house guests than hotel visitors, the accommodation was clean and comfortable with large bathroom / wet room shower. Food was good, especially the local curries. Lovely pool for when you need to cool off. Location is good, 5 minutes walk to Bentota Beach which is glorious and unspoilt. Karen and Rohan arranged two one day tours and transfers to and from the airport,One tour was pre booked before we arrived and the second was arranged whilst we were there, we changed the plan, no fuss, no bother, just sorted! Drivers and vehicles were excellent, knowledgeable, courteous and safe. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend letting Karen and Rohan organise your Sri Lankan itinerary from start to finish

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_W5555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Well there is nothing negative that I could say.My husband and I booked this accommodation after reading the trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed here over Xmas and new year. We had a tour which was arranged by Karen and Rohan which provided us with a good insight into Sri Lanka beauty. The villa is well maintained, clean and in a beautiful setting. Karen and Rohan and the team made the experience. They go out of their way to fulfil all your needs. Congratulations guys. We would have loved to have stayed longer and will certainly return. The food is of excellent quality and cooked to order.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza57Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Shangri-Lanka was the best place, by far, we stayed during our four week holiday in Sri Lanka. The Villa's are off the main road in a local village and it was a delight to arrive to peace and quiet. We were shown to our triple room, which was actually two rooms, one very spacious and a decent sized second room for our son Reuben. He was so delighted that there was a TV in his room!! The pool was a great place to relax and Reuben played with the other children staying there. Asides from the beautiful and immaculate rooms, I must say the highlight of staying at Shangri-Lanka was the food. The beautiful man in the kitchen is amazing and produces the most divine food we tasted throughout our trip. The chilli squid pasta was outstanding!!!

Our sincere thanks to Karen and Rohan for running such an outstanding establishment, and for being so hospitable and friendly. If you don't stay here, you're missing out on one of the best chilled out boutique hotels in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Best guest house experience ever. The whole team were really lovely and could not do enough for us really! Felt thoroughly spoiled here including our three year old who asked for chocolate cereal and was served cornflakes with a bounty!!!! We ate at a lot of places in Bentota and have to say we had our best meals here. The red snapper was definatley worth a try! Karen really seemed to just want every one to enjoy themselves and made some suggestions regarding local restaurants, turtle sanctuary etc all of which we really enjoyed! Massages were good, we had the too room with our 2 young children which was just huge and I can not even begin to explain how clean this place was! If we were to go back with out a doubt we would stay here!

Room Tip: Third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happydayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#8 of 30 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.1 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Property: Shangri-Lanka Villa
Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing