We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to avoid hygiene, comfort or a peaceful night”
Review of Hotel Susanthas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Susanthas
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We booked a deluxe room and enjoyed a wonderful view of the ocean except when the trains stop (see pictures of the view with and without train). A minor point you may think until the first train pulls in at 04:30 and I defy anybody to sleep through that or in fact any of the trains that pass at regular intervals thereafter. If you stay in one of the basic rooms at the back then maybe you will not be disturbed but at all cost avoid the deluxe rooms or the suite.

The fridge in the room has to be seen to be believed so take a look at the photo and draw your own conclusions. The towels must have been in use for over a decade. Our deluxe room did not have a TV (and there are none in the hotel) or a safe. There is no wifi and the hotel will charge you 3 times the cost of the local internet cafe to sit in a hot dark room at a very old and slow computer. Forget eating at the hotel and just walk to the place opposite for a very nice lunch or dinner. The photo on the website is the suite room.

One of the worst places we have ever stayed

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itsmorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 61 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

but disinterested and rather uninformed staff and a pretty noisy location right next to the railway station. Luckily the trains don't hoot at night! The restaurant served an OK breakfast and they were quite sweet about getting our fried eggs just right. But the lunch and dinner we tried were both close to inedible.
It's difficult to bathe from the beach as the waves are enormous and the current very strong and full of sand. Also, there's no chairs or parasols to be had, so one must just go down there and back. We went to the Bentota Beach Hotel and bought tickets to their (excellent) buffet, which included access to their lovely swimming pool. Susanthas has no pool. With a pool, even if small, this hotel would upgrade itself massively.

Room Tip: Some of the non-aircon rooms are literally facing the railway. I wouldn't want to stay in one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Arrived late into Bentota and booked into horrible guesthouse, the next morning walked the beach and asked several locals and tourists their recommendations for reasonable priced, relaxing and clean place - Susantha was the name that came up the most, thankfully it lived up to it's rap. Staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean, with old world feel, food excellent - didn't go the pizza. The only negative were the sandfly's, so take plenty of repellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This place is so near to the main galle-colombo road & it's really easy to find!
& it's a small hotel with both AC & non AC rooms but it's really nice. It's a quiet place with a garden & the beach is so near to the place.
& the beach is really nice in the early mornings & evenings & the hotel & the beach are very private places where u can enjoy.
have a restaurant with local cuisines done well & the staff are warm & friendly.& the service is excellent.
& they have a spa(we didnt have time to try it though)
the rooms are basic but clean , as well as the rest of the hotel.
the rooms are very cheap as well(non AC around 4500 & AC around 6500)
remember though to carry your own toiletries(soap,toothpaste etc) just in case (for those people booking non AC rooms :) )
& be a bit aware of cockroaches & ants if u keep the doors open!
Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay here & we'll definitely go again to Susantha's one day when we go to bentota.

Room Tip: I think you should try the AC rooms if ur a person seeking top comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed in Bentota in july 2010 and stumbled across Susanthas and ended up going there for lunch and sometimes dinner too.... Staff were lovely - very friendly and helpful - especially the Manager "Prem(a)". We found him to be most helpful about the local area and genuinely interested in other cultures and countries. He even treated us to a bottle of the local brandy and we sat till the wee hours talking about each others cultures and singing songs!! Excellent!! Thank you Prem!!
We were staying at the Taj Exotica and found it to be a bit snooty and extortionate!! Susanthas was a much nicer place to hang out without the pomp of the Exotica. We had some massage done there which was ok for the money we paid. We would definitely go back and recommend it to anyone. Say Hi to Prem for us when you go please!! Nice n quiet and easy access to the beach. Lovely wee chill zone. Food was great compared to the Taj Exotica and it was a great asset to our holiday!!
Would love to go back and meet up with Prem and his team again. Great wee place! Please go and enjoy your stay!! Prem will do everything he can to help you have a lovely stay...

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel, but wished we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Bentota was our last stop on the Sri Lankan Iteniary so we just neeeded a relaxing place to sit back and think about the trip. But Susantha's really made the last day special! Located right behind the railway station and ust a walk away from the bentota beach, the Hotel offfers a range of facilities at attractive prices. The rooms are quite small though but I think there were larger options as well. The place is made up like a resort and really green all over. It has a nice cozy restaurant as well but the mosquitoes are a pain to handle

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himanshumaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed in Deluxe room on the first floor for 9 nights. We were very happy to stay in such a great place as Susanthas. Room that consisted of two separate rooms (sleeping room and guests room) was very big, had plenty places and spaces to store our staff. Room had also an air-conditioner (very useful during hot days) and big refrigerator to store fruits bought from local market. An old-fashioned furniture had a special charm that was one of integral parts of fantastic vacation.
The territory of the hotel is not very big, but very very beautiful with a lot of green trees and palms. We saw a very beautiful nuctiflorous tree just near the restaurant.
The hotel has an easy access to ocean beach (just cross the railway station and walk for another 60-70 meters).
Hotel staff is very friendly and flexible. They made their best to ensure that we had a superb stay.

Susanthas has a very very good big restaurant that serves excellent food (mix of Srilankan and European cuisine with deluxe sea food) . We visited plenty of restaurants on the beach shore (Colombo, Galle), inland (Kandy, Nuwara Eliya) and after our stay in Susanthas we undoubtedly would say that it has the BEST restaurant we tried in Sri Lanka which serves very tasty and very fresh food. The waiters are very friendy and take 100% care of you during your visit to restaurant. We stayed in Susanthas during off-season (Mid Oct), and even when there were not so many hotel guests, it was sometimes difficult to find a seats in its restaurant because people from other hotels after first visit to Susanthas' restaurant returned to it every evening. Prices in restaurant are more than competitive and affordable. Dishes are huge. Lobsters, shark, crabs, prawns (jumbo, small, tiger), everything you could only imagine is served in the restaurant.

Susanthas has a very good guide Bob (Nuan). We had amazing trips with him to Galle, river safari, gem shops, turtle farm and mask museum. Trip prices are very reasonable in comfortable a/c van. Going to trips with Bob is a MUST during your stay in Susanthas)))). Bob is studying Russian and speaks English very well. He turned to be a good friend which we could rely upon. He even tought me to ride a tuk-tuk. It was an amazing experience)))
We made a lot of friend during our stay in Susanthas.

Our overall opinion is that Susanthas hotel is a gem of Bentota.

Thanks once again Susanthas' staff, restaurant waiters and chef-cook and Bob for such a hospitality and care taken of us during our wonderful stay in Bentota. We would undoubtedly recommend this hotel as the best in Bentota.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller_Vet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.0 mi away
Janus Paradise Rest
Janus Paradise Rest
#18 of 25 in Bentota
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amal Beach Hotel
Amal Beach Hotel
#15 of 25 in Bentota
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterside Bentota
The Waterside Bentota
#13 of 25 in Bentota
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rockside Beach Resort
Rockside Beach Resort
#9 of 25 in Bentota
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Susanthas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Susanthas

Address: National Holiday Resort Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $27 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Susanthas is an exotic hotel located at down south of Sri Lanka close to the beach which is 62km away from Colombo and 3.5 hours away from International airport. This hotel is consisted of 8 standard rooms, 5 deluxe rooms and 5 suite rooms with a spacious garden surrounded with palm trees. We, at Hotel Susanthas serve the most delicious dishes of eastern and western foods. Ayurvedic massage service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Susanthas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Susanthas Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing