We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dream location and accomodation”
Review of Nisala Arana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nisala Arana
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Bentota
1 review
“dream location and accomodation”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had fabulous stay at this unique and out of this world spot in Sri Lanka. Warm welcome and amazing food in accommodation of the highest standards. Set in beautiful grounds and amazing architecture, the Periera family have done everything to make this place special. Local trip is a must with their trusted family friend. We ended our honeymoon here and it was the perfect choice. We loved especially the outdoor bathroom! We relive the experiences there and would love to return some day...don't miss it on your trip!!

Room Tip: All rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dm2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    21
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
73
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Arriving at Nisala Arana in Bentota was like entering a tropical paradise. The first thing’s that hits you is the beauty of the tropical gardens. Hidden behind stone-walls it is like stumbling upon the most exotic secret garden.

We were greeted by the charming Harry and Tony charming locals (despite the anglicised names) who were always armed with a ready smile and the attitude that nothing that you required was too much trouble.

The suite that we stayed in was the Coconut wing. The room was styled in grand colonial fashion with a huge four poster draped in white and covered with crisp white linen. The furniture had an effortless charm and was beautiful as well as practical. I even found myself one over by the Nespresso machine having never tried one before.
The bathroom was a revelation. Semi outdoors so that you were showering outside whilst keeping your modesty intact thanks so a high wall for maximum privacy. There is nothing quite like being in the open air whilst doing your morning ablutions.
A mini box of my favourite Lindt chocolates on the pillows was the ultimate icing on the cake.

Having visited the west coast in low season we had the incredible fortune to be the only guests staying which made it feel like we were on our own private island (Richard Branson eat your heart out!). It also meant that we had a couple of days of unpredictable weather. The monsoon rain was hugely dramatic creating massive lake like puddles that would be dry by the following morning. This didn’t in any way hamper our enjoyment of the stay. We swam in the gorgeous fresh water pool whilst the rain fell and then dried off on the pavilion where we read, played music and simply watched the drama of the weather unfold.

Every day we were treated to afternoon tea of cake or biscuits that was a perfect accent to the afternoon. The food was incredible. Breakfast would be a long drawn out affair involving fresh juice, fruit platter, omelet or a full Sri Lankan curry, which was my husbands choice. Lunch would be a sandwich or my favourite crispy prawns when we could manage it after our hearty breakfasts. Dinner was the absolute highlight with the chef never failing to wow us and avoiding a repetitive menu. We had calamari, whole fish, curries and sublime soups that tasted as good as any veloute that I’ve tasted in France. Every evening we had three courses and the desserts were to die for including chocolate delight, pancakes and home made sorbets. We felt like absolute stars being the only guests in the beautiful open sided pavilion with Harry and Charlie looking after our every whim.

I would like to be able to tell you more about Bentota and the surrounding area but to be honest we found Nisala Arana such a haven that it was hard to prise ourselves away to do any sightseeing! And as we were on holiday we didn’t feel any guilt about idling away the hours swimming, sunbathing, eating, drinking and generally indulging ourselves. In our own private paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xanthe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at Nisala for 4 days and loved every bit of it from the room we stayed in to the calm and peaceful setting of their gardens.
It's a really great place to get away from the hussle and bussel of other parts of Sri Lanka.
We had a lot of fun with the team here who were very attentive. We spent a lot of time just reading in the hamok and swimming in the pool and always looked forward to the plentiful lunch and dinner options. There are many things to do in Bentota but we found ourselves spending most of the time in Nisala but they are also very helpful if you want to organise other trips like river cruise and biking. There is also Bentota beach very close by so if you want to have beach as an option they will drop you by Tuk Tuk..
We loved every moment of Nisala Arana

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We initially stayed here for 2 days on route to the south part of SL, however as we loved it so much we returned on our way back up to Columbo for a further two nights.
The staff are incredibly welcoming and always on call to help and show you around Bentota
The rooms are very comfortable, we stayed in both the air conditioned and on our return we took the fan room due to the other rooms fully booked.
If your a nature lover its very enjoyable relaxing in the gardens listening to the birds and taking a dip in the pool..
We spent 1 day at the beach which is a tuk tuk ride away and on the next day we used the bikes to explore Bentota.
All the food at Nisala is amazing, fresh and cooked to perfection. If like us you
enjoy a curry you have come to the right place but there are also alternatives if need be.
Unlike a lot of places we found which we booked in Sri lanka the online photos of Nisala are exactly as the experience we had there... it was a real pleasure to spend time at this retreat. We don't usually go back to places we have visited on holiday but this is a definite must and we would like to try their other resort also.
Great hosts, great food and fantastic colonial houses which made our stay as very special experience

Room Tip: we experience both air con and fan room, depending on which time of year you go both are very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had just done a tour of Sri Lanka starting from Columbus, going to various places such as Anuradhapura, Damulla, Sigiriya, Kandy, Nuward Eliya, Yala National Park, before coming to a four day break at Nisala Arana at Bentota. On arrival we were amazed at the lovely ground, and the absolute tranquillity we got, which we needed after travelling every day. This gave us opportunity to have a total rest and get recharged before returning back home to UK. This little oasis consists of just 4 cottages, so we enjoyed the privacy, and the grounds, which felt like it was all just for us both. The room is an absolute charm, very much a colonial feel, with it's outdoor shower room, which is an absolute wonderful experience. There are couple of bikes available which we use to explore the area outside the boutique hotel. We took a few light excursion which the staff took us to in their very own open top Morris Minor, this really made the trip even more enjoyable! The food provided was very nice and to make it all the more personal, they explained what the evening meal would be, to ensure it was suitable, and to give them an opportunity to change menu in any way. Ben and his staff are very helpful and will do anything to make our stay a wonderful experience.

I certainty recommended Nisala Arana to anyone who is looking for something that is personal, private and peaceful stay, along with a lovely grounds and boutique room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Underthecovers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at Nisala Arana, very friendly staff and owners,
Beautifull location, very serene and relaxed ambience.
food is very ok as well.
(We Dutch would like to have a bit better bike, though.)

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank laurenAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights here at the end of our tour. After reading the reviews it seemed to be a good choice, and we weren't disappointed. Ben and his family made us feel very welcome and the staff worked hard to make sure our stay was perfect. We wanted a little oasis to relax after our travels and this went beyond our expectations. Thank you!
Amanda and Paul V

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulAmandaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueTrails, General Manager at Nisala Arana, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Amanda & Paul,

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer us your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope for the chance to welcome you back again at Nisala Arana soon. We trust you enjoyed Sri Lanka as a holiday destination and urge you to share your Experience with as many friends as possible.

Thanks and Best Wishes,

Benjamin R. Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.7 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisala Arana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisala Arana

Property: Nisala Arana
Address: 326/1 Circular Road | Kommala, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nisala Arana 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisala Arana, a luxury Boutique Hotel amidst lush greenery and spacious tropical gardens, minutes from the beach. The Doctor's House, Coconut & Mango Villas offer six beautifully appointed colonial style bedroom suites. The freshwater pool, yoga inspiring gardens and open pavilion where delicious cuisine is accompanied by fine wines, make this hotel one of the finest discoveries in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nisala Arana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisala Arana Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing