We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nisala Arana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nisala Arana
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Unforgettable..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

What can we say?! Nisala Arana was the perfect end to our 2 week journey in Sri Lanka. We stayed for two nights end march 2013, but could easily have stayed for 2 months!

The place itself is slightly inland a short ( 5-10 min) tuk tuk ride from beautiful beaches and the towns of Aluthgama and Bentota. Situated in large meticulously kept gardens the 4 main structures are far enough apart to allow privacy, yet close enough to give a sense of belonging. We stayed in one of the 2 Mango suites, located on first floor above the garage. It is beautiful and kept in colonial style with great details like the antique doors and we loved the semi outdoor bathroom.

We got the feeling that we were setting the pace, wether we were looking for privacy or wanted more social interaction with the other guests.
The Staff was particularly good at sensing this and being discreet and invisible or engaging and friendly depending on our needs.

We took all our meals at Nisala Arana. The food is really good. Especially the fried rice with chicken curry is highly recommendable.
Afternoon tea in the pavilion, overlooking the garden with all its wildlife is a great way to chill out (in a very civilised manner), after a day spent in the pool or coming back from a trip up river.
Before dinner (or actually at any other time) the house signature cocktail, Arrack Sour is a must try. Made with local ingredients, it is sweet & sour, quite refreshing and very addictive..

We also had the pleasure of meeting the owners. They, and their family, played a large part in making us feel more than welcome and making our stay unique and memorable.

We are really looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolaj-og-Helle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueTrails, Manager at Nisala Arana, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Nikolaj,

Many kind thanks for taking the time to offer such a thoughtful and lovely review of Nisala Arana. Your feedback is a very pleasing sign for us and certainly a positive for anybody considering a stay at Nisala Arana.

Thanks Again & Best Wishes,

Benjamin.R Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    21
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
72
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

After a busy 10 day trip touring Sri Lanka, Nisala Arana provided the most perfect relaxing spot for the last 3 days our holiday. Would thoroughly recommend it and we were fortunate enough to have the place to ourselves. Staying at Nisala Arana, this tranquil oasis is like staying in a private home surrounded by beautiful serene gardens and wonderful wildlife. Everything has been so authentically created to make you feel that it has always been there. The decor is simple yet classy. It's a perfect place to relax and unwind - so quiet and tranquil. The service is personal and impeccable. The staff were delightful and made every effort to make our stay a memorable one - they succeeded!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Mango rooms ( there are 2) which had air con - it was lovely ... and the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Nisala Arana is amazing. We stayed for 3 nights at the end of a 15 day trip around Sri Lanka. The Sri Lankan food is exquisite and prepared with great care. The location totally embraces authentic Sri Lanka. The vast garden setting is so peaceful and calming, yet totally full of life! The proximity to Bawa's house and gardens are a highlight, as is the arack sour cocktail best enjoyed in the early evening. Set slightly inland from the beach is a highlight because you are placed amongst a friendly village community allowing insight into culture and daily life. The quality of deep sleep against the backdrop of nature is lovely and energising. The hosts and staff are genuine, attentive and caring. Staying at Nisala Arana allows you to get closer to west coast Sri Lanka. Romantic. Beautiful. We will return and next time hope to bring friends and family with us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Norfolk Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have stayed at Nisala Arana twice now and it really is an amazing pocket of peace. It’s tucked away in the village out of the hustle and bustle of the Sri Lankan streets and there you can soak up the beautiful wildlife as you sip your 'Arrack Sour' around the pool.

The food was to die for, the service was impeccable and I will be returning next year for my wedding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Arrived in Colombo at 1pm ish and was picked up by a car arranged from Nisala Arana. We arrived after approximately 3 hours at the hotel and even though we were tired we we simply blown away - it is quite beautiful - we spent 8 nights there and never got bored even though we were the only guests most of the time. All the staff are very helpfully and chat to you about what you want to do. The food was just delicious and the chef will prepare for you what you what if requested in advance. We didn't even visit the beach for 3 days as the grounds and pool etc are so stunning and peaceful we didn't want to. When we did the beach was great and Bentota as well.The hotel has a tuc tuc driver and car to take you places - we did several trips that they organized to local sites etc and they were all great - the river trip is beautiful.
The accommodation was also the best - we couldn't really fault it - we took one of the Mango rooms with air con and it was beautiful with an enormous bed.
It is just a great peaceful place and we would definitely return there again. We went on to stay in 5 other places and all round none were better than this.
Go and visit - the experience is just unforgettable.

Room Tip: Air con is great in the hot season so go for Mango. the other rooms are beautiful and we would stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RupM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a lovely quiet property near Bentota. Staff , food , gardens , facilities are all charming.The intermediate priced rooms have outside bathrooms ( attached ) therefore if it is raining you will be rained on. As a wall separates the bathrooms of adjoining rooms , you will be heard y your neighbours and vice versa.

Room Tip: It can be hot...but rooms are nicely decorated. The outside bathroom is pleasant....but beware of no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was the highlight of our 16 day trip around Sri Lanka during early February. The tranquil setting some 3 kms back from the beach takes a lot of beating with 4 acres of immaculate gardens and colonial style accommodation. The staff ( like the Sri Lankan people ) are wonderful and cannot do enough - 8 staff and a maximum of 12 guests is a great ratio.

Breakfast is cooked to order and if you dont want to bother going to town for supper, the food is excellent and varied and the wine is the most reasonably priced of any we had on the island.

We had a lovely large air conditioned room with two huge beds, sat tv and coffee machine - all immaculately clean - with a terrific en suite. Listening to the birds twittering while lying in bed at daybreak was a unique experience.

If you want to feel like royalty for a few days, try this - its very special.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms over the garage are perhaps the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.7 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#7 of 21 in Bentota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.8 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
3.7 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisala Arana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisala Arana

Property: Nisala Arana
Address: 326/1 Circular Road | Kommala, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nisala Arana 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisala Arana, a luxury Boutique Hotel amidst lush greenery and spacious tropical gardens, minutes from the beach. The Doctor's House, Coconut & Mango Villas offer six beautifully appointed colonial style bedroom suites. The freshwater pool, yoga inspiring gardens and open pavilion where delicious cuisine is accompanied by fine wines, make this hotel one of the finest discoveries in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nisala Arana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisala Arana Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing