We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nisala Arana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have stayed at Nisala Arana twice now and it really is an amazing pocket of peace. It’s tucked away in the village out of the hustle and bustle of the Sri Lankan streets and there you can soak up the beautiful wildlife as you sip your 'Arrack Sour' around the pool.

The food was to die for, the service was impeccable and I will be returning next year for my wedding.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 146 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Arrived in Colombo at 1pm ish and was picked up by a car arranged from Nisala Arana. We arrived after approximately 3 hours at the hotel and even though we were tired we we simply blown away - it is quite beautiful - we spent 8 nights there and never got bored even though we were the only guests most of the time. All the staff are very helpfully and chat to you about what you want to do. The food was just delicious and the chef will prepare for you what you what if requested in advance. We didn't even visit the beach for 3 days as the grounds and pool etc are so stunning and peaceful we didn't want to. When we did the beach was great and Bentota as well.The hotel has a tuc tuc driver and car to take you places - we did several trips that they organized to local sites etc and they were all great - the river trip is beautiful.
The accommodation was also the best - we couldn't really fault it - we took one of the Mango rooms with air con and it was beautiful with an enormous bed.
It is just a great peaceful place and we would definitely return there again. We went on to stay in 5 other places and all round none were better than this.
Go and visit - the experience is just unforgettable.

Room Tip: Air con is great in the hot season so go for Mango. the other rooms are beautiful and we would stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RupM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a lovely quiet property near Bentota. Staff , food , gardens , facilities are all charming.The intermediate priced rooms have outside bathrooms ( attached ) therefore if it is raining you will be rained on. As a wall separates the bathrooms of adjoining rooms , you will be heard y your neighbours and vice versa.

Room Tip: It can be hot...but rooms are nicely decorated. The outside bathroom is pleasant....but beware of no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was the highlight of our 16 day trip around Sri Lanka during early February. The tranquil setting some 3 kms back from the beach takes a lot of beating with 4 acres of immaculate gardens and colonial style accommodation. The staff ( like the Sri Lankan people ) are wonderful and cannot do enough - 8 staff and a maximum of 12 guests is a great ratio.

Breakfast is cooked to order and if you dont want to bother going to town for supper, the food is excellent and varied and the wine is the most reasonably priced of any we had on the island.

We had a lovely large air conditioned room with two huge beds, sat tv and coffee machine - all immaculately clean - with a terrific en suite. Listening to the birds twittering while lying in bed at daybreak was a unique experience.

If you want to feel like royalty for a few days, try this - its very special.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms over the garage are perhaps the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our one regret is that we only had one night to enjoy the charm and tranquility of Nisala Arana. From the moment you enter through the high gates, you know you have found a peaceful haven and that the praises sung in reviews are there for good reason.
Our accommodation was immaculately kept and tastefully decorated, the staff were faultlessly polite and helpful in a very warm way, the spacious garden was perfect for a stroll or simply for enjoying the view from our verandah, and the restaurant in the midst of the garden provided the perfect location to enjoy the excellent food served at dinner and breakfast.
If you appreciate a tranquil and beautiful environment, attentive staff and high-quality cuisine, then this property cannot fail to please.
Should we be fortunate enough to return to Sri Lanka, we will make a point of including Nisala Arana in our itinerary and preferably for more than one night ........

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was the perfect end to a long trip. Relaxing surroundings and wonderful,attentive staff. We loved the varied menus and enjoyed walking in the area. The Morris Minor and the boat trip were very special. We would love to return one day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you enjoy peace and quiet, beautiful surroundings and caring hard working people to look after you then Nisala Arana is for you. We spent Christmas there with all our family (l0 in all, 4 of them small children) and it was lovely. A christmas tree had been put up and decorated and we ate delicious food. The chef was able to accomodate us all and sitting in the main dining area by the pool was a treat. The accomodation worked well too. Each unit of the family had the choice of the Doctor's house, another small house nearby and the choice of bedrooms with balcony overlooking the gardens. The nearby beaches at Bentota were lovely and we all enjoyed body surfing in the waves. We used the local tuk tuks there and back. All in all an ideal location.

Pat and Gordon

Room Tip: Outdoor showers are available in some of the accommodation if you so wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueTrails, Manager at Nisala Arana Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Pat and Gordon,

Many Thanks for your kind review. We are glad you had the opportunity to experience Nisala Arana and have aways felt it to be the ideal location for family reunions and get-togethers.

It was great to see you enjoy the place so much and thanks for bringing such a lovely family together to celebrate Christmas with us.

We look forward to Greeting you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Benjamin Pereira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1.7 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#8 of 26 in Bentota
311 reviews
1.8 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
1.7 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisala Arana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisala Arana Boutique Hotel

Address: 326/1 Circular Road | Kommala, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Price Range: $139 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nisala Arana Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisala Arana, a luxury Boutique Hotel amidst lush greenery and spacious tropical gardens, minutes from the beach. The Doctor's House, Coconut & Mango Villas offer six beautifully appointed colonial style bedroom suites. The freshwater pool, yoga inspiring gardens and open pavilion where delicious cuisine is accompanied by fine wines, make this hotel one of the finest discoveries in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your Nisala Arana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisala Arana Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing