We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterside Bentota
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed October 26, 2012

After tearing around Northern India by train, plane, rickshaw and taxi five days here was a perfect rest up for us. Great weather, great location lovely food and the staff Lucky, Nuwan and especially Chammy and Suresh were brilliant. The hotel has six rooms for our stay there was only us it was like having a huge villa to ourselves. Try the Sri Lankan breakfast at least once 'string hoppers' or noodles with a fish curry and dhal just lovely and to let you into a secret toast tastes even better when dipped in the curry sauce. You can have eggs and bacon as well as a host of other things. We loved the boat trip to the beach and loved the walk back about a mile no more. A great place go and enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 137 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

I chose this property over the Taj and that's not something a regular Indian would do in Bentota. And, thank God for that. We just loved our stay here. The hotel is not a budget property, mind you, but it's true value for every $ spent. The approach to the property is through winding narrow roads and you start getting jitters, whether you made the right decision.

Once, you enter the property, it's like finding a nice sweet spot on a picnic trip. It's quiet, it's on the river and it is beautiful. The hotel is very very nice and the white rooms and the white furniture almost makes you feel you are in some nice place. Something like a bungalow right out of the tea gardens in Eastern India.

The staff is very friendly and they went out of their way to take care of our needs. It's a small property so don't expect 24X7 room service with a 20 page menu. They have a set menu from which you can choose your food.

We requested a lot of local food and the chef agreed to treat us to the SL fare, which was very good. Breakfast is a continental affair and you don't mind that after a heavy spicy dinner.

We met the owner, Ms Susan for breakfast and she was a nice person to interact with.

The motor boat the hotel owns acts as a shuttle between the beach and the hotel, which is a big relief. The ride across the mangroves is a short one but you almost feel like you are in Sunderbans as you are navigated across the low hanging branches of the mangroves.

We saw a lot of monitors lazing on the river banks and the kids were pretty excited to see some impromptu wildlife.

I think we spent too little time in the hotel. This is the place you should come and just chill for a week and forget about the world.

I would definitely be coming back next year and this time it would be a longer stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic. but the ones next to the pool on the Ground Floor are interconnected an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Iceman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Waterside bentota has it all - great location, staff, food and facilities. Nothing is too much trouble for Madame Susan and her team.

Waterside is a great base to explore the best that Sri Lanka has to offer - turtles, elephants, beaches, watersports ...all in a fantastic small, homely place. Each room is clean and spacious and they have a balcony overlooking the pool and lake. Meals are prepared to order and served by the best staff we encountered on our trip.

You won't regret picking the waterside

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kraze18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed two nights in "The waterside". We just loved the place. The hotel is gorgeous, the staff is great and the location is amazing.
We found very convenient the boat shutle to the beach and the complimentary boat trip was great.
We had a bad experience though with dinner. The meat we had was impossible to chew! We returned the food and the rest of the dinner was kind of akward... So, my recommendation is to take a tuk-tuk and head somewhere else for dinner.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank crammarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

everything about this small hotel adds to the growing sense of peace and relaxation that we experienced in our three days here. Plenty to do in the area but we just didn't want to....... especially when the owner lent me the sunday papers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

we had the pleasure of staying at this place for 2 nights with our 3 children age 2,3 and 7. The location is quite nice if it is not a must for you to stay right on the beach. beautiful view over the lake and a nice garden. very helpful and kind staff - and free 1-hour boat ride, which is definitely worthwile. would recommmend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zuzan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on a two week trip and found this to be our favourite hotel. The food was some of the best we had in S.L. We took advantage of the boat and saw lots of birds and water monitors.The staff are all really friendly and will always have time for a chat and point out anything of interest.We loved the fly past every evening of the flying foxes and there return in the morning.We will definately stay here again on our next visit to S.L.
.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kazzie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1.4 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.9 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.1 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
922 reviews
0.9 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Bentota

Address: Yathramulla Road | Yathramulla Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#2 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $93 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterside Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside is an elegant well maintained Villa with restaurant,which is situated in a unique riverside location,and has magnificent views over the wide Bentota Ganga. Waterside is popular with guests of all nationalities.We have 6 ensuite (with bathtub and shower) A/C rooms with bar fridge,fan and satellite TV.The large open restaurant serves delicious Sri Lankan and Western dishes as well as mouth watering seafood.During your stay you can relax by our pool which is only a few steps from all the rooms, whilst enjoying the surrounding mature tropical garden and river views.We offer complimentary boat transfer to nearby beach, water sports or town.If you require Ayuvedic massage we can recommend several treatment centres.Excursions and tours to all the magnificent sites in this beautiful island can be arranged.If you wish to explore the local area we provide bicycles or we can organise local scenic tuk tuk rides . Fishing trips ,bird watching and river trips are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Waterside Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Bentota Hotel Bentota
The Waterside Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing