We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Service and Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Top Notch Service and Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I don't think it does to brag about where you have been but it does set some context for your comments when you say things like 'the best hotel I've ever been to'. I have stayed in numerous Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, top boutique hotels and Anantara hotels among others. I know top service when I get it, I know disingenuine service and of course unfortunately like most of us, I also know rubbish. For sheer natural charm and keeness to please guests this place is first rate. The Manager, Chamal, sets the tone, efficient, friendly and relaxed. His staff are happy and they will want the same for you. The setting is serene the Chef Atullah is good, a lovely guy keen to give you a bespoke service. The rooms are clean and basic but spacious and good value. I would not hesitate to go here. If your used to te best but your on a budget you will get the service you are used to, a setting you love and all at a fraction of the cost. I stayed here at the end of February beginning of March and will doubtless return on my next trip to Sri Lanka. Afterwards I went to Saman Villas (see seperate review) the two are in hot competition for the number one spot and the competition is good for the customers as Bentototahotels are very Trip Adviser conscious.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankieSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    47
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
153
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Lady luck smiled when my friend and I stumbled upon this resort in Bentota. We walked the beach and popped into the 5* hotels, but as soon as we walked into Dalmanuta they were quickly forgotten.

Chamal (the manager) and his staff find no request too high, and the residence itself is top notch. A boat to the beach, breakfast on the lake, and so many other pleasures to be enjoyed.

So charming, so hard to leave.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

This Hotel is located on the bank of a river,beautifull gardens with a spice garden,also has on sight Ayuvedic massage center with proffesional help and doctor.Chamal is the manager very helpfull with all your needs from wellcoming you and serving you all day long.Athula is the chef
ready to cook you any recepies you like.uppul who serves with all your needs food to transport of any kind.All the staff are very helpfull,Very good loacation to relex and enjoy your with birds singing in the morning and evening breakfast,lunch and dinner on the river bank.This
hotel has only nine Bunglows and that is the only accomodation means there are only twenty
holiday makers on sight at any one time.Best place for few days stop over or even two weeks
relaxing holiday.We went for two weeks,went on day trips enjoyed it very much best place for
copels.

Room Tip: no need there are only nine bunglows on site and they are all exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arv26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I just returned after an extremely relaxing 2 night stay at the Dalmanuta Gardens. Chamal and his team were exceptionally hospitable and went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable.
Pros:
1. Extremely hospitable staff (we arrived straight from the airport at 10am extremely tired. Check in was at 2 pm. Chamal was kind enough to give us a room at no extra charge).
2. An extremely peaceful well maintained resort, which makes you feel close to nature, especially for city people like us!
3. Athulya, the chef cooks up wonderful local food at the beautiful River Restaurant
4. The Bentota river was fascinating, with the exotic birds and monitor lizards.

Cons:
1. The distance from the beach. Here again Chamal helped us rent a bike. However, a visit to Dalmanuta will not seem like a beach holiday. In all fairness tough, the resort never advertises itself as a beach holiday.

While the resort is extremely well maintained and safe, being so close to nature can be a little overwhelming at times. Don't be surprised to see a gecko staring down at you while you are eating, or a monitor lizard crossing your path.

Overall I would highly recommend the Dalmanuta Gardens. Its an absolutely wonderful resort to visit for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonal5785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

From the cold towels and fruit juice on arrival, to the above and beyond efforts to accommodate our late departure, there wasn't anything which the staff would not do for us. No hard sell, no hassle, great value, excellent food, pleasant surroundings; Dalmanuta Gardens had everything needed for a relaxing stay. No surprise that so many guests rate it 5 star. Thanks to Chamal and all the staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Lovely Designed Rooms, Food Was Great, Good Facilities, Loved The Jacuzzi! Staff Were All Friendly, Helpful, Honest, Multitasking And Hard Working Proffessionals. It Was The Most Relaxing 4 Days Of My Trip.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22njian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Me and my wife spent 5 nights there. Great place, mr Chamal really helpful (I've lost my iPhone on the way to Dalmanuta - few phone calls and i got it back )...

Mr chef makes the best food

the place is simply relaxing and really recommend it :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bartpogoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
2.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
4.2 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
2.0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant

Property: Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Address: No 21 Meegama Rd | Warapitiya, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#7 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalmanuta is situated in a large lovely park along the Bentota River. Dalmanuta offers full Ayurvedic Treatment or just a relaxing holiday. The Hotel has two pools, one diving deep and one Jacuzzi pool. The restaurant is open also for guests not living at the hotel. Minimum stay 2 nights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant Hotel Bentota
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing