We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY NICE HOTEL”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

When stayed at the Wunderbar last week. It was our first time in Sri Lanka and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel room was very clean and spacious. There was a kettle in the room but don't use their water as it is double the price. The staff are very friendly and helpful especially our tuk tuk driver his name is Cece mama he was so helpful and nothing was no trouble for him , he even advised us where to eat and go.Thankyou Cece mama you made our stay zn enjoyable one.The food was ok there, but there isn't a lot of variety only eggs bacon and tinned sausage for breakfast everyday.
Overall the Wunderbar is good value and I would come again

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    107
    45
    27
    22
See reviews for
94
178
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Family friendly, especially for those with kids. A little overpriced and not 4 star as its sign states.
Helpful staff, however the tuk tuk staff not so helpful, but in general a positive experience.

The rooms are large. The bottled water in the rooms was not free, which seemed unusual. Furniture was a little old. There was no cover on the bathroom door, so other people in the room could see inside.

Breakfast was excellent. Dinner was not so good and service was extremely slow.

Lovely location- next to train line and beach, (Beach is a little dirty with litter).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingbedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I absolutely loved it here! The pool was just amazing and refreshing, the food was so fresh and nice especially the fruit and the seafood,the suite we stayed at was spacious, comfortable and didn't have a horrible stench that some hotels do. It is in an amazing area with a beach and lots of peace and quiet. The only bad thing about the location is it's very far from the main airport about a 3 hour drive! There is a beautiful little sanctuary for the turtles they rescued from previous tsunamis and large waves which is really cool because you can hold the baby ones and stroke the larger sea turtles. Be sure to check the monsoon season because we went during monsoon season and we couldn't swim in the sea and there were non stop thunder storms!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danka15243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I come to this hotel with my sister and her husband! I like this hotel! Wery comfortable rooms, frendly staff! The restaurant food is very tasty, everything fresh. Wonderful turtle farm. Hotel's Boss friendly and always interested how his guests living. Most time of my holiday I spend in beach. Beach was wery clean all time. Here working very friendly man Sumudu. He working hard from morning till night, but all time he smiling to people. I think he too smart for this work. I will definitely come back many more times in this hotel. I want to come back again and again to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliya0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Wunderbar Hotel really does get mixed reviews from us. My friend and I (both female) have just returned back from one week staying at Wunderbar and we've come away with a few positive and negative points.

The location is decent enough - close to the beach if you don't mind walking over train tracks, and although we were told the last train was around 9pm, they definitely went on into the night and started again very early morning (around 6am). Very close to town, but there are no small shops or stalls nearby if you want to walk around and buy some water or snacks, so be warned. We bought bottles of water a couple of times in the hotel, but after we discovered they were charging around 1USD per small bottle, we quickly changed and stocked up whenever we left the hotel.

The turtle sanctuary isn't really a sanctuary, but the concept is a good one - there are a few disabled turtles looking very miserable in small tanks, and a lot of small babies as well, but at least they aren't charging tourists to look at them. There is also a very small fish tank with 4 huge fish in the hotel reception, which is very sad to look at, and the hotel advertises and sells shark meat. As an avid conservationist this was upsetting, but seems to be the norm everywhere in Sri Lanka as most hotels and restaurant serve shark.

The only shop in the hotel is a jewelry and gem store, which is extremely expensive and opens at the strangest hours, but there isn't much pressure to buy which is good.

We made the massive mistake of booking an organized trip with one of the tuk-tuk drivers. We gave our request and when we turned up in the morning the driver had taken it upon himself to draw up a completely different itinerary at twice the price. We vetoed this, much to his disappointment, and set off. The waterfall and temple he took us to were disappointing and very crowded, and when we asked him to take us to an area with shops he dogged our every footstep despite repeated requests for him to leave us alone. Every time we went into a shop he brought the tuk-tuk round and then stood outside shouting and waving to us - we got quite p*ssed off in the end and walked away from him. When we paid him at the end of the day without a tip he went very cold and dismissive and practically ignored us every time we saw him after that. We rented a scooter ourselves the next day which was less than a third of the price and much more fun.

Food at Wunderbar - this was really hit and miss! The first night was great because we arrived late and they couldn't do enough to please us. Nothing was too much trouble and the selection of inclusive dishes in the half board option was huge. Breakfast was amazing with sausages (not real ones, more like hot dog sausages), proper bacon, eggs any way, a fruit plate, fresh juice, tea and coffee, but on the last morning they ran out of bacon which was upsetting. Make sure you are very very specific on how you want your eggs etc as they will do it a different way every day. That saw us through until dinner, which was generally pretty terrible. The waiter kept coming up to us on the beach and trying to make us order dinner at 3pm so they could 'prepare it ready for when we arrived' but never asked what time we were coming to dinner, and we always had to wait more than hour. DO NOT ORDER THE STEAK. Possibly the worst thing that has ever gone in my mouth and I had to send the whole thing back. No apologies or offers for an alternative either. The soups were quite good but incredibly salty, and the tomato and cheese pasta were thick overcooked noodles with melted burger cheese and tomato ketchup...not impressed. The best thing we had was the Sri Lankan Curry on the last night but it takes a long time to prepare and didn't taste as authentic as other Sri Lankan food we had during the trip.

Drinks were ridiculously expensive, and when one member of staff offered us some local Arak, drinking with us, we accepted thinking it was on the house but found it on our bill at check out. Insist on seeing and signing the bill every day as we had a few surprises on check out.

The rooms are nice enough but very basic, and not at all what they look like on the photos. We had no hot water for the last few days and after finally getting reception to understand they sent one guy from housekeeping who ran the tap for 10mins before leaving and saying it was fine.

In conclusion - it's quite an expensive hotel for what you get, and there are much nicer places in the area. Be very wary of organized trips, and don't expect a lot to do in the area. If you want to relax on the beach for a couple of days it's perfect, but there are no bars/clubs/shops in the area at all. My friend and I were hit on by members of staff pretty much every day, which was a bit excessive, and there were a lot of mosquitos as well, so bring your repellent and keep all doors shut in the room. We wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Don't choose the ground floor - people always walking back and forth across your balcony and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A very friendly, clean and welcoming place. A hotel with a guesthouse atmosphere. Good restaurant. Lovely breakfast!
The only real regret we had is that they host a very dubious turtle 'protection' facility. They keep seaturtles in small tanks - more for the entertainment of tourists than the wellfare of the turtles, I fear.

Room Tip: It is our impression that there is very little difference between the standard and luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Location is pathetic. Hotel was a mess, lots of construction work. rooms were not really clean. not at all worth the money. They say beach view rooms and you cant see any beach from the room as restaurant is there right in front. Also this is not safe. May be ok with backpackers but not at all for family or couples. Also looking at the tariff this is not at all worth even for backpackers. I would recommend that one should avoid this place. Only positive about this place is their Breakfast, which is refreshing.

Room Tip: View from all the rooms are Bad. If you are forced to select something on gun point then you can ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajay1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.8 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.6 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
816 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel

Property: Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Address: Robolgoda, Bentota 168/10, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#8 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wunderbar Beach Club serves you with 24 rooms and 1 bungalow. Our rooms are furnished in accordance to the European standards with a Sri Lankan touch of elegance. All rooms are fitted with king sized beds, en suite bathrooms, air conditioner and ceiling fans. The hotel has a swimming pool and direct access to the sea. We take great pleasure when requested in organising birthday parties, moonlight parties and weddings. There are also have regular special BBQ beach parties with live music where everybody is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wunderbar Beach Hotel
Wunderbar Beach Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing