We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced...”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were really happy to go to Bentota and read good things about Wunderbar: what a deception...
Bentota didn't offer us the stunning beaches we were hoping for and it was completely empty! And Wunderbar was having some building activities on site, which they didn't informed us about beforehand. This is one of those hotels where you come to relax, drilling noise in the background doesn't help.
When the building is finished, it will probably be a perfect place; the rooms are spacious and clean, the swimming pool is pretty good. However, when you travel in low season: skip Bentota!

Room Tip: Try to stay as far away as possible from the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marciasiebers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    107
    45
    27
    22
See reviews for
95
180
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was our first stop on our four-week tour of Sri Lanka. We stayed at 11 different locations during our roundtrip, so this review is written with the comparison to the other places we stayed at on the island.
I really cannot fault this place. The location is brilliant, the food was excellent and the staff was welcoming and professional.
We had booked a de-luxe room for apx 8000 rupies pr night incl breakfast.
The room was very spacious with a big veranda and limited sea views. Big bathroom with plenty of hot water and good water pressure.
The room had high ceilings and the décor was to my tasting. AC, fan, TV and minibar.
The breakfast was brilliant with eggs, bacon, sausages, jam, bread, fruits, fruitjuice and tea/coffee served at the table. The best thing: It was no time limit. You got your breakfast whenever you chose to. The lunch/dinner dishes we tried were also delicious, and far better than many of the other meals we had during our trip.
We were there in the first part of October, and the sea was a bit rough. The beach was nice and quiet, and sunbeds are provided. There are also a fair sized pool on the premises.
The train mentioned in some other reviews did not bother us at all.
There were some construction work going on when we were there, but it will probably be finished by now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sihanoukville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Wunderbar for 8 nights in October 2013. Coming from Qatar we were excited to breathe fresh air and see lots of greenery but yet we wanted the sea and beach, we were not disappointed.
When we arrived in Sri Lanka we were greeted at the airport with our personal driver in a very comfortable car as the drive to Bentota is around 2 hours (with no traffic). The drive was pleasant and before no time we were there, when we pulled up to the hotel at 6.30am we were greeted like old friends, Chan (the owner) and his team had already started their working day we could smell breakfast being served.
We were shown to our room and felt at home immediately, nice big bathroom, comfortable bed and plenty of space , the balcony was great with a great view, I felt like I was in a treehouse!!!
After a quick nap we went to the restaurant for breakfast, I was blown away, the view in the restaurant was breathtaking!! palm trees, sand and sea!!! what more could you want!! Then the food came, a plate of the freshest fruit I had ever tasted, a pot a tea and coffee with a fruit juice that you could tell had just been squeezed, then eggs done to your liking, bacon, sausage, toast, butter and jam. It was safe to say we were set for the day!!
We had decided before we got to Sri Lanka that we wanted to go to the elephant sanctuary and go deep sea fishing one day apart from that we just wanted to chill, we asked to speak to someone who could take us on the trips, this is were we met Daggy, he was extremely helpful telling how early we would have to get up, how long the trips would take and what we would be able to see, he had a whole book of trips and we were very tempted to do them all but giving the amount of time we were staying we decided against it and stuck to the elephants and the fishing. both trips were perfect. accompanied by daggy who catered for everything. we never had to pay for anything until the day we were leaving Sri Lanka. we were well and truly spoilt.
all in all, Wunderbar was exactly what you need when on a relaxing holiday. great hotel, great service, great location. perfection.
if your looking to chill out and not spend a lot of money, I insist on Wunderbar. you will not be disappointed.

happy days.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very bad food for a unbelievable high price. The same food BUT MUCH BETTER you can eat same food really more then 10 times cheaper every where in the same area. For example Wunderbar chop suey 2400 rupee. Even in Machan very good 230 rupee small. The problem is the very bad taste. Must be very old ingredients. Be care before you died. And the manager or owner?? Your are warning. Again your are warning. Passing with high speed this horror place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Expecting a wonderful holiday, and a pleasant stay we booked in at Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel. The Reviews and pictures convinced us it would be lovely by the beach. But when we arrived we found the arrival and welcome rather disheartening. It was not the three star hotel that it was cut out to be. Finding the place, and then going through a winding path, with speed-bumps, passing mini houses did not speak of any star, more like a guest house. As a guest house it will be definitely a class, but not as a rated hotel. Only the pool on site right at the entrance makes ones mind calm, assuring of not having booked on misconception. The Manager who is also the owner of the hotel is a most disagreeable gent, whose primary aim is money and not the comfort of the guests. Once the booking is accepted, it's a done deal.
1. The toilets were musty and had the stench of the drain below.
2. The room was spacious had the bare minimum and old furniture. The AC stopped working latter part of the night, and after complaining to the Staff they switched on the electricity by mid morning. Until then the room didn't have electricity as well. Apparently the power had gone off due to a fuse. The staff didn't even know of it until complained.
3. The balcony was a treat as it was spacious, alas as promised no view of the sea, but the pool below.
4. The owner has his family living right under the rooms, and the TV would be on all the time and the the Manager could be heard yelling at the family or staff.
5. The staff is helpful and friendly and very pleasant. They try their utmost to please.
6. The welcome drink was long past the time of welcome. And afterword they take a long while to clear the glasses, resulting in a lizard settling in, which was most unpleasant to the eye.When complained to the Manager, was the excuse that in Sri Lanka it is a common site.Not so for the kids, and besides in a star rated hotel haven't they heard of pest control? I shudder to think of the kitchen, where food is prepared.
7. The breakfast was pleasant though not much variety.
8. The path to the beach was a treat, but the noise of the trains kept disturbing the peace.
9. Some of the Tuk Tuk guys were a rip off, and when questioned as to the rates were rude and unpleasant.
10. Though water sports are advertised, it is in another area, and the folks managing it, give the manager a commission for sending guests to them. It is NOT available at the Hotel.
Not worth the price and certainly a far cry from a three star. I would rate it a one star or a lovely guest house but certainly not a hotel. Do not be fooled by the propaganda photos! There's not much activity and certainly not much to do. I would not go there again.

Room Tip: If you must go choose the top floor of the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 731Safio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have spend four night at Wunderbar and had a wonderful time! The familyroom was spacious and clean! The bathroom could use maybe a little more cleansing but it was huge. The pool was clean and nice because it was hot. The restaurant was wonderful! It's at the first floor with a wonderful view, nice wind which makes it comfortable because the flies and musquitos stay away. The staff was friendly and serviceminded. The owner helped us out by tracking our lost luggage at the airport. We felt very welcome and our kids still talk about the icecream which they loved!! Also the turtleproject is great. The children were impressed by the turtles and had the greatest time releasing them at night at the beach. The beach itself is beautiful and quiet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I am generally very cautious to write bad reviews but this time I feel I have to. Wunderbar looks nice from the outside but is not, or at least too expensive for what is eventually inside: 1. The room was expensive but big and very nice. So far, so good. But there were cockroaches living under the roof in our room. Which is not only a non-standard place for them to live but means their poo is all over the place. They cleaned the room when we asked for it but the cocks were still there. 2. The dinner was the most expensive dinner on our trip but tasted delicious and the service was great. So far, so good. The day after we spent in the bathroom - for the first and only time on our trip. Not good. 3. The owner generally didn’t seem to have much of an interest in us being happy there. On the day we left some staff came and took a spare bed and just threw our luggage, which was lying on it, somewhere else. They knew we were just about to leave, so why not wait for 20 more min?! 4. The beach is great. Hardly anyone there and Wunderbar offers sun beds for free. We were told Wunderbar is the only beach front guest house in Bentota. Well that’s a striking argument. But overall, next time we would just go somewhere else. From all what we saw, Bentota is not worth a visit anyway compared to much better places like Gyambokka or UnaWatuna.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rucksack2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.8 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 24 in Bentota
825 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
2.2 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel

Property: Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Address: Robolgoda, Bentota 168/10, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#8 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wunderbar Beach Club serves you with 24 rooms and 1 bungalow. Our rooms are furnished in accordance to the European standards with a Sri Lankan touch of elegance. All rooms are fitted with king sized beds, en suite bathrooms, air conditioner and ceiling fans. The hotel has a swimming pool and direct access to the sea. We take great pleasure when requested in organising birthday parties, moonlight parties and weddings. There are also have regular special BBQ beach parties with live music where everybody is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wunderbar Beach Hotel
Wunderbar Beach Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing