We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant get-away!”
Review of Mangrove Escapes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mangrove Escapes
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Brilliant get-away!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here! I liked that it was away from all the city hustle and bustle. The service here along with the three swimming pools was nothing short of spectacular!! I found the environment to be very relaxing and enjoyable. I am already looking for an excuse to go back there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
17
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed at Mangrove escapes for three nights. It has three swimming pools even though the property is located just fifteen minutes from the Bentota beach. The hotel staff was incredibly very efficient and helpful! The hotel and it's surroundings were calm and peaceful and the hotel had a very nice Ayurveda block as well. I'd go back any day. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have been there with my Husband for 2 Weeks. The stay was great. We were fully satisfied with the staff and all the facilities. The building was part of the nature. We liked to sit and watch all the wild life. There have been heaps of Monkeys and birds.
The ayurveda Doktor was awesome. He treaded us in a realy Individual Way. He was very interested in our Health. The whole staff (Chefs included) was very nice.
All in all it was a Great experiance and we are looking forward to come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhea B, Director of Sales at Mangrove Escapes, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Gabriele,

Thank you for your review of Mangrove Escapes on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to serve you at the property. We will convey your compliments to the Ayurveda Team at Mangrove Escapes. We look forward to your next visit to Mangrove Escapes, Bentota, Sri Lanka.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I loved this place! After one week on the crowded coast, it was like coming home into this peaceful oasis. It's a place for those who want to step out of the daily hectic and noises to see, breath and listen to pure nature, but do not want to miss style, design and space! 3 pools, all with breathtaking views, pampering and always smiling staff, delicious Sri Lankan food. I stayed there for 14 days, enjoyed professional and personal Ayurveda treatments and felt like new born when I came home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The drive to Mangrove escape is a bit worrying as you go down the small lanes into no where !! Better way is to take the boat from Aida Bentota to the resort.
This getaway is true to its name - Mangrove Escape !!
The accommodation is very well planned and each room is different. There are 9 rooms and 3 more being opened. The 3 pools have the river water and vegetables are grown on the property. You can go for walks on the nature trails, kayaking down the river, ayurveda treatment and massage with special ayurveda food !! They have yoga classes in the morning ..It is a complete mind and body relaxation. No TV nor wifi !! Recommend it for minimum 5 nights stay !!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjudesai3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We went on a family holiday there - including a toddler and teens - and we all loved it. So different from being on the beach (which was very easy to get to); so utterly lush; such beautifully kept grounds; amazing local cuisine and such dedidcated staff. We loved the swimming pools, enjoyed ayurvedic massages and took trip by tuk tuk to the beach and to see the turtle hatcheries and boat trips to see the mangrove swamps properly. It is a small and bautiful place but with something for everyone. We can't waitto go back.

Room Tip: We had a fabulous room with a double bed plus a separate room leading off ti for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Set amongst lush, verdant greenery, Mangrove Escapes allows you to cut off from the hurly-burly outside world & rediscover your soul.

Discreet & efficient staff, generously appointed rooms & delicious Sri Lankan cuisine ~ what more could one ask for?

Room Tip: Each room is private & very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Parveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
840 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Escapes

Property: Mangrove Escapes
Address: Yakhahagodawatta - Horrawala, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mangrove Escapes 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangrove Escapes is for the discerning traveller. Horrawala, where we are located, is part of a reserved bio-sphere (Mangroves) on the Bentota River. An oasis bustling with life, a region that takes you back a few generations, a pace that makes life more meaningful and action that promises to take your breath away. Be prepared to convert to a Twitcher, a Crocodile Dundee, a Lepidopterist, a Tropical Forest Conservator, an Angler, an Astronomer or a Srilankan Masterchef! Mangrove promises to change you, a little bit atleast, forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mangrove Escapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing