We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My personal hideaway!”
Review of Mangrove Escapes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mangrove Escapes
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Bentota
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My personal hideaway!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I loved this place! After one week on the crowded coast, it was like coming home into this peaceful oasis. It's a place for those who want to step out of the daily hectic and noises to see, breath and listen to pure nature, but do not want to miss style, design and space! 3 pools, all with breathtaking views, pampering and always smiling staff, delicious Sri Lankan food. I stayed there for 14 days, enjoyed professional and personal Ayurveda treatments and felt like new born when I came home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
17
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The drive to Mangrove escape is a bit worrying as you go down the small lanes into no where !! Better way is to take the boat from Aida Bentota to the resort.
This getaway is true to its name - Mangrove Escape !!
The accommodation is very well planned and each room is different. There are 9 rooms and 3 more being opened. The 3 pools have the river water and vegetables are grown on the property. You can go for walks on the nature trails, kayaking down the river, ayurveda treatment and massage with special ayurveda food !! They have yoga classes in the morning ..It is a complete mind and body relaxation. No TV nor wifi !! Recommend it for minimum 5 nights stay !!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjudesai3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We went on a family holiday there - including a toddler and teens - and we all loved it. So different from being on the beach (which was very easy to get to); so utterly lush; such beautifully kept grounds; amazing local cuisine and such dedidcated staff. We loved the swimming pools, enjoyed ayurvedic massages and took trip by tuk tuk to the beach and to see the turtle hatcheries and boat trips to see the mangrove swamps properly. It is a small and bautiful place but with something for everyone. We can't waitto go back.

Room Tip: We had a fabulous room with a double bed plus a separate room leading off ti for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Set amongst lush, verdant greenery, Mangrove Escapes allows you to cut off from the hurly-burly outside world & rediscover your soul.

Discreet & efficient staff, generously appointed rooms & delicious Sri Lankan cuisine ~ what more could one ask for?

Room Tip: Each room is private & very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Parveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights, would ha loved to stay longer. Mangrove Escapes is more like a Villa. Situated at the Bentota River it is overlooking undisturbed greenery up to the horizon. With clear visibility I was able to see Adams Peak at a distance. Reaching the place from Airport Colombo in a bit more than two hours it was a real escape to tranquility and relaxation. Rooms are big with very nice decoration, A/C or fan , very nice mattresses are available. Three pools, a Yoga hall, an Ayurveda Centre, a Restaurant, a very nice done garden made it a real relaxing stay. I liked the hanging beds spread over the Place. Especially the one near the Rooftop - infinity Pool was my favourite. Staff was overwhelming friendly and helpful, Food was excellent.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a short break but felt we had been away for a long time. The place is small enough to feel like you are staying in someone's home but everyone is respectful of your privacy so able to fully relax and enjoy the experience - the perfect combination. The staff were genuine and happy to help - and the chocolate pudding was too good. When we first arrived the quiet was unnerving (we have a 3year old so quiet is something we've forgotten)but by day two we were converted and the only interruptions were bird song, a gentle tinkle of the bell of a small cow who wandered around the grounds and the laughter of our daughter. With 3 pools almost all to herself, she was spoilt for choice, but the firm favourite was the roof top infinity pool. Sri Lanka has amazing beaches but it is definitely worth turning inland to experience the calm oasis of Mangrove Escapes.

Room Tip: all amazing - some with rocks protruding into the room - all ensuite, with a balcony and with beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

On an impulse I traveled to Mangrove Escapes for a much needed break ! When I reached the property I was blown away by the sheer magnificence of the rooms nestled in the backdrop of the forest! They were lovely rooms and the one I stayed in still had part of a rock formation that was part of the terrain.
The hospitality and love shown to me by the wonderful staff made me feel really welcome and at home. Adding to this were the amazing 4 course gourmet meals that were being served to me while I sat and looked out at the glorious view along with the infinity pools.
The only downer about being in this environment are the mosquitoes and insects but the establishment were very supportive with the repellents and all.
A highlight for me was the fairly short drive to the Bentota beach where I would go and watch the sunsets over a cuppa.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mamta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 24 in Bentota
826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Escapes

Property: Mangrove Escapes
Address: Yakhahagodawatta - Horrawala, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mangrove Escapes 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangrove Escapes is for the discerning traveller. Horrawala, where we are located, is part of a reserved bio-sphere (Mangroves) on the Bentota River. An oasis bustling with life, a region that takes you back a few generations, a pace that makes life more meaningful and action that promises to take your breath away. Be prepared to convert to a Twitcher, a Crocodile Dundee, a Lepidopterist, a Tropical Forest Conservator, an Angler, an Astronomer or a Srilankan Masterchef! Mangrove promises to change you, a little bit atleast, forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mangrove Escapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing