We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and romantic”
Review of Club Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Villa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful and romantic”
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed there one weekend and found the place very calm and romantic. Stayed in the villa, 1st floor. Very nice room with a big balcony with a view over the garden, train track and the ocean. Service was very friendly and professional. Only one thing was a bit annoying - the waiter was only addressing my husband - asked him if the food was nice, what Sir would like to have to drink etc, but ignored me totally. It was only this person, but it was a bit of a downturn for me. The rest of the staff was very nice and friendly. Food was good but not excellent. I liked the place very much, sent even my parents there later on to relax one weekend out of colombo. Unfortunately they ate some salad that made them sick, but otherwise they were happy with the place and the service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaarsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    62
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
75
157
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Amazing villa designed by Bawa. Nice settings and gardens. Disapointing rooms. Would deserve refurbishment of rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACandEdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We stayed in Club Villa following the recommendation of a former expat in Sri Lanka, who told us this hotel was his favorite in the whole country. Now the hotel was gorgeous, even the smaller rooms (never did get to see the larger rooms), the garden was perfect and the small pool very refreshing The problem is I don't think this room was worth more than 100 dollars, maybe 150 in high season, but we paid 202 dollars. I expect real luxury for this money, not a charming boutique hotel, a small room (nicely decorated though) with a simple bathroom and a noisy airconditioner (big minus for me in this hot climate). The food was definitely not up to standard either, except for the good breakfast. The coffee was instant or badly made Sri Lankan style filter coffee, the western food was invariable flavorless and there was no Sri Lankan food available for lunch, only for dinner and then only upon prior reservation. We had hoped for excellent food and drink spending this much money on our last day in the country but were sorely disappointed. Luckily, the garden was so enchantingly beautiful with all the birds and squirrels and that quirky trainline right through it, we did not let these issues spoil our stay. The staff was polite and relatively well trained. We really appreciated the manager's gesture of a 6pm checkout free of charge.
Club Villa is beautiful, charming and boutique sure, but also overpriced and overrated foodwise...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

19 years ago my husband and I stayed at the Club Villa and returning in April, with four children, it was lovelier than ever. It has a beautifully relaxed atmosphere and is run by charming staff who are quietly attentive, friendly and extremely helpful (total contrast to the Heritance Ahungalla where the service was useless despite armies of staff). We had two adjoining rooms upstairs that were beautifully decorated and frequently tidied (think 3 teenage boys!). Bathrooms simple but with great showers.
The garden is beautiful and the train that runs through it is completely bizarre but no problem at all. There is a small swimming pool with lovely shaded sunbeds and tables and chairs under trees where you can have lunch and afternoon tea. The chef would have a chat in the afternoon about the dinner menu (4 courses) and we had the best food we had had in Sri Lanka - eg. spaghetti with soft shell crabs, sri lankan curries and fantastic soups. Lovely breakfasts including home made banana bread and croissants.
The hotel is decorated very stylishly and feels more like a villa than a hotel.
You can walk along the beach to other restaurants but it was so much nicer at the Club Villa that we ate there for lunch as well. The beach is very beautiful but the sea was unpredictable (April - November is not good) although you could swim around the corner on the beach by the Taj Exotica (full of Russians, looks horrid).
I worried that the children would find it too quiet, but they loved it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We came to Club Villa in 2004 and this was our second visit - it didn't disappoint. We stayed in a standard room, and I would agree with other reviewers, that there is quite a difference between that and the de luxe. But the room was comfortable, it led out into the garden and we had our own patio. It has a/c and a fan, the shower was a bit on the small side, but on the plus side there was always loads of hot water!

I loved the tea and home made cakes that were served every day at 4 and if you got back a bit late from a day out, the staff were more than happy to serve you separately. The staff are just wonderful - so friendly and so helpful. Some of them have been there 10+ years and they always seemed so cheerful.

The food's good - great breakfast and dinner is served outside, under the stars. So romantic! Good beach restaurants either side of the hotel to have lunch at, plus the wackiness of having a train line running through the gardens!

We'd defintely go back again and again and again ....!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

There are absolutely no words to describe our stay at Club Villa. I originally arrived with a booking at a neighbouring resort, but was completely apalled at the quality of the room and service. I wandered down the road looking for an alternative, and was pleasantly surprised to find Club Villa. Even though it was Christmas and peak season, the manager Mike (an absolute gem!) was able to accommodate us.
The property is absolutely breathtaking, and designed by Geoffrey Bawa. Every room has a distinct feature and is completely unique. The service is patchy in the restaurant, but excellent throughout the rest of the hotel. The food, however, is excellent (take the half-board option, you will not be disappointed). Every meal was outstanding, with extremely generous portions. They also provide a free King coconut mid-morning and a great afternoon tea.
The pool is a bit tiny, more for a quick dip rather than an active swim. The beach nearby, however, is absolutely perfect. In our four days there, we saw an average of 3 people a day, and not a single tout or vendor. I took awalk down to the neighboring resorts, and was extremely glad with our decision.
The proprietor, Danni, is extremely friendly and is on hand to ensure everything runs smoothly. In short, this was the perfect holiday. If you're looking for a quiet getaway away from TV's and cellphones, look no further. We have already made our bookings for the next visit.
(Note: was reading some of the grouses below, and would have to disagree. Yes, there are very few power points in the rooms, but this is a Geoffrey Bawa-designed house!! The staff also ensured that we had a flask of drinking water available in the room, this was refilled on request.)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

There's a big difference between the standard rooms and the deluxe which isn't clear from the website (or when inquiring by email). The standard rooms are very basic but the deluxe are actually nice; regretted not opting for the deluxe.

Similarly, best to pay attention when booking as to no board, half board, full board. There's fair number of alternative eateries (standalone as well as in other resorts) close by, so no need to feel to bound.... Breakfast is bit perfunctory (no choice really), but not excessively basic.... Was asked on arrival what dietary restrictions there were, but that information didn't seem to play into anything, as restaurant stuck to the printed menu absolutely. Food quality is better than would expect given the slightly odd menu selection.... But staff are relentless at pushing lobster, jumbo prawns etc than incur extra cost.

Key advice is to remember the nearby beach! It's practically deserted despite miles of soft sand...

Per other reviewers, would say the hotel is pretty laid back and that has its pluses and minuses. A plus is we weren't charged for staying good many hours after check out (because of late flight out). Pool, however, could be cleaned bit more often (admittedly we were the only guests first night we stayed).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YonHither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.7 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.8 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Villa

Property: Club Villa
Address: 138/15 Galle Rd, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#8 Family Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Villa Hotel Bentota
Club Villa Bentota
Club Bentota
Bentota Club Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing