We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Sri Lankan hospitality!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Villa
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True Sri Lankan hospitality!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

A carefully preserved ,old building.... Beautifully upgraded but with every bit of that old colonial charm.sprawling gardens, inviting hammocks, beautiful clean pool, but above all, service with a smile and a truly genuine smile at that!! Headed by the multi tasking Heshan, this place is a well organised operation, where everyone Is treated with the utmost care and concern.even the gardener spared a moment under our window early morning to stop and say 'good morning' to our twins.our room was a lovely long space with an 'attic' like feel to it... Sorrounded by old windows and a lovely modern painting of Noah's ark.The food here was lovely.... I highly recommend their home baked goodies like their banana bread and sugar Danish...awesome!!! They were even kind enough to give us some to take home. The 'train' that is mentioned in so many reviews hardly bothered us at all, maybe our from was far enough to allow that.the beach is just over the railway track, games in the lobby, croquet set out in the garden just for the 4 of us.... What a perfectly lovely family holiday we enjoyed! The only downside for me personally was the absence of a tv in the room, as I do consider it a source of relaxation!!! Would've made a world of difference.thanks Heshan for a lovely weekend and do keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room no 7 which was lovely but I think the rooms with the large balcony areas must be v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    61
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
75
155
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was the last hotel we stayed in before leaving Sri Lanka and it was so so so so the right choice . Stayed in a beautiful room overlooking the pool . Hardly any people in the hotel while we were there . It felt magical . Great afternoon tea . Amasing food . Amasing beach . Lovely staff .
We would go out for excursions and then such a pleasure to come back . Stayed 3 or 4 nights and would have gladly stayed a few more . We loved the train that runs through the garden . Some poeple might hate it...... Can not say enough good things about the place . Memorable . I was traveling with my 82 year old mother .

Room Tip: loved the rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathryna17_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely welcome, gorgeous place, friendly staff who can't do enough for you. Owners great too- who often sat chatted and had a drink with you.Also I asked how something was cooked and I it was arranged for me ,the owner to be taken to the kitchen showed how to cook a few dishes under the head chef!!!
Then on our 25th wedding anniversary they made the table beautiful and v special.on leaving they gave me a cook book.
It was very special even the steam train going through the bottom of the gardens was so sweet. Room very Bawwa only the poor shower let it down but other than that can not fault this place.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the balcony or if a honey Monet get the Club room- beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Valued customer
We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa. Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I don't know how to rate this hotel but trying to do as much as possible way . our 3 night stay here was like in a movie 1st when we arrived we felt wow with the pleasingly done house that has being having a glorious past the welcome was grate and then when we went to the room we felt rubbish for what we paid but still ok with the landscaping and the nice looking small room...and the pool evening served tea king coconuts make you feel so refreshing and the food is so deliciouses i must give my 5 stars to the chef , the best in bentota , then the restaurant staff will make you feel bad and lost since the don't understand anything and will bring the rite opposite what you requests but still they will smile at you . this villa needs it rooms to be upgrade managers to present other than to be hiding , since there skills of communicating is so poor . we dint make any complains at our stay since we were two couples and dint want this swinging experience to ruin our holiday . times it is 1staR Then it gose 2stars then come up to 4 then sometimes it gos flat without stars but dining under the stars make it 5stars (with chef) by the way beach and the rail track running in front of the villa garden is simply amazing.. so with all this mix bag i have to call it Grate , wow, rubbish , excellent , trash , bad and lost since we never knew what was next ... may be my bad luck

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jefferson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We've been fortunate enough to stay in some wonderful places in Sri Lanka, but none compare to Club Villa. The place is beautiful, our room was amazing on the first night and we upgraded to the club suite on the second as a birthday treat, which is just incredible. The staff are so friendly and went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The food is sensational, the pool at night is just gorgeous and the romantic setting outside under the stars for dinner with the occasional firefly dancing past made for the most special evenings we spent on our holiday. I couldnt recommend Club Villa enough.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaUKLdn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Tom and Emma

We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa on your birthday vacation.
Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The property is beautifully designed with great attention to detail in the public spaces plus comfortable rooms with AC, fans and nets to keep the mosquitoes at bay.
All the rooms look out on to the garden area which has a reasonable sized pool and access to the beach (yes, across the famous train line which seems to be a hot topic on Trip Advisor. It can be noisy but you hardly notice it after a couple of days). The beach is tranquil, swimming in the morning seems the best option as the waves seem to get stronger during the day progresses.
Our room was comfortable. There were a couple of little things missing: you had to ask for a hairdryer and a fridge; and safes should be provided in the rooms (the hotel feels very secure and we left our patio door unlocked whilst we were at the pool, but security can't always be guaranteed).
We stayed in room 5, rooms 4-6 face out on to the garden and are in a lovely location with a roofed terrace, useful for the 6pm downpours. You do lack a certain amount of privacy though especially as the staff are often crossing from the bar to the restaurant. We took a look at the deluxe rooms and suite which were very well-appointed. The rooms above us on the first floor were spacious but did not have any outside space and the rooms in the original house (in the same building as reception and the bar) seemed ideal as they were 1st floor so you got privacy plus there was an outside balcony.
We stayed half board. Breakfast was good (especially the Sri Lankan breakfast, you need to ask for it the night before). Afternoon tea was always welcome with a good selection of teas and a tasty cake or two. The set dinners were well-prepared and very tasty with a choice of main course - usually Rice & Curry, a fish dish or meat - and the drinks list was well-priced.
The staff are lovely, really happy to do anything to make your stay more comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LouiseF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Luise and Philip

We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa.
Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent three nights at this lovely hotel. We were in a deluxe room overlooking the grounds and pool with a small view of the ocean. Although there is a train which passes several times a day and usually sounds it horn, it did not detract from our enjoying our stay. We enjoyed half board and were delighted with the quality and choices the menu offered. The staff was responsive to our requests and made us feel welcomed. The beach is lovely with fine white sand. Early a.m. walks are great, but midday sun makes it uncomfortable.

Room Tip: If possible, choose the deluxe rooms and the half board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busygardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESHANACHINDA, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Valued customer
We are so glad that you have had a wonderful stay at Club Villa.
Thank you very much for the lovely review and hope this comment will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world.
We wish you would come back again and look forward to welcoming you.
Best Regards.
Heshan Ranaweera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.7 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.8 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
3.2 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Villa

Property: Club Villa
Address: 138/15 Galle Rd, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#8 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Villa Hotel Bentota
Club Villa Bentota
Club Bentota
Bentota Club Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing