We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Villa Restaurant”
Review of Club Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Villa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Club Villa Restaurant”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Club Villa is a wonderful place, my friends and I have been there for lunch many times, the food is really good and the Caeser Sald is to die for!!! The service is excellent and the ambience is very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    62
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
75
157
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was there in June 2010, but still can not forget about it. I stayed with my girlfriend and two friends. It was really enjoyable stay. All inlusive for 25 Euros per person and night. Inluded food five times a day and alcoholic drinks all day long. Four days of relax before bacpacking around Sri Lanka. Staff, food & drinks and location were perfect!!! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VitekPazout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have stayed at Club Villa twice. The first time was in 2010 and then again in 2011. We had a terrific time in both cases - the facilities, staff, service and atmosphere were all outstanding.

One of the subtly excellent things about Club Villa is how it is a quiet unassuming location that has the feeling of exclusivity (admittedly you have to pay for it). This can be contrasted with other (albeit cheaper) options in the area. Many other venues feel as if they are swamped with tourist groups and this is a bit stifling and sort of gross. These locations also tend to stuff 'vacation options' down the throat of the vacationer which is similarly gross. The beaches near these hotels are awash with fairly shady characters. This is NOT the case with Club Villa.

Club Villa has a limited number of rooms so it does not feel claustrophobic, but the rooms are also very tasteful and beautifully set up. When you come into the room there are jasmine flowers carefully arranged on the bed. These are the sorts of details that have been taken care of by the owners. The building overlooks a large meandering lawn with hammocks and a modest swimming pool (I mean 'modest' in the sense that it is not over the top - as with other hotels). At night, dinner is sometimes eaten by candlelight on the lawn. The ambiance is fantastic. There are activity options available, but they are not presented in the flashy way that is customary at other lesser facilities. Everything here is done tastefully and subtly.

The service is also outstanding. The owner often chats and mixes with the guests in a very unobtrusive and pleasant way. The rest of the staff are similarly fantastic - very friendly and subtly unobtrusive.

The food at Club Villa is also excellent. Very carefully and thoughtfully prepared. They are also very attentive to the dietary needs of their guests.

Club Villa is an intrinsically relaxing place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James9220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After two nights of average hotels in Colombo and Kandy, we really wanted our Bentota hotel to be nice, after all we had heard nice reviews of the place and trust me 'Club Bentota' did not let us down at all...
Club Bentota is a fantastic place, aptly away from the city hustle, the 2 minute boat ride from the road to the resort just sets the tone for what is about to come; rooms are nice; staff is excellent; access to the beach is great, swimming pool is nice, the bar staff is great and the buffet is elaborate with choices to suit all palates....(just a bit spicy though)..they have good facilities, like TT, Beach volleyball, Pool / snooker, Spa etc making you not wanting to leave the resort and just relaxing there..the kitchen staff is very nice, more than helpful and the entire team is good....they are not greedy and are always welcoming to their customers...

Room Tip: Try getting a room on the first floor, I had aground floor room but would have preferred one on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharmavikas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
212 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

It really is a bit like staying in a private 'villa'. There's only 7 rooms total, but the grounds and layout make you feel like you're almost alone in a quiet and very relaxing environment. We stayed 4 nights in a 'club suite' which I HIGHLY RECOMMEND booking over one of the 'standard' rooms which weren't nearly as nice for the price diff. The suite was superb in terms of furnishings, space, bed, bathroom - all were wonderful. Pool is excellent and the beach is less than 200 meters away and not crowded, kept up well, nice for walk, swimming (although sea is strong) etc.. We did a 1/2 board so had break and dinner included which is fine if you're there 3 or 4 nights but might get 'old' if you're there longer. The food is good, but not outstanding. Like many places in Sri Lanka they try and do 'western' cuisine but will do Sri Lankan if you ask - I recommend going w Sri Lankan as it's done much better and more interesting. Overall service is very good and the chef will make pretty much what you want. I researched other places in the area extensively prior to this trip and am VERY happy we ended up choosing Club Villa. The train is a 'non-issue' - passes thru several x/day but not at night.

Room Tip: Go for the 'club suite' for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you want to feel like Royalty, then stay at Club Villa in Bentota. The staff are so good at making you feel 'at home' you will not want to leave. The food menu is excellent, but if you wish to go the extra mile - like lobster thermador - just say the word and your wish will come true. It will be freshly caught that day (as long as it is in season of course) and cooked to perfection. We visited Club Villa last week-end with another couple and had such a great time, that we stayed an extra day - like I said, you won't want to leave.

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are my favorite - good for people watching too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Buff60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

From the get go to the very end of my trip the staff at Club Vill has been fantastic. They accommodated all my requests and went out of the way to arrange a location dinner for me. The room I got was lovely, it was facing the ocean and had a lot of space. The hotel has a lovelt swimming pooo and a spacious garden stretch and the sunsets from the beach side are amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel to any family or couple who are looking at having a beach escape centered between Galle and Colombo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UdiWickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.7 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.8 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Villa

Property: Club Villa
Address: 138/15 Galle Rd, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#8 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Villa Hotel Bentota
Club Villa Bentota
Club Bentota
Bentota Club Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing