We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mihin villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mihin Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mihin Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Vientiane, Laos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mihin villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved our stay at MIhin Villa. It is run by a family who are so friendly and welcoming and willing to cater to any of your needs. On arrival we were given free welcome food including tea, juice, bananas, biscuits and they also shared their dinner with us as we mentioned we hadn't had dinner yet. We were given towels in the rooms and spare towels for the beach, along with an umbrella. We got free breakfast of our choice, which kept on coming until we couldn't eat anymore! The staff told us all about the area and what was around. They gave us a lift to the turtle sanctuary down the road and came to the road with us making sure we got the bus to our next destination, including explaining exactly where we wanted to go. There is free wifi that is fast! They booked our hotel for our next destination as well and made sure we got a good price. It is less than 5 mins walk to the beach and 10 to all the restaurants but you can also eat there. They were so kind and generous, we felt like part of the family. We would definitely recommend staying here and if we are ever in the area again will be sure to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Sam K

We thank you for your recent stay at Mihin Villa and your kind feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do visit us when you are back in Sri Lanka next time. Have a safe journey. Warm Regards, Mahinda Siriwardana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    40
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
21
45
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a wonderful place. I booked this last minute, as a place to stay to see the turtles in Kosgoda (only a 10 minute bus ride), and on my way to Negombo.

I wish I would have found this place sooner!! The family is incredible, with such attentive service and a warm welcome. I got a cool drink at check-in and they serve excellent home-cooked food as well.

The owner even called to verify trains were running on the Poya holiday for me. The property is beautiful too, with a nice backyard and a place to sit to avoid the hottest part of the day.

If you have the time, stay a while. There is not a ton to do around here, but I was told the beach is very near, and making a trip to the turtle conservation project is worth it as well. And the value, you can't beat it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahEKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear SarahEKM,

We thank you for your kind feedback and it was a pleasure to serve you during your stay at Mihin Villa. Hope to see you again when you will return to our lovely country.
Kind Regards,
Mahinda Siriwardana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

there are the perfect hosts, very caring, good-natured. good price. nice rooms with mosquito nets, comfortable beds and mirrors. there is hot water. breakfast prepared with love and very tasty. hosts offer guided tours and advise where to go. they even helped catch a huge spider in the room, because I love them very afraid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank leny4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Leny4a

We thank you for your recent stay our guest house and your kind feedback, which helps our prospective guests to make their decisions. It was our pleasure to serve you.

We hope to see you next time when you travel to our lovely country.

Warm Regards,
Mahinda Siriwardana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

After a stressful start to travelling this family made us feel incredibly welcome, comfortable and safe. They gave us an excellent taste to Sri Lankan home life, provided us with beach towels and parasol and even drove us to he near by town. The breakfast portion was enough to fill you for most of the day and dinner was great value, always different and so tasty!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullaney93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Mullaney93

Thank you for your kind feedback. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay in lovely Bentota area. We hope to see you next time when you visit our lovely country.

Warm Regards,
Mahinda Siriwardana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

During my two night stay here with my girlfriend we enjoyed the best place we've stayed at in Sri Lanka.
Breakfast was included in an already low price and the family was nothing but flexible when it came to what to serve. I was served different traditional Sri Lankan foods while my girlfriend got things more suited to her taste. Dinner was cheap, traditional and tasty. I recommend anyone who stays at Mihin Villa to try their rice and curry! Meals had an overwhelming quantity and walking away without a full belly was near impossible.
Other than great food Mihin Villa offers exemplary service. They were more than happy to drive us to turtle sanctuary and city both, and we're always ready to hook us up with various trips that the area offered. It's also recommended to heed their advice on what to pay for tuk tuks etc, they know what they're talking about.

The only negative thing I can say is that the shower was kinda weak. That's it.
If you're gonna stay in Bentota, stay at Mihin Villa. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeLaMoncha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear DeLaMoncha,

Thank you for your kind feedback and choosing us as your accommodation provider in lovely Bentota area. It was our pleasure to serve you as best as we could.
We highly appreciate your suggestion for improvement.
We wish you will return to our lovely country in near future and stay at Mihin Villa.

Kind Regards

Mahinda Siriwardana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We (my gf and I) stayed at the Mihin Villa for 3 nights and it was great.
The family are very friendly and helpful, the son taught us a few things about the sril lankan food such as jack fruit or the various dishes his mother prepared for us for either breakfast or dinner!(which was really tasty and diner is way cheaper than the restaurants around)
We could hardly finish the breakfasts we were given there was so much! never a bad thing.

The garden was nice and big with lots of wildlife. Off the top of my head we saw 3/4 different bird types, chipmunks, butterfly's, geckos, some orange and green lizard and some kind of weasel thing! Not to mention the pet tortoise! Beach was a 2 minute walk away and they provided us with a beach parasol and a body board too :)

Nothing was too much for them ( for example the father lent us 300rs in change to get a tuktuk because we only had massive 2000rs notes) and on check out day they offered to drive us to mirissa for a lower than normal price (in their AC car). We choose to get a bus and the father came out and helped flag down an AC bus and told the driver where we needed to go. Awesome!

Only negatives I can think of would be its not near the main town but a tuktuk was like 200rs there and back and a fridge in the rooms would be a great addition because it was hard to keep our water cool.

Great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear JohnLenham,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We have greatly enjoyed your stay at Mihin Villa. We appreciate your suggestion and consider it as room for improvement as we are moving forward. We wish you will make another travel plan to our lovely country and stay at Mihin Villa.

Warm Regards

Mahinda Siriwardana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of April. Mahinda and his family are extremely helpful and welcoming and his wife is an excellent cook, we ate here both nights and the food was delicious and very reasonable. They helped us with train times and travel and even took us to the station at 6.30am to catch the train to Colombo. An excellent end to our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MihinVilla, Owner at Mihin Villa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear GemBath,

Thank you for your kind review and thank you for choosing Mihin Villa to spend your lovely time in Bentota. We hope to see you next time when you are in Sri Lanka.

Kind Regards

Mahinda Siriwardana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.7 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#7 of 21 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.9 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Rockery Villa
Rockery Villa
#9 of 76 in Bentota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mihin Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mihin Villa

Property: Mihin Villa
Address: No 204 Galle Road | Robolgoda, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mihin Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mihin Villa Bentota - Bed & Breakfast accommodation is conveniently located in only few steps away from Bentota Beach.We have 6 well maintained guest rooms designed for maximum comfort of our valued guests. Our guests have the comfort of using wireless Internet from guest rooms and it is free.We invite you to visit us and enjoy your holiday in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mihin Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing