We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveler rating
582
397
153
85
91
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
582
397
153
85
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka the ground floor beach side deluxe room front office facing the sea bentota beach welcome drink nice beach indian ocean private beach dinner buffet seafood restaurant staff water sports tuk tuk pools
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2019

Ekho Surf in Bentota is a really wonderful hotel. We stayed there for 3 nights with our 3 children. We were lucky enough to get the suite with a private Jacuzzi on the terrace, and a lovely view to the Indian Ocean. We asked for an extra bed to the youngest one, and the staff took care of it immediately. The staff in Ekho Surf were very professional, helpful and serviceminded, from the time of check-in and throughout our entire stay. Whatever we needed was provided. We were impressed that even the employee who delivered a bottle of wine to our room one evening, asked us if the wine was good when we met him the next day. This personal touch really adds an extra level to your hotel experience. You feel like the staff actually cares about you. There was one morning where the two oldest kids were too tired to get up in time for breakfast, and then the staff prepared a nice breakfast for them and delivered it to the room instead. So they enjoyed their breakfast on our terrace overlooking the ocean, while the youngest one played in the Jacuzzi.
The rooms were lovely – very bright, airy and clean. Very comfortable beds and a lovely, huge shower in the bathroom. The interior is modern and luxurious – I absolutely love the water and greenery in the hotel, and the fish swimming in the ponds! Very exotic for a Norwegian!
There is a beautiful stretch of beach right outside the hotel, we went from the beach to the pool all day. The kids loved chasing the waves, and enjoying the pool. Our youngest one actually learned to swim here! And she showed everyone who was around her new skills. Again, the staff were amazing with her, they all applauded her as she proudly showed them what she had learned. The pool area is kept clean and tide the entire time. Every morning I saw staff running around picking up leaves from the palm trees and cleaning. There are two separate pool areas, and a fabulous place with lounges made directly in the sand. Tables are lowered into the beach, so you almost feel like you are part of the beach. On request you can have your dinner in these lounges.
Also, the staff is so attentive! One day we came back too late for lunch, but when the manager of the restaurant saw us on our terrace, he asked why we did not have lunch, and called us to the restaurant after lunch was over, so we could still get a meal. Actually, every meal we had was a pleasure, the staff in the restaurant were attentive and friendly, and did way more than we expected in terms of customer care. They would offer the kids desserts that were not on the menu, and when one of them saw our youngest enjoying the cherry on her ice cream, he brought her a plate of cherries without us asking for it.
We also had the pleasure of trying out the spa in the hotel – what a wonderful experience! We had back massages, manicures and shoulder massages. It was so relaxing and nice, and really helped me when I had a back ache after spending hours in the car.
Another thing is the security guards in the hotel. They are so friendly! One of them found seashells on the beach that he gave to our children, and they loved it! They were friendly and chatty, and really made us feel safe and comfortable.
Bentota has a nice little shopping area within walking distance from the hotel. There are also several places for water sports nearby. And there are a few small shops across the street from the hotel where we bought some nice skirts and shirts.
To sum it up, this is a hotel that I really hope I can return to someday. The beautiful beach in front of the hotel is awesome, and the sunsets and sunrises are simply breathtaking. We were so lucky to be able to enjoy a couple of evenings in our Jacuzzi, watching the stars and listening to the ocean after the kids went to bed. We could easily have stayed longer than the 3 nights we did.
I highly recommend this hotel!

Room tip: Poolside rooms have direct access to the pools. The other rooms have a fabolous view of the Indian ocean.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECOMDM, EKHO Surf Team at EKHO Surf, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2020

Dear Kirsti,

Thank you very much for your rating and the insightful review. We really appreciate you taking the time to highlight all the experiences at the property.

We are glad that we would make you feel at home during your stay at EKHO Surf and we couldn't be more happier to hear that you has a fabulous stay with us.

Should you travels bring you back to Sri Lanka, please do contact our guest relations team on grm.surf@ekhohotels.com and let us know what we can do to make your next stay even better. Our team will be delighted to welcome you back!


Warm Regards,
EKHO Hotels & Resorts Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019 via mobile

We have visited surf several times as always they give you the best service.Starting from the reception,restaurant and room service staff are serving with pure smile.
Dinner and Breakfast having wide range of buffet with lots of choices..
Specially restaurant staff goes out of their way to serve baby needs etc..Thanks to waitress Anoji for her kind service.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank kumaraa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECOMDM, EKHO Surf Team at EKHO Surf, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2020

Dear Kumaraa,

Thank you very much for your rating and review. We appreciate you taking the time to highlight your experience at the property.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!


Warm Regards,
EKHO Hotels & Resorts Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

Because the hotel has so much going for it, it's quite disappointing that some aspects of their service are terrible. Check-in was delayed by an hour. Our triple room had two towels and as these were also small, I called asking for larger/bath towels four times and the fourth time I went in person to the reception, which was when someone finally appeared with the requested towels.
Service in the dining area on the other hand was good. Also, the rooms were reasonably spacious and clean. Food was very good with a decent spread. The location of the hotel is fantastic. There's a lovely long stretch of beach immediately in front.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank ZinamonKveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECOMDM, EKHO Surf Team at EKHO Surf, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2020

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your rating and review. We appreciate you taking the time to highlight your experience at the property.

Our Sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced at the property. Hope you will give us another chance to service you better.


Warm Regards,
EKHO Surf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

We visited this place on a weekend with my family. This is a small hotel but belongs to one of the oldest hotel chains in Sri Lanka. Guess what? they have the best locations as result. The location is the key for this hotel and it will provide you the access to wide beach front.

The hotel has been renovated recently and it has all modern amnesties in the rooms. There are two swim pools ( once is closed) and the one that is operating is wide enough to accommodate all the guests.

Staff was nice and food was good with a decent spread.

If got a ground floor room and literally I could jump to the pool from the room. However, avoid ground floor rooms if you need the privacy.

Room tip: If you need privacy try to avoid ground floor rooms.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mahesh9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECOMDM, EKHO Surf Team at EKHO Surf, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2020

Dear Mahesh,

Thank you very much for your rating and review. We appreciate you taking the time to highlight your experience at the property.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!


Warm Regards,
EKHO Hotels & Resorts Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

Excellent location!
Excellent food
Excellent front office staff esp. devi
Excellent house keeping Staff
Excellent catering staff
Super views
Please take cameras selfie stick swim wear

For some reason our rooms had urine smell which was sorted after complain

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Cemax12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECOMDM, EKHO Surf Team at EKHO Surf, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2020

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your rating and review. We appreciate you taking the time to highlight your experience at the property.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!


Warm Regards,
EKHO Hotels & Resorts Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews