We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just arrived home from a 13 day stay in this hotel (14th August, 2014). We were supposed to be a group of 5 but due to unforeseen circumstances, 3 of our party had to fall out. So it was just me and my 10 year old daughter. I have read the other reviews and can only confirm the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of all staff. I would point out that, IF you should have an issue (one couple commented that their A/C wasn't cooling enough) : DO NOT HESITATE to mention it. They have excellent maintenance people who are on the job straightaway. (Our safe wasn't working. They sorted it immediately) View on the ocean: superb. Pools: absolutely beautiful. The 4ft deep pool was fantastic for my daughter to play in; the deeper pool wonderful for some more adventurous swimming for her! The buffet food is exceptional. The variety of food is impressive with a good choice of more "European" dishes also. We witnessed a situation with a newly arrived couple in their sixties. The lady was eating her evening meal, the gentleman had taken nothing. The head waiter inquired if there was nothing to his taste. The guest explained he wasn't very well (tummy upset). Within minutes, a pot of coriander tea was brought to him. The General Manager came along to assure him that this was what was used in Sri Lanka for tummy upsets, that if he needed anything at all, not to hesitate. Had the guest been at home with his own family, he could not have been more taken care of. (The next evening he was in the dining room enjoying his food) The Spa is wonderful. I've been working as a trained massage therapist for the past 11 years so I tend to be very picky when it comes to receiving a treatment. I had a GREAT back massage with wonderful after care. (Thank you, Net). A kind, non-intrusive eye was kept on us by the ladies in reception. It was a great stay. The sea is beautiful, but obviously not good for swimming at this time of year as it is too rough. The paddling was fun, though, with many squeals of delight as waves are great as long as you are careful. Oh, and the complementary iced tea served on arrival is divine. Trying to find something a little critical to say...well, the A/C is not the quietest. But it did the job beautifully and wasn't otherwise a nuisance.Thank you to all the staff and the General Manager for making our stay so memorable. Dolores and Miranda.

Room Tip: I was glad we had a room on the first floor. Some of the ground floor rooms give out straight on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Dolores & Miranda,

Thank you so much for the great review and taking time to give a detailed experience about your stay at The Surf hotel. It is very encouraging to see that our staff was attentive and took care of both of you while staying with us. Just want to mention that we all enjoyed having you here and everyone wanted to send their regards. Again, we really do appreciate the lovely comments you have published about us and hope you will visit us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    267
    105
    56
    56
See reviews for
292
321
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I Devshan Perera and my wife went to the surf on our honeymoon and I couldn't ask for more. Superb place and great hospitality. Perfect location and also the pools are amazing.. Great food I must add and the rooms are really clean and service is on time. Every staff member is so friendly that even if anyone went alone they wouldn't feel it. I must thank the general manager also for being so friendly and helpful. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devshan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Devshan,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out such a fantastic review! I have shared your feedback with our entire team, and they join me in thanking you and wishing you and your wife a happy wedded life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Was at the hotel a couple of weekends ago with our little daughter. Had a lovely stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A plus point was the great beach right in front of the hotel and of course the lovely views from the room. The food was good. The room was clean. Our little one really enjoyed the time at the beach and the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilusl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Nilu,

It is so great to see that you along with your family had a great experience while staying at The Surf hotel. We like to thank you for posting this lovely comment and wish to see you back here when you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in June. Sorry that this review is a little dated. They were offering a good discount and it was really worth it, The staff was wonderful, especially a very helpful lady at the reception named Geetanjali, The buffet was good too. The hotel is nicely done and we had an amazing view of the ocean. Just watch out for the chlorine in the pool. It was pretty bad. My eyesight was blurred for nearly a day, Also our A/c was not cooling enough and no fan. But we didn't complain. Overall we were really satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor with an ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lashika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Lashika,

Thank you very much for the five star review despite some issues you had to face during your stay. I will speak with our engineering department and monitor the chlorine levels to make sure they are at proper levels. Also, we have done some services to our A/C units which have increased the performance. We would love to see you back with us soon and please give us a call so that we can inform you about the great credit card promotions we have for September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel can at best be described as pleasant with a relaxed feel. One of the problems is that this also extends to the staff with a below average level of service that is slow and at times non-existent. The hotel is located on a
lovely Beach (with surf)
and all of the rooms have sea and beach facing views. The rooms are of a reasonable standard, although certainly do not reflect the price at which the hotel charges. Some of the furnishings are tatty and stained sheets are used in the beds. To conclude the location is great (although beyond the hotel there is little else) but unfortunately this hotel is very expensive for what you get and offers very little value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MateoHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Mateo,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about our property. We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations as far as the service provided and the conditions of the rooms. We would make sure to address these issues and implement certain training programs for the staff. In addition, we have replaced our linens and bathroom supplies to make sure our guests receive good quality product. Again, thank you very much for highlighting these matters, so we can improve ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We checked into the hotel last w/ end. From the moment we entered we were delighted by the welcome of the staff and the welcome drink was something special. The rooms were very neat and tidy. Good food and above all the view from the balcony was superb.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viranjan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Viranjan,

Thank you very much for recommending The Surf hotel on TripAdvisor. It is so wonderful to see that you enjoyed lovely iced tea we are famous for. I will make sure to pass your compliments to the staff and please feel free to get in touch with us for assistance when planning your next trip to Bentota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with our little daughter. Everything about it was great. The food and the location was very good. Undergoing renovations currently. Exceptional service from some of the staff namely pathum from front office and isuru from the restaurant. Even the General Manager came and spoke to us and checked if we needed anything. A few grumpy and unsmiling staff but didn't spoil our stay. Nice stretch of beach. The spa is very good and reasonably priced. The hotel is just off the main Galle Road. A few other star class hotels nearby. The town is about 15 minutes away. A few independent restaurants scattered along the way with one almost outside the gate if you get tired of the hotel grub. Having said that the hotel buffet offered a reasonable variety with dishes both local and international. Not much of indoor entertainment or reading material. The room was clean.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Dunu,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience here at The Surf hotel. We appreciate your kind words regarding our location, cleanliness of rooms, spa, and overall service. However, I'm disappointed to see that you came across some unfriendly staff members. We will do our best to educate all our staff to avoid such behavior in the future. Thank you so much again for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing