We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hospitality with an equally fabulous view”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous hospitality with an equally fabulous view”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

If your looking for a stunning view of the Indian ocean, not hampered by coconut trees, along with fabulous hospitality, Surf is the place to be.
Although its the off peak season, all meals were served on buffet basis, and for the price we paid, you really can't complain.
Rooms were the standard star class hotel rooms, with comfortable bedding, along with an excellent and powerful shower. But the best was the stunning view from the room, where you could enjoy miles and miles of pristine blue waters of the Indian ocean, which is not hampered by tall coconut trees as we are often accustomed to most beach side resorts.
Another stand out was the exceptional hospitality of the front office, in particular a lady by the name Geetanjali, who was very hospitable and went that extra mile to make our stay a very memorable one. She even facilitated a very very late check out for us with no extra cost.
They also served a very refreshing and unique welcome drink, which was more of a mocktail. All in all, a very very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Munzaa,

Thank you so much for taking time to publish such a great review about the Surf Hotel Bentota. As you have mentioned, the location of the hotel and the lush green lawn without any tall trees provides a breathtaking view. If anyone needs to lay down in the shade, near the two swimming pools located in each end of the hotel, we have plenty of coconut trees that provides shade. I will make sure to pass your compliments to our staff especially to the front office who provided you with an excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    263
    96
    54
    52
See reviews for
278
318
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ratnapura, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

i came with my family and we had memorable times in the beach and pool. We enjoyed well and had tasty foods . staff is very helpful and friendly specially staff relation officers ..The surf, I will come back and love you

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nayomi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Nayomi,

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable overall stay while staying at the Surf hotel. It is pleasing to see that you not only enjoyed the facilities provided by us but also received a very good service from the staff. It would be our pleasure to have you back here and please feel free to get in touch with us if you need any assistance with future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The property is beautiful and the staff are friendly. The attention to detail is spot on and the staff, especially he guest relations manager, ms. Geethanjaly went out of their way to make our stay memorable! We loved the place and look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashrita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Ashrita,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about The Surf Hotel on TripAdvisor. I would make sure to pass your compliments to Geethanjaly and let her know that you valued the service provided. Again, we appreciate you recommendation and looking forward to seeing you back at The Surf in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We came in a group of 05 n was greeted by a very friendly manageress who not only gave us a upgrade but allowed us check in @ 10:30 am.The room was nice n roomy but the best thing was the Pool ..it was simple awesome.
#Food :
Dinner -> need more variety n food needs to be bit more spicy-was too sweet :Pls remove the restrictions on dress code... knee high shorts should be allowed
Breakfast-.> good variety ,king-coconut would be a good addition (and hoppers)
Lunch-> good..reminds me of home ... pls add Ice cream

# Staff: friendly but looked bit scared of guests...can improve with bit more experience/exposure

# Mini bar- better have a warning notice on the cooler settings .

So Final word : with little bit of fine-tuning can go for 5 star...coz u got the best beach front ,best pool(s) n excellent rooms.

Do think about the food n call me i will definitely come back !!
Thanks for the great hospitality and i wish you all the best ...go for 5 star its closer than you think ...!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmilaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Amila,

Thank you so much for the great feedback. Providing a great value to all of our guests is our main goal and we thank you for appreciating it. I will make sure to share the suggestions you made with our team and improve those areas to provide an even better experience during your next visit to The Surf hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2014

From 09/06 to 22/06/14 i had spent my vacation in Hotel The Surf. It was a very nice time that i was able to experience with loved ones, an an interesting culture and a beautiful hotel. The friendliness, attentiveness and the helpfulness of the people was overwhelming for me. I often think back to the wonderful time and will come back for sure. All my friends and acquaintances i have told of their hotel and i wish that they, too, book a stay with them.You to all the staff at Hotel The Surf, i wish a good time in good health. Thanks for the great time at and with them !
Kind regards Silke Herzog

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Silke,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience about the Surf hotel on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure for us to know that we were able to provide you with a great service. I hope you were also able to take advantage of the great beach strip we have to offer which is a great feature we have to offer. Again, we are honored to see that you are planning to come back to and thank you for recommending The Surf to all your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My whole family loved this beach side hotel which opens directly to the sea front. the best part is after you play on the beach you can have a good shower and then have a good swim in a lovely pool and then get back to your room.
the moment you step into the balcony of your room you can even sleep with the beautiful sky above and beach in front of you.
once of the best i have experienced so far. my son who is six years old also loved this,
the food was also very authentic and i loved the spread.

Room Tip: everything is perfect!just go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MithraSubbaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Mithra,

We are so happy to see that your stay at the Surf Hotel was an enjoyable one. And even happier to know that your son had a great time while staying with us. As you mentioned, the beach near the hotel is very easy to access and perfect for a evening stroll. I will make sure to pass your compliments to our staff and looking forward to seeing you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColColombo CoColombo Colombo
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Last weekend we stayed at "The Surf" for a short vacation - out of the busy schedules.
It was marvelous as all what we got was home-like treatment - every one from top management to the bottom down of the staff - were very friendly, helpful and always checking on our requirements.

It is this type of hospitality a guest always anticipates, welcomes and embraces when they find it.

I highly appreciate the level of service, care and attention they had on every minute detail of our trip, to maximize our happiness ...

When you go there, the only thing that you would lament over is the fact that you have to return home leaving such beautiful surroundings, mouth watering meals,modern comforts and of course - the friendly people you find there. Thanks Mr. Asela and his team - from top to bottom- for your extra efforts to make our stay fabulous.

This was our second visit and no doubt not the last... Keep up the good work..."THE SURF"

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for recommending The Surf Hotel on TripAdvisor. We really do appreciate the lovely things you have mentioned about our property and the staff.
We always try to give personal attention to all our guests to the best we can. I hope you would return to Bentota area in the near future and have another lovely time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
2.9 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#5 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing