We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Surf Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Villa(Bentota)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Hotel Hemadan(Aluthgama)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveler rating
407
303
128
66
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
303
128
66
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankabeach facingthe ground floor roomsfirst floorsea viewfront officewelcome drinkswimming poolnice beachindian oceanseafood restaurantthe general managerbentota beachdinner buffetsea foodtuk tukwater sports
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
614 - 619 of 975 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We really enjoyed the place. The rooms are absolutely excellent and the service, too. Two swimmingpools and the longest beach I could imagine with white sand and beautiful palms. One pool has a length of 50 meters and is perfect for swimming excercises in the morning. We loved it! The restaurant is excellent and to sit outside in the evening is so romantic. We had a perfect stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farbenfreundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear you had such a pleasant and comfortable stay! Your experience is what we want for all our guests. I feel very happy to see the facilities offered at Surf and our great beach location made your vacation a excellent one. We would love to have you back here and feel free to get in touch with assistance with your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

After a horrible experience at a different location, we moved to 'The Surf' for one night stay with a group of family members occupying 7 rooms in the hotel. It was 'WOW" feeling at the entrance and the welcome was extremely courteous. Very friendly staff for whom your complexion is immaterial - which was great. Rooms are very nice and luxury, food was good. Nice long pool for anyone in the family and another pool for the experts. Greeting at the check out too was very pleasant. Definitely we will go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Upulcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Upul,

We can not thank you enough for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at the Surf! It is a delight to hear your stay with us was completely satisfactory. That is what we aim for at The Surf Hotel, satisfied and happy guests!
If you have any suggestions for us to improve going forward, please let us know. Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our family is just back after an awesome weekend at The SURF HOTEL, Bentota. Friendly, courteous staff, excellent food, superb ambience made our weekend relaxing and utterly peaceful.Looking forward to spending more days at The Surf.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 961Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear that, on the whole, you had a pleasant and comfortable stay.
I'll be sure to let the staff know you found our service friendly and helpful. The next time you're visiting Bentota, we hope you stay with us again at The Surf Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel 2 nights and had a wonderful stay . Hotel's GM Asela was very welcoming and caring about our needs, Guest Relation Vidya very pleasant and attentive with our child. As mentioned below I can confirm hotel is very clean and in excellent location to the beach, staff are very attentive and I would definitely recommend this hotel. Good value for money too! Thank you The Surf!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bapasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the five-star recommendation! We work hard to ensure your entire visit is enjoyable, so I look forward to passing along your compliments to our GM and the team — flattering to know all our hard work had paid off. Thank you again and hope to see you back here at the Surf very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

“A letter to hotel management - Incredible customer service”

We write to thank the GM Mr. Asela and his wonderful staff at “THE SURF”
Names of staff -Ms. Geethanjaly and Ms. Vindiya who saw me at the Front Office.
But everyone at “The Surf” really was outstandingly helpful and I can't praise everyone enough.

The Surf pool was great . Food was tasty, rooms and the toilets were clean, the beach area was clean and excellent security service

Our stay in the hotel was amazing! The staff provided us lot of help and great advice for our stay, It was beautiful here we hope to come back sometime soon !

Thank you. Thank everyone.

Rasika Perera and Family
Room no 206-207
16th – 17th April 2014
Kalubowila.

Room Tip: room near the swimming pool
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RasikaPerera2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Rasika,

Thank you for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are glad to know you appreciate all the services and the facilities experienced during your stay with us. It's our goal to create a comfortable and inviting space for our guests, so I'm thrilled that's exactly what you experienced.

I'll be sure to pass along your kind words to our GM Mr. Asela, Geethanjaly, Vindhya, and rest of the staff. Please feel free to get in touch with us if you need any assistance with your next visit to the Surf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews