We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attraction” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

i inform to you that this 'The surf' hotel unbelieveble attraction because very interesting and very attractive sea view.because completely hotel with nature however this hotels situated at very closed to the sea view..present new management is running well this hotel earliest name is Lehiniya surf hotel. so now out lihiniya only the surf hotel.here everthings are very attractions .so i requesting from world tour operators and holiday makers you should select for this wonderful hotel for a yuor fun and rest.i am living near the hotel so i know about ever things this hotels.very best for the stay with couples .so you do not miss this dream hotel.beach is the best for bath long coastal area very good for the walk for exercise.because very long coastal. lot of communities are visit for week end holiday for the fun .but nothings any destrubs with others

Room Tip: travelors should shoose the beach face rooms better for the upchare locations because sea face.do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank Serandip1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    248
    92
    51
    47
See reviews for
262
299
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Amazing resort - lovely staff, professional +++
All staff no matter what rank were courteous and polite
Room lovely, but still smelt like blocked drains.
Safe, Fridge, hot water, clean towels, deck chairs, good tv etc, nice decor, beachside/poolside room.
Wifi hopeless in resort
Beach clean and inviting - but hawkers lurk nearby and are not very nice - a bit annoying
Buffet dinner and breakfast was amazing - huge range. Staff all handsome and polite. Was an oasis as the town and all the surrounds outside the hotel were really uninviting - i love local towns and people, and getting out of the hotel, but this was one place where leaving the hotel was really not worth it!

Lovely place to return to.... cant really fault the stay at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here in October 2013. What an amazing hotel. Simply perfect for a relaxed getaway. I intended to stay for two nights and was so impressed that I extended my stay to six nights. I stayed in one of the ground floor rooms, which faced onto the beach, an amazing view to wake up to and being able to literally walk from your room to the beach is huge bonus. The hotel facilities were great, two large pools – one for children and a quiet one for those looking to relax. The rooms are big, comfortable and very well air conditioned, with a large modern bathroom. The food was OK, although I only tried the restaurant a couple of times. This hotel is a definite stay in Bentota.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTown_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

It was amazing, would recommend this place to anyone looking to have a relaxing vacation. Great restaurants around the place if incase you wanna have meals outside the hotel. Ask hotel staff for places to visit and they have some perfect suggestions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Nicole,

Thank you very much for recommending us here on Tripadvisor. It always great to see that we were able to meet your expectations and we cannot ask for a better compliment than you wanting to visit us again. Thank you so much and please feel free to get in touch with us when you are planning your next visit to The Surf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

it was out first exotic trip experience and we afraid a bit about cuisine, about climate (our trip was on 6-17/10/2013), about all. But when we were transferred to the hotel The Surf Bentota - all our doubts and fears were dispelled)) The ocean view was the best I ever seen, the weather was wet ans the ocean was stormed, but at that honeymoon period we had fun and fooling around in the waves, like children)))) the wait staff was very considerate, the food was always fresh, tasty, there was enough food and local cuisine, and European, no one is left hungry. At the reception, in the restaurant, laudry, cleaning rooms - all high quality, on time and with a smile. Local residents have conquered us focus on the customer, his humanity and hospitality.Our honeymoon has helped organize a wonderful man - Wasantha (ot Titanic: his telephone number is +94 777 030 201). Starting from the trips, leisure, shopping, ending the wedding photoshoot and dinner by the ocean with the freshest seafood - all his work! We strongly recommend!

Room Tip: 112!! it was our rood on honey moon period! recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egolovkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi,

It's very nice to hear back from you Kateryna and thank you very much for recommending us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay while staying at The Surf. It is very nice to see you received a very good service from our staff and some of our staff still talks about the great volleyball skills you two showed at our beach volleyball court.
We would love to have you back and please feel free to contact us with any future reservation needs. Thank again and hope to see you two next year for your wedding anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed for three days. The Air conditioning is very very poor. The rooms are very OK. The Television has few channels and mostly local.The room to restaurant is very far. I would not recommend any one to stay here

Room Tip: Stay only on the ground floor.The Aircon will work better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy your stay at our hotel due to the bad air conditioning and the location of your room. If possible, could you please let me know the room you were occupied in so that I will make sure the A/C in that room is checked out by our engineering department.
Also, we try to provide all our guest a great ocean view from their room and as a result the building does stretch out from one end to the other end of the property. But, our main restaurant is located in the center of the building so it would be easily accessible by all guests. In addition, we have two additional food outlets located on either side of the hotel to provide easier access.
However, we hope you will give us another opportunity to change your mind about our location and if so please feel free to get in touch with me during your visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My partner and I spent 9 nights at The Surf hotel from the 27th Sept-6th Oct 2013 for the very fair price of approx £500 for B&B basis. We travel long haul a couple of times a year staying in budget and 5* accommodation and did not expect anything super plush for this price but we were both pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is set perfectly on the beach front, in a location that is very relaxed and easily accessible. The reception area is inviting, clean and cool and on our arrival staff were very attentive and welcoming. We were situated in a ground floor room which was clean, comfortably furnished and cleaned daily very thoroughly. The swimming pool areas are clean, comfortable and very well maintained set literally a stones throw away from the sands of the beach. Breakfast was good, with the usual selection expected from a buffet style breakfast i.e. fruits, breads, cakes, cooked items and traditional options. We only ate once in the hotel at the pool area as we generally like to get out and about, the service was prompt and the food was nice.

After reading previous reviews we felt very shocked at complaints directed towards staff. We felt that the service and staff attitude was extremely professional, efficient and friendly and find it difficult to imagine anything less. We had witnessed on numerous occasions the way in which the staff were spoken to by some of the guests and felt completely embarrassed, but each time staff remained professional and polite.

We will definitely be returning to Sri Lanka in the future and we will not hesitate to book another stay at The Surf.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room so you have your own sun loungers almost on the beach front :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Emily,

Thank you very much for the great review you gave us and recommending us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all of our staff was helpful and courteous.
To be honest, we did have some issues with our staff and services, which we were mostly able to rectify with the help of the feedback we got from previous guests. So, I'm very happy to see the changes we made are paying off and we are able to offer a better service to everyone that comes to our property.
However, we do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and standing up for us. This means a lot to our staff and we will make sure to continue to improve our services. Thank you very much again and please feel free to get in touch with me when you are planning to visit this area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
3.1 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Family Hotel in Bentota
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing