We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP NOTCH HOTEL”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Brilliantly designed stylish hotel with superb choice of really good food. Kept spotlessly clean daily by staff who are very friendly and helpful and themselves very smartly dressed.
Choice of two swimming pools which are clean and manned by lifeguards. Facilities include choice of bars, restaurant and a la carte restaurant, spa and massage available and a well equipped gym. Free wi fi is available in public areas. All rooms are air conditioned.The hotel is right on the beach front with a nice clean sandy shoreline.
The town is only 5 - 10 minutes walk or a short taxi ride. If I ever go back to this area on holiday I would without doubt choose this hotel.
Review by J.C.A.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and it was excellent with a balcony, but if you want immediate acces...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilbirnieite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear J.C.A,

Thank you very much for providing us with these wonderful remarks. We always try to provide best possible service to our guests and please let us know if there was anything we could have done better to improve our service. When you decide to make another trip this way, feel free to contact us with your reservation needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
There are newer reviews for The Surf Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 866 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is great in most ways except dinner options and poor coffee quality. Until we insisted on brewed coffee we kept being served instant To make up for this they offered lovely black current juice at the breakfast buffet. The rooms are lovely, well appointed, comfy beds etc. The balcony is outstanding with great quality loungers. The dinner menu is very limited but overall I would gladly return. Rates are very attractive during this off season. Wifi difficult to access in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destinyspeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Miss,
Thank you very much for your comment about our property. We really do appreciate you mentioning about the challenges you had during your stay with us. I’ll make sure to provide your feedback to our Chef regarding the selection on the dinner menu and look at the ways on how to improve it.

Due to some severe weather conditions, we did experience some problems with our internet provider during July. As a result, we were facing some difficulties with the WiFi connections.

However, we have been able to correct these problems and the connection is much better now. I do apologize for any inconvenience you may experience and hope you won’t come across these problems during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent one night here . Hotel is nothing but excellent. Unbeatable location, friendly and competent staff. The pool and garden were absolutely lovely . Nice, clean room.. had a beautiful view of the beach....Special thanks to Mr...Asela (A.G.M) ..couldn't have been more kind and helpful. he has done a great job in making our stay pleasant @ the surf. Lovely hotel with a lovely view. Fantastic Stay , Highly Recommended !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salika j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Salika,

We are very happy to see that you had a great stay while you were at The Surf Bentota. It was our pleasure to serve you and I’ll make sure to pass the message to all our staff about the great compliment you have given. When you decide to come back for a longer stay, please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

"The Surf" is an amazing place for a get away during the weekend, a place where you can just relax and spend time with your loved one.
We stayed there for one night, and wished if we could have stayed longer.
When we reached the hotel, we were welcomed with warm smiles, cold cloth and a cooling drink. The food was very elegant and the main restaurant was very classy. The experience of walking in the pristine shores is similar to walking in clean white snow.
Our stay was a good experience overall with minimum hiccups.
The staff was very friendly (from the security guard at the gate to the head chef at the restaurant) and they were always prompt in their shared concern about our well-being.

There are two things to improve on, 1 - We made four requests for the cushions outside to be replaced as it was soaked with rain water however this was not done.
2 - We checked in at 7pm and asked our bath-towels to be replaced in the morning however this was not done either.

We hope to return and see these improvements.
As are overall experience was VERY POSITIVE ! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Sean,

Thank you so much for taking the time to make a comment about your visit. I'm so happy to hear that your overall stay was a very positive one. However, I wished we could have made it a perfect stay by attending to the two issues you mentioned above. I will definitely check with appropriate departments about these problems and make sure to improve our service.

Apart from that, it's great to hear that our staff was helpful and courteous to you. We sure enjoyed your company while you were here and I'm so glad I got the opportunity to talk to you couple of times during your stay. Please make sure to visit us sometime in the future and we will make sure to deliver a better experience. If you need any assistance with a future reservation or any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed one night and we regretted not staying longer. It is the perfect place to stay next to the beach. The swimming pools are great and well cleaned.There were a nice and cooperative staff. Very friendly people and professional... We had a beautiful view of the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Ms. Wijesiri,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are really happy to hear that you and your husband had a great stay while you were here. As you mentioned, all our rooms are overlooking the beach to give every guest the possible view while they are with us.
I'll make sure to inform our staff about your encouraging words about their service and we would love to see you back here again (maybe we can expect three people instead of two next time).
Thank you so much again Aloka, and hope you had safe flight going back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night and hospitality offered from all the staff was really wonderful. I was with my family on holiday @ Surf. Food was fantastic and room conditions were brilliant .


My car had a problem with its ignition in the morning just before our check out.
I would like to give my special gratitude to Asela (GM) and the staff those who went out of the way and help to sort our car imidiately . Many thanks once again to Asela and the staff for taking time for this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaminda_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Chaminda,
First of all, I apologize about the delayed response. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in our newly renovated rooms and even the food selection was to your liking. Even when things weren’t perfect (with your vehicle) I’m glad to hear our staff including our GM was able to assist you.
Again, thank you so much for taking the time to adding these comments on Tripadvisor, and we would love to see you again here at The Surf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

me and my family had a pleasent stay,the staff of this hotel is the best we had experienced out of all our hotel stays,hats off to the management,no shortcomings in any departments let it be the front office,restuarant,house keeping or even the pool attendents.all are full of smiles.will definitely recommend for a peacefull stay.finally the food is awesome at the surf.....keep it up

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imran67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
7.9 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#6 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $75 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing