We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf Hotel Bentota”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surf Hotel Bentota”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This Hotel is located on the beautiful coast of Bentota, South Sri Lanka and is right on the beach. The Hotel has been refurbished and the rooms are nice, spacious, clean and with a breath taking view of the sea.
If you are looking for a quiet holiday of laying in the sun, reading a book and taking the odd dip in the sea or pool then this is the place to go as it offers little else. If you want to surf there is a surf Board rental place 50 meters down the beach with a great team of local guys who work there and teach. For more active water sports then a brief TukTuk ride away (100 rupees) there is "Tushal" - Sun shine sports center where you can water ski, Windsurf, jet ski etc all on the River. Bentota has plenty of restaurants for eating out and it is nice to try different ones. The dinner in the Hotel is not terrific which is unfortunate so I would recomment B&B rather than H/B and eat out in the evenings. Major pain is that the Hotel also has no WiFi. Only internet connections is 2 lines in the bar area and people sitting around waiting for one to come free. If you need to work whilst on holiday, this is not the place.
Staff are friendly and all in all i think you get what you pay for and i would stay here again, mainly because of the location and the rooms. You need plenty of mosquito protection in the evenings, maybe because of the river but all in all, fair value for money.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the 2nd flor as you have a balconey. Theones on the ground floor open up straight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Positivejoojoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    263
    96
    54
    52
See reviews for
277
318
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a small hotel which makes it perfect if you'd simply want to relax from your every day hassles. Laying by the pool and listening to the sounds of the ocean is priceless. Staff was really friendly and helpful! Kitchen was also great, with a variety of great food every day.

Shops and local stores are only a few minutes away by means of local transportation (tuc-tuc).

If you're looking for a quite and relaxing vacation, this is it. Nonetheless, we went jet skiing and on some excursion to Kandi, which added to the variety of things to do.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed at Surf, Bentota for 2 weeks from 17.03.2012 found room good with sea view, cleaned everyday , staff very helpful, pool and garden area good, hotel right on beach, Breakfast, good, dinner okay,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytripper020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at the Surf for 14 nights arrived home last night 5.3.12 what a wonderful hotel we did have a minor blip when we arrived no room but for one night we had to stay in the family room with our friends the staff were very sorry and tried to amend us with free wine bowl of fruit and a free a la carte meal, next day we were moved to our room we had a lovely room with a beautiful view of the sea on the 3rd floor but we had requested a ground floor room we spoke to Rushan we went to our sunbeds and with in 15 mins he had arranged a move for us, room attendants worked very hard waiters very helpful spoke english ok food was varied and good choice wonderful porridge only thing it tends to be luke warm to cold overall impression lovely friendly hotel they try really hard to please would certainly return one final point it was my partners birthday whilst there they gave us a table with flowers on it free wine a la carte menu and a birthday cake as well as singing happy birthday and then wanted to bring us breakfast in bed, how wonderful is that well done all the staff of the surf

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor rooms but all rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ikglaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed at Surf Bentota in October 2011 just for one day during my short trip to Sri Lanka. The hotel is recently renovated, nice rooms. We didn't like the food and ended up eating pinapples the whole stay in Sri Lanka. However we went to the Sea Food restaurant just in front of the hotel and it was great! The beach is OK, not great and the pool is small. I wouldn't stay at this hotel for a week but just a short stay was great for us. There were lots of locals walking on the beach wanting to sell you stuff or just asking money. It is annoying but keep in mind that it is a poor coutry where they had a civil war for several hrs plus a tsunami in 2004!
There are always Tuk Tuk drivers waiting in front of the hotel and if you bargain with them they can bring you anywhere just for 50c! We went to the turlte concervation. Wasn't the best thing we did, but it was fine. The also went on the Madhu River cruise which was amazing. So peacefull and relaxing!
The sunset at night was just breathtaking! Some amazing photos are too be taken at night! Bentota is very relaxing, wild place.
The service at the hotel is not great, they barely speak English. At 2 am someone was creaping at our window (we were 2 young ladies staying at the ground floor). We got quite scared! We called at the front desk and they told us not to worry and that they will send the security. Security never came, someone came to look at hour window again and we called again. They told us not to worry again, they said it's "just a beach boy" and that we can sleep. We ended up falling asleep because we were exausted. We had to carry our luggage ourselves up the stairs the next morning, but overall we had a great time!
The way the shower is made, there is a significant gap between the shower walls and the floor so everytime you take shower the floor is floaded! Make sure you catch the water before it floads all over your room! For us it was funny more then anything, but I imagine if you staying there for more then one night it can be quite annoying.
Bentota is beautiful and if you don't want to spend too much on your hotel you can for Surf Bentota!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olik87p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Surf was recently renovated and we went there on a promotional deal to check it out One wing of the hotel is still under refurbishment, so make sure you ask the hotel and get the rooms on the other wing. Otherwise all the drilling and construction will make the trip a disaster

I must say that the rooms we stayed in were beautiful. Very tastefully decorated and comfortable beds. The rooms all had plasma TV's , and huge King sized beds.

The hotel faces the sea, which was lovely and calm the day we went. In addition, the weather held up so it was a great day for swimming and lazing by the pool. The pool was big, but nothing special.. nevertheless it was nice. There was a lovely spacious garden for kids to play in, so all in all it's a real family friendly hotel.

We ordered room service for lunch and I must say that both the presentation and quality of the food was exceptional. The rice and sandwiches that everyone ordered were so tasty that we decided to order the same for dinner. This however, turned into a mini disaster. The chicken fried rice we ordered had no chicken and when we complained, they sent us a new portion which was no different. In the end, we just couldn't be bothered anymore and so we just called it a night.

The night we went, the hotel had organised a DJ which was good fun, but there was hardly any crowd, so the party wrapped up around 11!

We were on a B&B basis, so we were all up for breakfast bright and early, and I must say that that did not disappoint. There was an excellent spread of both local and Western dishes, cereals, and bread.

The only downside to the hotel was the service. The receptionist was terribly rude and not accomadating at all. In total we had booked 3 triple rooms, but we only got the last room about 6-7 hours after we arrived at the hotel. Luckily two out of the three rooms were given to us early and so we managed to keep all our luggage in the two rooms and start the holiday. If not, it would have been a real downer..

Even at check out, the receptionist was really rude. When we told her that because of the delay of the third room, we were going to check out late, she refused to listen, and even after the General manager agreed to our request, she said that no one had told her and that she couldn't allow it.

I must also point out one more thing. The hotel has ammenities like shampoo and shower gel in small ceramic bottles in the bathroom. These are extremely fragile, and one of my friends broke one. When we were checking out, she mentioned it to the room boys, and instructed them to charge her for the damages. We all expected the price of this to be soemthing very reasonable. Instead however, she was slapped with a Rs1000 charge. In my opinion that was absurd. While we were settling the bills, another couple with a small baby came and said the same thing. The baby had been playing with this bottle, and it had gotten lost, somewhere in the garden/ beach. The mother couldn't find it anywhere and she too was slapped with a similar charge. Rs1000 for a small ceramic bottle is far too much, and either the hotel is charging a thumping cost, or the ceramic bottles are really expensive., either way the hotel should really consider changing their ammenities to something cheaper.

Aside from that, I must say that our trip was really delightful. Good food, and good company... what more could you ask for!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms downstairs facing the beach and away from the wing that is currently under refurbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruvini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at the surf for 3 weeks all inclusive the last week of october till the 3rd week of november 2011 The weather was very good (sometimes to hot) The food excelent the hotel was always very clean. But without doubt the best thing was the service nothing was to much trouble We celebrated our 40th wedding aniversay there We were served a special meal and wine with no extra price charged All of the staff were fantastic but above them all was a waiter called Anura ( we called him simon) We will without doubt go back there as soon as we can

Room Tip: all rooms have sea veiws but on the second floor they have balconeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franklin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
2.9 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing