We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service beyond price”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Bentota
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service beyond price”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at the surf for 3 weeks all inclusive the last week of october till the 3rd week of november 2011 The weather was very good (sometimes to hot) The food excelent the hotel was always very clean. But without doubt the best thing was the service nothing was to much trouble We celebrated our 40th wedding aniversay there We were served a special meal and wine with no extra price charged All of the staff were fantastic but above them all was a waiter called Anura ( we called him simon) We will without doubt go back there as soon as we can

Room Tip: all rooms have sea veiws but on the second floor they have balconeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franklin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    265
    99
    54
    52
See reviews for
284
318
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We were made to wait 1 hour at the lobby (with Mosquitos and all) while waiting for the reception staff to settle some administrative matters. They could have asked us to rest at one of the rooms (which was already confirmed) instead of taking one hour to talk about the pricing of the room with their head office. Guess what? The rate they quoted is was no difference from the one they quoted an hour ago.

We just travelled 7 hours from Amaya Hills Resort where the service was first class and the price of the room less than The Surf, yet the service of the staff at The Surf was unacceptable.

The rooms are clean but I had to shower with cold water one of the nights. To pay $167 USD for a third bed in the room (at Amaya, it was only 19 uSD) and not feeling welcomed and comfortable is quite a put off.

I highly recommend you check out neighboring resorts before choosing The Surf.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aussiefrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel is very comfortable and the food is great although it does get repetitive after a while. We stayed for 3 weeks and thought we could use this hotel as a base so we could travel about, but unfortunately the railway was closed and the buses were mobbed so the tuk tuk drivers put up their prices. Be warned you need a lot of money, if we hadn't been all inclusive we couldn't have afforded to eat and drink at the hotel and there is no nightlife, nothing , the only thing you can do for a change is to go and visit the other 3 hotels in this resort.
We did find a tuk tuk driver who took us to hikkaduwa for 1000 rupees @ £6, they will take you to a spice garden first, take the free massage and bung them a couple of quidm but don;t buy anythng you can get everything cheaper in the supermarkets. A visit to the turtle farm is only 300 rupees and you might get to hold the babies.
Whatever you do don't pay for a glass bottom boat ride at mamas they charged us 3000 rupees for 20 mins then tried to get more money when we got off, greedy greedy
All the trips are expensive and everything is so far away you need to go overnight, I would suggest organzing everything yourself , speak to the taxi drivers , make sure you get one that speaks good english and can communicate and ask for basic accomodation coz they will take you to a luxury hotel if you don;'t.. We booked Yala National Park though the comos rep and our driver couldn't speak English, it was a disaster. Remember they will tell you anything just to get your money so take everything with a pinch of salt.Oh and some of them expect tips just for sayng hello.
We had no problem with mozzies but sandfiles are a nightmare, so be careful , the locals suggested a lemon balm and you can get this at the chemist. It sounds quite down this review but it really wasn't bad just not what we expected. Goa is much better.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view , but ask for a high floor if you can, they will be quieter as some are ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonniePurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed 2 weeks on all inclusive basis, in this hotel. It was earlier this year reopened so everything is fresh, new, clean. Nice decorated rooms, walk-in shower, aircon, comfy beds, flatscreen tv with bbc world service and hbo among others, balcony or terrace all with seaview. At this moment (dec 2011) 55 rooms are available, but they are still working on an extension of the hotel, will be ready in 2012 i guess. The hotel has at this moment 1 large restaurant, with enough space for all the guests. In the to be opened part there will be a a la carte restaurant, so buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner is the only option; quality of the food is excellent. In front of the hotel there is a large garden with new sunbeds, a swimming pool and childrens' pool (with a sort of jacuzzi). And where the garden ends, the white sandy beach starts. There are some squirrels in the garden and one ortwo friendly large lizzards. The hotel has guards 24 h. Wifi is not available yet, but you can get a cable to connect in the lounge. There are a few restaurants nearby if you don't want the buffets daily. It is really a place where you can relax and rest; Bentota is not a place for shopping or going out.

Room Tip: the rooms on first floor have more privacy than on ground floor, some rooms have a large terrace, mm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reparepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

we have just returned from 1 week here followed by a week in the maldives. we were late arriving in colombo which meant we hit the worst of the traffic and meant a 4&1/2 hour transfer time and having many near heart attacks during the journey . driving in sri lanka is not for the faint hearted. on arrival we were quickly allocated our room and then immediately hit the dining room. the next morning we asked if we could change our room as we were on the 3rd floor, my wife has a problem with hieghts and the balcony was only protected by a rail of 18 inches high. this was achieved quickly and we were swopped to the ground floor which opened straight on to the grass area between the hotel and the beach. rooms are large with a bathroom designed as a wet room. apparently some rooms on the ground floor flooded during a storm. ours was ok the during the first storm but there were signs that the floor was wet when we returned from a 2 day trip to yala park (this was excellent by the way). we were pleasantly surprised by the selection of foods for lunch and dinner. most have a hint of curry and meat is mostly chicken (which is always on the bone) and beef. soups were tasty, rice varied and vegtables available in various forms. breakfast was good, excellent scrambled eggs. usual all inclusive drinks were available except for wine although available by the bottle at a charge. all meal times were very quiet. all staff were exdellent and we would recommend this hotel. beware of the so called life guards on the beach (wearing yellow shirts with red trim) as they just want you to go to various places and they earn commission for it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moggridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have just come back from staying at The Surf from 9/9/2011-22/9/2011. What a great place to stay. The room boys kept our room very clean, fresh towells at least twice a day plus clean sheets. Food was excellent with plenty of choice for those who found the food too spicey.All the staff were very friendly and nothing was toio much trouble. We would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Steve & Janis Oliver

Room Tip: All the rooms faced the beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerala, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at the Surf from 9th - 12th Sep 2011. The hotel has just gone thru a total renovation and we were mighty impressed with it. The rooms are all beach facing and the bathrooms are excellent. We booked bed & breaky and food was good. MEals at The Surf & most properties around the area are expensive, so would recommend going for a half board rate. The beach and pool is wonderful
There isnt any nightlife in Bentota. So be prepared for a nice relaxed break.
Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zool102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing