We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Surf Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Villa(Bentota)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Beachfront
Hotel Hemadan(Aluthgama)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveler rating
407
303
128
66
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
303
128
66
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankabeach facingthe ground floor roomsfirst floorsea viewfront officewelcome drinkswimming poolnice beachindian oceanseafood restaurantthe general managerbentota beachdinner buffetsea foodtuk tukwater sports
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
695 - 700 of 975 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at the Surf from 9th - 12th Sep 2011. The hotel has just gone thru a total renovation and we were mighty impressed with it. The rooms are all beach facing and the bathrooms are excellent. We booked bed & breaky and food was good. MEals at The Surf & most properties around the area are expensive, so would recommend going for a half board rate. The beach and pool is wonderful
There isnt any nightlife in Bentota. So be prepared for a nice relaxed break.
Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zool102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

After the refurbishment based on a news paper ad visited the place. It is a great place for total relaxation. All rooms facing the beach but without being crowded and with very friendly staff it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ronsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Arrived at The Surf and were absolutely amazed. Had read some rather dodgy reviews but the recent refurbishment is of such a high standard, can honestly say it's the best hotel we've ever stayed in. Not very busy, as out of season, but the staff can't do enough for you, everyone was incredibly polite and helpful.
The rooms all have a lovely view of the beach and sea (too rough to swim in while we were there) and we practically had the pool to ourselves.
Our rooms were cleaned at least twice a day, new fluffy towels were left for us every time we returned to our room!
We did a couple of two-day trips organised through the Cosmos Rep (Pan-Lanka Travels) Have to say, excellent value for money. Our driver, Lucky, was happy to take us to see anything we wanted to see on the way and we can't praise him enough for his knowledge and enthusiasm.
Trip to Pinnewela Elephant Orphanage, Sigiria Rock, Dambulla cave Temple, overnight stay in Kandy, Temple of the tooth. Spice Garden, Tea Plantation was about £180.
Seeing wild elephants and a leopard in a 50 year old Landrover whilst on safari in Yala was an experience we will never forget.
If you want a fantastic holiday in a fantastic hotel, look no further than The Surf. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank wendy186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I visited Sri Lanka for the 1st time in April 2011 and booked into The Surf for 3 nights after arriving in Bentota and checking out other local hotels. I travel a lot and couldn't believe that they asked me to pre-pay for the 3 nights (US$140 per night) which I reluctantly did using my credit card.

Unfortunately I had to depart after one night due to a personal issue back home and the hotel refused to refund me in cash for the 2nd and 3rd night and promised to refund directly on my credit card within 3-4 days. Two and a half months later I'm still waiting and despite many calls and promises, nothing has eventuated.

It's extremely sad when hotels choose to treat valuable customers like this, knowing full well potential customers will seek reviews on forums such as Tripadvisor especially considering the hotel has a lot going for it in terms of location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jubozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

visited hotel end June 2011 was very enjoyable, hotel has been refurbished to good standard, lovely rooms and fully lited bathroom with wet room shower, lovely fluffy towels and comfy beds. Staff very friendly and were pleased to help you, good food in restaurant and varied menu if nothing on menu you liked (as hotel not full )chef would make you a light meal of your choice eg omelette or toasted sandwich and fries. Waiter were great especiall Ajit, would def stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MARIE57WestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews