We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Bentota
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Arrived at The Surf and were absolutely amazed. Had read some rather dodgy reviews but the recent refurbishment is of such a high standard, can honestly say it's the best hotel we've ever stayed in. Not very busy, as out of season, but the staff can't do enough for you, everyone was incredibly polite and helpful.
The rooms all have a lovely view of the beach and sea (too rough to swim in while we were there) and we practically had the pool to ourselves.
Our rooms were cleaned at least twice a day, new fluffy towels were left for us every time we returned to our room!
We did a couple of two-day trips organised through the Cosmos Rep (Pan-Lanka Travels) Have to say, excellent value for money. Our driver, Lucky, was happy to take us to see anything we wanted to see on the way and we can't praise him enough for his knowledge and enthusiasm.
Trip to Pinnewela Elephant Orphanage, Sigiria Rock, Dambulla cave Temple, overnight stay in Kandy, Temple of the tooth. Spice Garden, Tea Plantation was about £180.
Seeing wild elephants and a leopard in a 50 year old Landrover whilst on safari in Yala was an experience we will never forget.
If you want a fantastic holiday in a fantastic hotel, look no further than The Surf. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank wendy186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    264
    98
    54
    52
See reviews for
283
318
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I visited Sri Lanka for the 1st time in April 2011 and booked into The Surf for 3 nights after arriving in Bentota and checking out other local hotels. I travel a lot and couldn't believe that they asked me to pre-pay for the 3 nights (US$140 per night) which I reluctantly did using my credit card.

Unfortunately I had to depart after one night due to a personal issue back home and the hotel refused to refund me in cash for the 2nd and 3rd night and promised to refund directly on my credit card within 3-4 days. Two and a half months later I'm still waiting and despite many calls and promises, nothing has eventuated.

It's extremely sad when hotels choose to treat valuable customers like this, knowing full well potential customers will seek reviews on forums such as Tripadvisor especially considering the hotel has a lot going for it in terms of location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jubozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKSHIRE
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

visited hotel end June 2011 was very enjoyable, hotel has been refurbished to good standard, lovely rooms and fully lited bathroom with wet room shower, lovely fluffy towels and comfy beds. Staff very friendly and were pleased to help you, good food in restaurant and varied menu if nothing on menu you liked (as hotel not full )chef would make you a light meal of your choice eg omelette or toasted sandwich and fries. Waiter were great especiall Ajit, would def stay here again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MARIE57WestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

After we booked our two week holiday we saw the reviews on the trip advisor, they were to say the least quite grim. We arrived with mixed feeling, however first impression was one of how welcoming the staff were and how clean the entrance was. The whole hotel must have been totaly transformed from the one l read about to one of a standard totaly unexpected. Location was perfect right on the beach loads of sun beds, parasols were being added as we left. Rooms referbished to a good standard ,very clean, beds and towels changed every day. Food was excellent , good choice and well cooked. Staff were most friendly and counldn't do enough for us.The town was an experience just a short walk or tuk tuk for about £1. Only down side a quite night life not for the young who want to party!. Ifyou are considering booking this hotel don't hesitate exceptional value for money. Try the safari trip but do the over night it's a long way.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank midlands0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Considering the price of this hotel i was lucky that i visited the place post rennovation and i must admit that they have done a pretty decent job. Rooms were clean and surely looked new. Wash rooms were the best i found in four different hotels i stayed Sri Lanka. The view from room balcony was amazing. The beach was nice and clean. The only negative i found were many ants near the minibar and inside wash room. Anyway this hotel was a more of a compromise as i couldnt find place in Serendip which a lot of locals told me is a better hotel...and yes, the hotel doesnt have Room Service!! despite of that it was a pretty decent and quiet hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SyedAdeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Just back from The Surf Bentota after having a fab 2 weeks. The hotel has just been refurbished making the rooms very nice. The view from the rooms is breathtaking , The food was fantastic we were all inclusive and enjoyed it that much we didnt bother eating outside of the hotel. The staff in and around the hotel are brilliant very friendly and our room boy Ernga did a fab job of cleaning our room every day . The only minor moan i would have is the lack of atmosphere in the bar area but the Hotel is still undergoing refurbishment and it wouldnt put me off going back as we still enjoyed it.
Bentota itself has a few restaurants but no bars outside of the hotels , We visited the turtle rescue centre which was really worthwhile going to . We also visited local temples which were amazing.If staying at The Surf Hotel outside the gates are all the tuktuk drivers who will take you anywhere at good prices , We used a man called Wilson who was very good and took us everywhere we wanted to go . All in all we had a brilliant time and will definietly stay at The Surf again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philpeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Great location, set right in the beach, fabulous views from the balcony. Recently renovated, to a high standard. Staff very friendly, great food! We spent 6 nights here after a week touring Sri Lanka. A few minor things still to be finished, ie: internet connection/phone/TV, may now be finished. Only a short walk to the town, or a tut tut ride, where there is a tourist information for more info on the area. Found some great bargains in the shops! Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing