We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,104)
Filter reviews
2,104 results
Traveler rating
1,085
663
216
73
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,085
663
216
73
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chatters bar breeze restaurant frangipani restaurant loft bar sri lanka superior room great beach main pool beautiful resort the ground floor dinner buffet pool staff special thanks restaurant staff front office palm trees special mention
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,104 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

AVANI BENTOTA RESORT , SRI LANKA – November 2019
This is a lovely hotel. It has 2 pools one of which was just outside our room so very convenient. The main pool was further along the gardens and used more so our pool was quite quiet. Breakfast was challenging. We were in early every day as early risers, but they had difficulty keeping up with the demands, several times we had to request a refill of different dishes. However the food was tasty. The beach is complimented with the clear sandy beach and blue water.
We are members of GHA but there was no acknowledgment of the Alliance. We had room service every night as not much in the way of restaurant’s within walking distance outside the hotel. Staff very pleasant, especially the room boys who enjoyed a laugh and did clever things with the towels.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 990karena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chamindasa, General Manager at Avani Bentota Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Hi Karena,
Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are glad that you and family loved our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. They work very diligently, and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep doing what they are doing. Next time you or your friends want to visit us, please give us a call in advance and we will provide you with the best possible deals and options that you will not find online.
Thank you, once again, for your kind words,
Regards,
Chaminda Samaranayake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

This is a classic Bawa designed property, that is just a pleasure to look and stay at. In fact it was the first hotel designed by Bawa. It has obviously been renovated and extended since its original concept.

I could not fault our room as we had the Bawa Suite which was a comfortable fit for two adults and two large teenagers. The food was up to a good standard and is on par with many of the resorts we have stayed in around Sri Lanka.

It wasn't over busy and we had a peaceful and relaxing stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank niroshib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chamindasa, Manager at Avani Bentota Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Hi Niroshib,
We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this note. Our company values put customer satisfaction as top priority, and we are committed to our customers. Its customers like you that make our job wonderful. We look forward to serving you again.
Regards,
Chaminda Samaranayake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Great hotel friendly staff very accommodating to our needs and polite. The hotel has a beautiful setting and the beach is amazing. The restaurant staff at the frangipani are great the food was excellent thanks Asanka Manoj and Suresh. The breakfast at the hotel is fantastic, lots of dietary needs and choices all carefully catered for. Pools are extremely clean and sun loungers with towels are always ready for use. Thank you to all staff at AVANI BENTOTA HOTEL.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank davegP5469KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chamindasa, General Manager at Avani Bentota Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Hi Daveg,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. Most people don't bother to leave reviews about positive experiences, unincentivized, and that's what makes you the star. It's only when we receive such positive feedback, do we rest knowing that we have done our jobs well. Thank you for giving us this proverbial pat on the back, you made our day! We will strive to deliver great experiences consistently, please do come again.
Thanks & Regards,
Chaminda Samaranayake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

The staff were exceptional and went above and beyond to ensure our comfort. I was not so happy with our initial room and they were very accommodating as moving us to a more suitable room. I just think the hotel rooms themselves could use an update as they seemed tired. Having said that though the friendliness and hospitality of the staff made up for it for sure!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank quonsaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chamindasa, General Manager at Avani Bentota Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. We would love to hear more about your experience, so that we can use your valuable feedback to deliver an even better experience next time. Please reach out to chamindas@serendibleisure.lk with any further comments or suggestions you wish to share. Again, thank you for taking the time to review our business!
Regards,
Chaminda Samaranayake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Stayed for 4 nights. Key selling point is the fantastic stretch of beach at the front of the resort - perfect for swimming with some waves for a bit of fun, but nothing that will dump you.

We received a welcome drink and refresher towel upon arrival which was nice. We had a 'standard double room' no. 319 which overlooked the pool and also provided enough height to get glimpses of the beach and ocean - a nice room with balcony. Both the bedroom and bathroom were modern, clean and tasteful. Room servicing was of a good standard. Ice to the room, when requested, was delivered promptly.

Good pool area with plenty of seating and pool attendants were around to help with towels etc. Small but good gym facilities (although air-conditioning in the gym could be improved - also we'd suggest towels and water should be provided there).

We ate at both the main restaurant (Breeze) which does buffet dining and also the a la carte restaurant, Frangipani. Both were very good. The range of food at the buffet was more than adequate and live cooking stations were nice (although considered a minimum feature in most hotels in Sri Lanka it seems to us). The only small disappointment was that the 'pasta station' chef at dinner didn't appear to recognise what a Carbonara was, and the range of ingredients to put into the pasta was pretty bland/limited (no meats or seafood that I could see). Service was otherwise very good, attentive and thoughtful.

The cocktails are OK, but not particularly special (we had a cosmopolitan, mai tai, strawberry daquiri and the passionfruit daquiri... the last definitely being the pick due to the inclusion of real passionfruit juice).

Only a short (~5 min) walk from the hotel down Beach Rd are some good restaurants e.g. Bamboo's Garden Restaurant, Trax, Happy Garden Restaurant.

The resort has a laid-back vibe and is a good place to relax and enjoy the lovely beach.

Room tip: 319 (on 3rd floor) provides some elevation to give better views.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chamindasa, General Manager at Avani Bentota Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

Hi Garmick,
Our team here at Avani Bentota Resort is thrilled to hear such good feedback, and we’re proud to be one of the most beautiful hotels in Bentota.
Next time you’re here, you should try the Loft – Roof Top Bar “We hope to see you again soon and bring a friend!”
Thank you,
Chaminda Samaranayake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews