We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,741)
Filter reviews
1,741 results
Traveler rating
880
567
186
57
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
880
567
186
57
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breeze restaurant frangipani restaurant chatters bar sri lanka superior room a la carte restaurant dinner buffet great beach beautiful resort the ground floor special thanks pool staff front office palm trees seafood restaurant staff welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 1,741 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Avani when touring SE Asia. We arrived during the night and the gates were padlocked, but we were expected and were shown to our room. We had booked a deluxe room which was well worth the extra cost. It was huge and had a fridge which was very handy and the sofa and chairs were great for relaxing. The balcony was disappointing - very small looking out through a gap in the roof - so not much of a view. The staff were very friendly and helpful, except for the ones in Chatters. The breakfast buffet was amazing with so much choice. The dinner buffet was too. Their Halloween buffet had so much work put into it. We ate in Frangipani two evenings and the food and service was great also. We drank at the Loft a couple of times which was nice, but very quiet. The boys who did the rooms made amazing towel decorations to put on the bed. We chose Avani as it had a town beside it and we thought we could maybe eat there a few times, but as soon as we left the hotel we were hassled by locals. This happened in both Bentota and Aluthgama. We could see why there were security guards at the entrances to the hotel from the road and the beach. Avani is very handy for the station and we took the train to Galle which is a lovely train journey. The beach in front of the hotel is amazing and unspoilt and lovely to walk along. We joined in the hotel's Christmas cake mixing which was great fun! Avani is a great hotel for those wanting to go and relax by a pool, eat good food, drink and not venture out.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serendib_Leisure, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Dear Anne952,

Thank you for choosing AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal at Frangipani at both evenings. We appreciate your comments with regards to our staff and service.
Thank you again for your honest feedback and on behalf of everyone at AVANI Bentota i would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your family a brilliant and safe festive season.
Warm regards,
Suresh Athukorala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for two nights before we started our Sri Lankan tour . Front desk was always welcoming and helpful as we were given an early check in at 10am. All the staff at the hotel gave us a very friendly service and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nice2Mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serendib_Leisure, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Dear Nice2Mt,

Thank you sincerely for your review.
Warm regards,
Suresh Athukorala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017 via mobile

The Avani is set in beautiful grounds, the buildings are a little dated but still excellent, the pools are also very good.
To us the absolute highlight was the staff. They are genuinely friendly and attentive.
In particular we would like to thank the guys who cleaned our room, Chamara and Lakmal, also thanks to Thilini and Namal
Special thanks though must go to Lakshi, who really is the goddess Lakshmi and is on top of everything.
Thanks to all the staff for our wonderful stay.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bbmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serendib_Leisure, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Dear bbmason,

Many thanks for choosing AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa!
I am thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again.
With best wishes for the Festive Season.
Warm Regards,
Suresh Athukorala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

I sent the following e-mail to the hotel at the end of our stay and they haven't responded. Disappointing.

Dear sirs,

I wanted to share our experience of staying at the Avani Bentota with you.

My comments are made without prejudice and with thanks to your staff.

When we arrived at the hotel we were very disappointed. We had been travelling for several days through Sri Lanka and had stayed at some lovely hotels en route. The Cinnamon in Colombo and the Amaya Hills in Kandy for example.

The initial room we were given 118, whilst perfectly adequate in size, smelt very strongly of damp which had penetrated the soft furnishing making the smell even worse. We were offered an alternative which I am afraid was as bad. We were moved to your best room 131 which is much better but still has evidence of damp on some of the walls. I appreciate that the climate here is humid and rainy but better air conditioning and dehumidifiers will rectify the problem.

As for the rest of the hotel it looks tired. Whilst we have been here some effort has been made to improve things but there is a long way to go. Walls and doors in some of the common areas are dirty and scratched. Some have been painted while we have been here and it’s a great improvement.

The decking and some of the paving around the pool is dangerous. There are broken panels and sharp edges. Someone will hurt themselves and my fear would be that your hotel may well be sued for damages. The dark plastic decking also gets increasingly hot. A lot of the sun lounger mats are stained and need replacing.

The main dining room and outside area is also tired. Many of the tables and chairs are scratched and marked and again the decking is damaged.

At breakfast we have also had to ask on many occasions for bread and cheese to be replenished. The orange juice is a poor quality concentrate and whilst we have been given pure orange juice, which is a kind offer, the main supply should be of a higher standard.

In the bar I have never had a really cold beer. A Bacardi I ordered came with a warm plastic bottle of coke. This is just not good enough for a four star hotel.

Finally, I would like to say that all the staff in the hotel have all been extremely polite and welcoming. Everyone from the garden boys to the waiters, cleaners, pool guys and more senior managers have been excellent. They are an absolute credit to the hotel.

With such a wonderful setting and well maintained gardens I hope that over time the senior management and owners can improve the core structure of the hotel to give the staff and guests a better environment in which to work and relax.

Yours sincerely,

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serendib_Leisure, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Dear Keith G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit us recently and for writing a detailed review of your experience.
We are appreciative of your comments in relation to where we can improve. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment caused. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do get in touch so that I can help handle all of your arrangements personally.
Warm regards,
Suresh Athukorala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a 9 night stay at this hotel. The beach were the hotel is set is really nice and sandy. The breakfast had many choices and the staff at the hotel from check in to check out were very good. They always greeted you with a smile and were very friendly .

Would stay again at this hotel if in the area in the future.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank kal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serendib_Leisure, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Dear kal s,

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit us recently and for writing a review of your experience. We are delighted to hear that you found our breakfast to have many choices and staff to be extremely friendly. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon for another memorable. Warm regards, Suresh Athukorala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews