We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach and pools”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent our last three nights in Sri Lanka at this hotel. The service and cleanliness, as in Sri Lanka in general, is very good, with smiling staff who do their best. Other positive points are the location - a nice beach, although the ocean was too rough for bathing during our visit, and two great pools. Breakfast is fine but the dinner menu needs refining, including the addition of dishes suitable for the Western palate. (In addition to my husband and myself, there were many Europeans at the hotel during our stay.) Unfortunately, the air conditioning in our large deluxe room could not be adjusted and so it constantly blew on us. In addition, we had reserved a deluxe room with a view, but the view from our room gave us only a peek at the ocean.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a clear view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArnaModiinIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location just on the beautiful beach. Hotel still struggling with its restaurant...very quick check in and friendly staff.
very good value for money. Blue Bird Tuctuc Neil very reliable for going around.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hala7atem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Location: On a long clean almost empty stretch of golden sand at Bentota
Property: Low rise pretty buildings in the main but easy to get lost in spaces and corridoors. Very pretty formal restaurant building. Lots of coconut palms planted around with addition of cheeky chipmunks everywhere
Service: Good to excellent - housekeeping totally professional , warm and helpful throughout including with a couple of difficulties, restaurant and bar staff a bit mixed in warmth and speed
Food: Breakfast quite good although fresh juice extra, lunch ok but more western than expected, bit disappointed with formal restaurant - food fine and presented beautifully but lacked flavour
Rooms: Pleasant light and airy with view overlooking large pool and sea
Facilities: Well maintained pool surrounded by palms, good spa - massages worth a visit
Overall: Very good just not stunning. Great beach worth walking both directions for an hour. couple of sellers but very nice products and people and they don't hassle you. Body boards can be hired on beach - decent guys and boards. Worth going into town for food

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seapink12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed in the hotel in April 2014. first the good points; the breakfast is good, pool is big and nice, beach in Bentota is very nice. In the rooms the beds are very comfortable. Location is just between railroad and the beach, so noice from passig trains is quite loud, luckily not too often.

Then some points that where somewhat annoying.
The hotel has only one policy for checkout delay i.e. 75$. In our case 5 hours. It was almost 50% of the room price.
The drinking water / tee water in the breakfast or dinner was having quite a strong side tast.
We ate only once in the hotel, we found the restaurants in Bentota from tripadvisor ranking list much better and cheaper.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank tes183u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our family visited here to spend the day. The staff was friendly and helpful, except the dark women who was serving in the dining area, who was really inefficient and unfriendly. The food was good. And the rates were reasonable. We had a nice time. I recommend this place.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank bunty r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed for almost 10 days at the Avani Bentota in April 14, and really loved it. Wonderful beach with the most amazing sunsets, and you're also far from Beach Boys and people trying to sell pareos etc. in case you prefer not to be bothered.
Nice design of the building and rooms, very clean and good service. All staff were nice and very helpful and most people speak good English and German.
Large variety of both international and Sri Lankan food. We joined a beach BBQ organized one evening for a supplement of 3500 rupees, which was a little on the expensive side, but a very nice atmosphere and high quality food.
As a suggestion to the hotel: why not organize cocktails on the beach for sunset every night?
In Bentota itself, there doesn't seem to be a lot happening in the evening in terms of bars etc. - it's not a place for partying but relaxing.
There is however a big offer of activities like excursions to Galle, river boat trips etc. via local guides.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay and can only recommend the Avani Bentota!
Bentota train station is right behind the hotel - you do hear the trains in the rooms, but we didn't find it disturbing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away as possible from the railway - the trains can be a little noisy especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rat-on-the-Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights after a 4 day tour round, then onto the Maldives for 5 nights - overall a lovely hotel, made special by the wonderful friendly staff.

Breakfast very good, we ate in the buffet restaurant once, as found the choice great outside the hotel, Golden Grill was very good, as was the seafood restaurant right on the station platform (sounds bad, but was set back!)

We were lucky as spent our last night when Sri Lanka won the t20 final, i went to Gaule on the train to but my Sri Lanka cricket shirt & became an honorary Sri Lankan & cheered them on to beat India, the hotel staff loved it, they all love cricket & i have never met a nation that smile so much & are all so knowledgeable about our great sport of cricket - they all (about 50 of them) came up & shook my hand after the game all thrilled they won & i had my shirt on cheering them on!

Hotel great position - yes the beech boys & traders are a tad tiring, but it their living & soon leave you alone if you say 'no thanks' - Dominic looks a tad scary, but has a great heart, never did any trips with him, but others did & had nothing but praise for him & the trips, so don't worry about handing your 'filthy lucca' over to him, its safe.

Avoid the pool to sunbath in -plastic wood there gets very hot, do as the Germans do -sunbathe under the trees (much cooler) - some lovely Germans there, but also a scattering of the usual rude french, who didn't seem to understand 'self service' means just that at breakfast, not snapping their fingers for staff to get theirs for them (very rude nation as a whole sadly) - don't be put off by that as more Brits & Germans who both must be embarrassed by them!

Great Hotel, very clean & had a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
8.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $104 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to our Bentota hotel, beach haven. Soak up colonial charm in nearby Galle. Laze by the ocean as AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa combines contemporary style with sun-filled days on the southwest coast. Spice up your appetite with local flavours. Sail gently through the mangroves for a relaxing afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing