We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was our first stop in Sri Lanka and was a great way to relax a bit after the long trip. Spa treatments were professional and relaxing and very reasonably priced. Meals, particularly the breakfast, were very good (though the Asian fusion restaurant seemed a bit overpriced). The property is beautiful - a couple of different pools, and even better - the property is right on the beach. We had an awesome view of the ocean right from our bed!

Room Tip: From what I could tell, all rooms face the beach - so it seems like any of the rooms are great! But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Fantastic view, well lit and decorated rooms!! 2 mins walk from the beach. walking distance from the market.

well, i don't have anything to write against Avani except for the fact that they don't have much to offer for Vegetarians at any of their restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SagarJani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed at the Avani at the start of November with my partner and two special friends. The resort was very nice and our room had a lovely pool/sea view. Our room was a bit tired but very clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfast was buffet style and my partner had curry for breakfast most days! There is a lot to do around Bentota and going out on the tuk tuks is an experience to be recommended! A lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A little corner of paradise to relax before heading home to reality. Lots of things to do around Bentota. Great opportunity to appreciate Geoffrey's Bawa's genius - great to have historic photos and can't recommend highly enough going out to The Secret Garden (his Brothers house) - go by tuk-tuk.

Room Tip: We were upstairs, so had an elevated view, whereas downstairs could be better if children are includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel wins hands-down in terms of location. Service is also reasonable and the swimming pools are amazing. Check-in took little longer since I made the booking online. But overall a memorable and pleasant stay

Room Tip: Pick sea facing rooms. They are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_fish007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the end of a long and busy tour of Sri Lanka, so were very pleased to do nothing but relax for the last couple of days. We didn't even leave the hotel grounds, except to paddle in the ocean just to say we had done it.
The hotel's architecture (by Geoffrey Bawa) is beautiful and I would only say that when it rains (it is the monsoon now) they really need covered walkways to the two restaurants, which are both independent of the other parts of the building. To get to the excellent Thai restaurant is a quick run of about ten yards, but to the main restaurant you have to walk through the service area/kitchens. (Incidentally, having walked through the kitchens, I have to say it was spotless throughout.)
We had a great room on the second floor overlooking the ocean, as I think all the rooms do. The decor was beautiful and the room had everything you could hope for, including some very modern lighting options.
Bar service was very good and we both had spa treatments which were up to a high standard.
Our only issue was with housekeeping. They didn't appear until I called for them at 4pm on our first day, very annoying if you are trying to relax and can't really use the room, and then on the second day, knowing we would be leaving in the morning, they came up no fewer than five times to wish us a good journey. I like to leave a tip at the end of my stay based on service, if it is good, and our housekeeping experience was frankly poor. Every time they knocked on the door, I took away some of the tip until there was none and finally we had to go to reception to ask for a 'do not disturb' sign to stop the interruptions. This is a hotel that has a policy of paying staff well and where tips are not expected or particularly encouraged, so to be harrassed in that way was quite unpleasant.
Overall though, our stay was heavenly and would have had 5 stars had it not been for this.

Room Tip: You see more of the ocean from higher floors. Be aware that you need to use your key to lock your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

After travelling around various parts of Sri Lanka and being amid some frenetic wedding preparations it was time for some relaxation. This place was perfect. Sun, beautiful beach, gorgeous sunset everyday and attentive service. All for a very reasonable price. Rooms were luxurious, clean and stylish. Loved it so much we stayed an extra night.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Janine11982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
8.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,575 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#4 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $104 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to our Bentota hotel, beach haven. Soak up colonial charm in nearby Galle. Laze by the ocean as AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa combines contemporary style with sun-filled days on the southwest coast. Spice up your appetite with local flavours. Sail gently through the mangroves for a relaxing afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing