We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had 4 nights at the Avani and were impressed by the decor and the overall ambience. The staff were very friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to make sure we were well looked after. Tipping is a really good thing as their wages weren't high - 100 rupees (basically $1 Aust) is an OK tip, but if the service is special, more will always be appreciated.

The BBQ dinner on the beach was a lovely idea, and quite special and we were a group of seven among tables of two. The food was the disappointing thing here. The seafood particularly wasn't good and at around $145 a couple, quite expensive in Sri Lankan terms.

My manicure was also quite a disappointment, although very relaxing, not up to the quality of a classy hotel.

Overall enjoyed our time here very much

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
There are newer reviews for AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

it was very relaxing .. we took a room on the pool side and it was very relaxing ... we found good friends ... the staff s were all kind .. boating and other activities were all very close to the resort

Room Tip: if you use the pool the ground floor rooms are the best .. it is accessible from the balcony door ve...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 5 relaxing days staying at Avani Bentota Resort & Spa. We found this was the nicest hotel by far in Bentota. 2 lovely pools to relax by and the beach just outside the door. It was close to the township and restaurants.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jenniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Overall we liked the hotel. It was out of season and rained quite a bit but the hotel was clean and tidy. The room we had was spacious and comfortable. The only downside was that the air con only works with the room key inserted so when we were away for a few days the room wasnt aired properly and did smell a little damp. We had to ask the staff to change the bedding which they did. Aside from this the staff responded to all of our requests promptly and efficiently. My girlfriend felt that they could have been more attentive as they really leave you alone but I liked that about the staff. I found them very friendly and helpful. The food overall was disappointing and we are very glad we were only B&B as there are plenty of nice local restaurants that are easily reached on foot or by tuk tuk.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balivon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Avani Bentota was designed by world - renowned architect Geoffrey Bawa, who took inspiration from an 18th Century Dutch village to create a romantic home-away-from-home with a spectacular beach-side setting. We felt the golden sand and the warm sun on our skins, breathed in the fresh sea air and felt ourselves come alive again.

The staff welcomed us with refreshing berry drinks upon arrival. The concierge was very friendly and took us through the hotel, explaining what differentiates this property from the others in the area. The service in the poolside restaurant was very good, with live music, fresh sea food and a spectacular view of the Indian Ocean. They have an excellent spa, and local masseurs at their private beach who let you indulge in relaxing Aloe Vera and other herbal massages.

The front desk gave good suggestions in terms of sight seeing as well as local food availability in the vicinity.

Overall, we had a fantastic time!

Thank you Avani.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoudgillGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is gorgeous! They can not do enough for you and with a stunning beachfront location, 2 pools, happy hour and an incredible breakfast buffet what more could you want? The beds are enormous and the pillows are so soft, but if you want something else you can order a different pillow from the pillow menu. The food was great at all restaurants but the Thai restaurant. Not quite Thai. I'm in Sri Lanka for 3 months s d a month in this provided the ultimate luxury getaway. The facial and aromatherapy massage treatments at the spa were also great. There's not a lot to do here, so stay here and want for nothing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandyKorn143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This a very big hotel, we toured Sri Lanka before coming here for a weeks relaxation. There are not any negatives really but the had been to better hotels. The buffet was plentiful to suit everyone's pallet. Ask for a room on the ground floor as they all face the pool and the beach. Ou r room was outstanding really big with our own patio facing the pool. We had a tour guide for our first week and is was sad to say goodbye as he was great. His name was Siri he was brilliant he definitely made our holiday. He took us to places where there were no tourists we saw the real Sri Lanka meh tailored our trip to,suit us. You tell him where you wants to go, what you want to see and what star hotel you want to stay in. He will tell you how much before you come to Sri Lanka Check out my review on Ella Gap Panorama Hotel.his contact details are. Premasiri Dabare siridab@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaidenheadBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
8.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,519 reviews
24.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#4 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $95 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to our Bentota hotel, beach haven. Soak up colonial charm in nearby Galle. Laze by the ocean as AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa combines contemporary style with sun-filled days on the southwest coast. Spice up your appetite with local flavours. Sail gently through the mangroves for a relaxing afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing