We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for train spotting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Avani Bentota was supposed to be our luxury pleasure at the end of our 3 week tour of Sri Lanka. To be fair it is a decent enough place but certainly not the luxury we were expecting (and paid for). Food is at best basic and service in the bar area very slow. The trains running to the front of the hotel may not be of Clapham Junction proportions but the couple that run during the night woke us with their compulsory horn blowing.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms adjacent to the swimming pools have very little privacy. Rooms further away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently stayed at this Hotel for what was supposed to be a very special but short vacation of one week. The Hotel itself is small but quite nice with two pools, Bentota beach is wonderful but be prepared to be hassled by vendors. Breakfast at the Hotel is average for this type of hotel. The rooms are OK and the view from the balconies is great, however the balconies are not screened on the sides, so there is no privacy! We ate at the Frangipani Thai restaurant on one occasion, the portions are very small and if you like authentic Thai food you will not find it there!
Unfortunately during our stay there was a two day event on the beach at the Hotel, the level of noise was deafening, with loudspeakers blearing and music playing all day with the base turned to max! I found myself reading the same page of my book five times at one point.... In the end we had to leave the Hotel and go to the Amal Restaurant further up the beach and rent some deck chairs on the beach for some peace and tranquility! The party continued well into the night on both days, on the first night it ended at 2:00am and the second night at 4:30am! So we had very little sleep and then of course the train goes by at around 5:00am and wakes you up again.
We did complain, it would have been good to be informed when we made our reservation that this event was going on and we then would have chosen a different hotel / location. I do not pay $250 per night and then find myself unable to relax at the Hotel (being forced by the sheer noise to go elsewhere) and not get any sleep because of the noise level! Needless to say the Guest Relations person was less than useless, offering a change of room, just as noisy and right next to reception on the ground floor. When we asked what they were going to do about it they said: The event is organized by the government and they apparently had a notice on their web site (excuse me but the event was held on Avani ground and catered for by Avani)! And then a shoulder shrug! Very professional staff Avani, congratulations! We did not even receive an apology from the management..... Or maybe a complementary meal.... or maybe a discount of two days of sheer hell.
As far as the train noise is concerned, may people say they do not hear it, unfortunately we did, it was very loud waking us up every morning 5:00am ish... I took a video of our room whilst the train was passing and will be posting it on you tube so that people can judge for themselves.

Room Tip: Away from the Avani!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DubaiIce07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at AVANI 6 nights. And to make long story short here are outcomes:
1. good value for what you paid
2. rooms are good. The only problem is bed sheets and towels. Extremely old, like 1000 times washed
3. territory is not very big but fine. Please note that there is no private beaches at Sri Lanka. Thus. You will find some non-hotel residents swiming nearby you. Sea is great! Do not expect any underwater life. Big waves. But lovely. Local traders always are infront of you offering souvenirs, bananas or sighseeing services.
4. food - 2 restaurants and 1 bar. Very limited menu options. Variety at breakfast is big, however nothing much to eat (at least for those of you, who travel a lot and to smart places). Everyday we had only panckakes. eggs and bread... There is buffet at lunch time. Not bad. Bar, which offers mainly daytime snacks and salads - very small number of meals. Thai restaurant - very tasty but very limited menu.
5. Service - very friendly!
6. Bear in mind - it takes you more than 2 hours to get to hotel from airport
7. SPA - it is not a massage! Even if it is 50 USD only...

I do not expect to go to Sri Lanka again. However, if I would, then I could consider this hotel for the second time stay.

Room Tip: take a deluxe room at ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crocusaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels i ever been to, it is located in front the beach and you can see the awesome waves from your room class doors.
The Staff are very friendly and helpful, they are welling to arrange almost any kind of activity/services you need. the Spa & Gym is served by well-experienced professional staff each have a great work history. the food is Indian style with international twist. it is great place for any type of travelers who look for relaxation and enjoyment.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AK-Abouasleba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is the new and improved Serendib hotel at Bentota. Our experience of Serendib at Kalutara was alright but in its new form as Avani, this certainly exceeded our expectations.

The property is on the beach so the walk to the beach is literally just two minutes from the room. The room itself was spacious and every room has a view of the sea/beach, so it is an absolute delight in the mornings and at sunset. They have two pools and great poolside service and we spent most of our time either on the beach or at the pool.

Greeting on arrival is very nice and the staff engage you but not in a pushy way. Check and check out were fast. Service of the pool staff was very good too.

I think the only limitation is the food menu which is very limited for room service and poolside service. Food at Frangipani, one of their restaurants was very good but its a little confusing that its Thai and not local Sri Lankan food. The dinner buffet was very forgettable but the breakfast spread is great.

In spite of that, we'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone else who'd like to go too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Preeti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The old Serendib Hotel renamed as it came under the supervision of a Thai group. Rooms much improved and are really good with their sea view. Equipped adequately with good beds and a good bathroom. The Thai influence on the restaurant side is not positive.

Disappointing food service, not so much the food but the lack of staff to ensure good service. If you want coffee at breakfast be prepared to wait. You will need time for chasing for a table, having it set up, and then try ordering something. Evening food is plentiful, but equipment to eat it is not.

The Bar/Coffee Lounge needs a lot of improvement, particularly the snacks. Menu was to be changed just after we left.

Management is trying hard to improve, hopefully they will have succeeded

Room Tip: There are larger rooms available, ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyril-Mundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We loved our stay at the Avani Bentota. We stayed for 5 nights towards the end of our holiday for a bit of luxury before we flew home. It was exactly that - pure luxury. From the welcome drink and cool face towel on arrival to the helpful staff carrying our bags and giving us a take away breakfast for our early 4am check out. The pool was the perfect setting and the room and view from our balcony was just perfect. The food was excellent with lots of choice and the staff couldn't do more to assist you.

The hotel is a bit on the pricey side but as there isn't much in Bentota it's a good idea to spend a bit more on a luxury hotel and get the most out of it.

The beach is lovely, although it is fairly quiet and you wont find many bar/restaurants outside of the hotels. The good thing about the beach was you couldnt see any of the resorts/hotels from the beach.

Our only complaint regarding this is some of the 'rich' guests were rude to the staff (clicking fingers etc).

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LauraS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
8.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,535 reviews
24.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $86 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to our Bentota hotel, beach haven. Soak up colonial charm in nearby Galle. Laze by the ocean as AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa combines contemporary style with sun-filled days on the southwest coast. Spice up your appetite with local flavours. Sail gently through the mangroves for a relaxing afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing