We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed 7 nights in January in a party of five adults. Rooms are fantastic and so is the location. My brother-in-law is very well travelled and he said is was the best beach hotel he has ever stayed at. Staff were amazingly friendly and the food in the buffet restaurant was lovely. Only downside was one of the staff in the spa and massage rooms was giving stones to a young boy throw at a little cat which has adopted the hotel as his home.I complained about this and hope fully it won't happen again. Also the laundry service is not very efficient. My sister's socks came back different colours and they lost my T.Shirt. they said they would courier it to me so hopefully they will. Entertainment in the evening could be improved. Its great there were few children as it made for peace and quiet. Go next door to Bentota beach if you have kids! Can't wait to return to this beautiful hotel and can future visitors please feed the little cat that visits the bar area and sleeps in a tree nearby, He is the cutest little cat!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Spent 6 nights at the end of our holiday here and it certainly did the trick relaxing us .

Standard rooms are pretty good. Our top floor room was on the small side but had a cracking view on the balcony.

Food was good and varied but wine is a little over priced.

Hotel is right on the beach that is very quite and relaxing.

Housekeeping were a slow and not that observant but this is my only real negative.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank GWMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

7 nights in Avani with my husband. All staff friendly, polite, hard working. Special thanks to f&b manager who helped us with endless requests for special meals.The beach itself is what brought us to Avani. Perfectly clean, soft sand no need for shoes. During our trip Jan.22-28 the sea was calm rolling waves, no strong currents. Most of the other guests were older couples maybe just timing. There are two male therapists at the spa who do the best massage. Pool is clean with no deep part so an adult can stand anywhere. Having been to Bentota twice before we know alot of the beach sellers so had no problems. The new tourism system where each hotel has a group of men at the beach who wear special shirts means you can safely book tours. I highly recommend Suliya who is honest and reliable.

Room Tip: Room 131 is a stand alone bungalow suite. Private wooden deck just steps from the beach. Huge king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacati0n_happiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I red almost all the reviews before booking the hotel and it was more than wonderful. From the Moment you enter the Property you’ll see lot of smiling faces and greetings all around. The hotel is open to natural Air unlike other hotels. You’ll feel fresh air and peace of mind as soon as you enter the hotel.

All the staff was very friendly and they treat you with a big smile every time you see. That’s one high-point of this hotel which I liked the most. We booked a deluxe Room which was very spacious. Honestly I was surprise to see a huge room. I mean it was HUGE..! Bathroom was nice and bath products are the best. There was nothing to complain. Balcony and the sea view was icing on the cake.
Restaurant by the second pool was good. They serve good food, but have to mention they need to put more effort on adding more verity for dinner. Once I had grilled fish for dinner which was very dry and greecy. Loved the salad bar and the desert section which was delicious.

Spa was great, a must visit …! Service is fantastic, makes you feel relax and makes you feel you are on a holiday..! 
Overall Avani Bentota is an ideal place to relax, it offers you lots of privacy, Comfort, a peaceful mind and a Big Smile ….!

Lack of food variety is a big drawback

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rizoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wonderfully located with a serene atmosphere. Not to be missed - Avani Bentota is the ideal location for honeymooning couples! You can see the beach from most of the rooms. The view is scintillating. Just relax and enjoy the nature. The services are excellent and the rooms are really big. Very comfortable and cozy. The staff are warm and kind-natured. They are friendly and understand your requirements.
Excellent breakfast and dinner spread!
It is definitely expensive, but its worth every penny! A not to be missed experience in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: State your requirements to the hotel staff and they will arrange for an ideal room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I would like to mention before i begin, we visited this hotel back in November 2012, just haven't gotten round to submitting a review, felt compelled to do it now after having read a review posted by 'xerophytic' who must have stayed at a different hotel from this one judging by his comments as they no-way reflect the general feeling of this hotel.
When deciding on which hotel to stay in on this stretch of coast in Sri Lanka, read many reviews of different hotels before deciding on the Avani. The standard of service was absolutely superb, from the moment we checked in to the moment we left. The staff were a great credit to the hotel. I would like to single out Deepthi (naughty lady) who always seemed to be on duty in the breakfast restaurant, nothing was ever too much trouble. The reception staff again, always willing to help. I had a number of questions regarding train travel during our stay, they proved invaluable. Ah, the trains, they really aren't a problem even though the line is close to the rear of the hotel. It is always possible to request a room at the front of the hotel if you believe it may disturb you. We stayed in room 203, couldn't fault it.
There are many local restaurants worth a visit, just ask the tuk-tuk drivers stationed close to the hotel, they are very cheap and always willing to help.
We will certainly return to this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaineandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Ideal for those who are either hearing impaired, or oblivious to EXTREME sound pollution.
Also a great choice for those who wish to spot MULTIPLE species of cockroaches in their room.

POSITIVES:
A swimmable beach.
A maze of rooms- must be fun for kids.
Fragrant designer toiletries.
A spa- for those so inclined.
Free wifi {so-so connection} in the room.

NEGATIVES:
A deisel railroad passes just a couple of metres from the rooms. Because there is no soundproofing; the rooms literally shake when the trains pass. Diminished service only btwn. 12AM & 5AM.
Lack of carpeting allows screeching sounds of furniture being moved around next door. Also non-insulated doors, slam shut around the clock.
Not for those who are squeamish about giant cockroaches. Several disgusting roaches, of different species, were similarly spotted after dark.
Don't drink the water- that's all I can say.
Overpriced for the poor quality of rooms.
Considering the inexpensive land & cheap labour here, the rooms should be much bigger & well- appointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
8.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,536 reviews
24.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#4 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $38 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to our Bentota hotel, beach haven. Soak up colonial charm in nearby Galle. Laze by the ocean as AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa combines contemporary style with sun-filled days on the southwest coast. Spice up your appetite with local flavours. Sail gently through the mangroves for a relaxing afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing