We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Saman Villas(Bentota)
$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$100
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mihin Villa(Bentota)(Great Value!)
$20
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Susanthas(Bentota)(Great Value!)
$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$69
$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$66
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,615)
Filter reviews
1,615 results
Traveler rating
803
538
177
55
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
803
538
177
55
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreeze restaurantfrangipani restaurantchatters barsri lankasuperior rooma la carte restaurantgreat beachdinner buffetthe ground floorspecial thankspool staffpalm treesfront officetrain linerelaxing holidayrestaurant staffseafood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,239 - 1,244 of 1,615 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I would like to mention before i begin, we visited this hotel back in November 2012, just haven't gotten round to submitting a review, felt compelled to do it now after having read a review posted by 'xerophytic' who must have stayed at a different hotel from this one judging by his comments as they no-way reflect the general feeling of this hotel.
When deciding on which hotel to stay in on this stretch of coast in Sri Lanka, read many reviews of different hotels before deciding on the Avani. The standard of service was absolutely superb, from the moment we checked in to the moment we left. The staff were a great credit to the hotel. I would like to single out Deepthi (naughty lady) who always seemed to be on duty in the breakfast restaurant, nothing was ever too much trouble. The reception staff again, always willing to help. I had a number of questions regarding train travel during our stay, they proved invaluable. Ah, the trains, they really aren't a problem even though the line is close to the rear of the hotel. It is always possible to request a room at the front of the hotel if you believe it may disturb you. We stayed in room 203, couldn't fault it.
There are many local restaurants worth a visit, just ask the tuk-tuk drivers stationed close to the hotel, they are very cheap and always willing to help.
We will certainly return to this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaineandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Ideal for those who are either hearing impaired, or oblivious to EXTREME sound pollution.
Also a great choice for those who wish to spot MULTIPLE species of cockroaches in their room.

POSITIVES:
A swimmable beach.
A maze of rooms- must be fun for kids.
Fragrant designer toiletries.
A spa- for those so inclined.
Free wifi {so-so connection} in the room.

NEGATIVES:
A deisel railroad passes just a couple of metres from the rooms. Because there is no soundproofing; the rooms literally shake when the trains pass. Diminished service only btwn. 12AM & 5AM.
Lack of carpeting allows screeching sounds of furniture being moved around next door. Also non-insulated doors, slam shut around the clock.
Not for those who are squeamish about giant cockroaches. Several disgusting roaches, of different species, were similarly spotted after dark.
Don't drink the water- that's all I can say.
Overpriced for the poor quality of rooms.
Considering the inexpensive land & cheap labour here, the rooms should be much bigger & well- appointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights starting on the 9th January 2013. We arrived on a public bus from Tissamahara and from the entrance of the hotel to the rooms, the place is beautiful. The welcome was warm with a cold drink and a wet towel. Checkin was easy and we were in our room within 5 mins. We were in a 'Deluxe room' bed and breakfast on the first floor with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea (all rooms have sea views).

The room was huige, must have been 60+ sq meters. Havig been renovated in Dec 2011 the place still looked spotless and there were the odd few men walking around paiting little corners where they looked the slightest off color. Very good maintenance. The bathrom was amazing, glass walls so you can lie in the bath and see the sea. The bed was huge and great AC, very stylish.

The breakfast buffes was great, lots of fresh fruit as you expect, waffela dn pancakes as well as local currys etc. The beach was beautiful and the sea had nice waves but was the warmest i have ever experienced, almost like a bath! Perfect.

The drinks and lunch menue were all a good price so we didnt have to second think if we wantee a cocktail (hint - try the fresh coconut milk for just 1 euro, we had over 25 in 9 days and 4 days of those they were out of stock :)))). The cocktails were also great.

We only ate in the Frangipani restaurant, very chique but lovely service. The food was the best in sri lanka, we were very impressed indeed and the prices were also very good.

We used the spa 6/7 times for massages and my girlfriend a facial, the massages were good,m the facial (she said) was not as good as back home in europe considering the similar price level.

This place comes highly recommended from us.

Oh, there is a train track close by, and you can hear it in your room and on the beach when it sounds its horn, but we got used to it quickly, dont be put off by it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D8ost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for just over 2 weeks October/Nov.outstanding is the word that springs to mind.The service was excellent and the room was superb absolutley loved the location for anyone wishing to go i would reccomend paying that little bit extra for the superior room,but no matter which room you have,you are sure to get a good nights sleep as the pillows and bed Where second to none.Friendly tuk tuk drivers are available right outside the reception and very cheap.The staff could not do enough to make you welcome.See you later in the year and thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are the best if you like squirrels,very friendly
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a week at the Hotel ideal for trips to various places . The staff couldn't do enough for us , town only 5 min walk . Sea warm a great pick me up . Great fun traveling round on tuke tukes to and from resteraunts if you like fish you will think your in heaven .

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clint58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews