We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service! An amazing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service! An amazing stay!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Avani in August of this year for a week. Because we are from Australia, the overseas guest rate was a little expensive but we had the most amazing stay. Best of all was the service provided to us, nothing was too much for them. I was unfortunately completing some reports during my holiday and I needed some material printed...when their guest printer failed they tried several others and in the end allowed me to use their staff printer. The food was incredible, there was always a wide variety for all three meals. The staff we encountered were incredibly kind and generous. Even the cleaners were so friendly. The rooms were smaller than we expected but were well designed and clean. Ohhh n we LOVED the pool! Overall our stay was fantastic!!! Two thumbs up Avani! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    465
    157
    44
    34
See reviews for
449
599
48
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks in June and had a lovely time. Great Location. The hotel was very welcoming. The room we booked was a Deluxe room, very nice. It was huge with a beautiful sea view. Very cosy and the lighting was perfect. Lovely balcony and two french doors on each end. Clean and comfortable. Housekeeping did a great job and kept everything stocked up.

The staff were very accommodating and friendly for the most part. Room service was good also. The staff at the bar were awesome and we couldn't give them enough praise. We had a romantic meal on the beach with candles and the whole 9 yards. It's lovely to sit by the surf while being served your evening food and wine surrounded by candles.

The scenery is beautiful. Lovely palms everywhere. Every morning you can watch one of the local workers climb the trees and express the alcohol from the flowers of the coconut palms called "Toddy" or "Arak" (Very potent drink with care).

There's a huge beach stretching all the way down to a hill\small mountain (???). On top of the hill is a Buddhist Temple. It's hidden away and you could miss it but it's very peaceful go if you can. Make sure you dress properly to go, you don't want to walk all the way up the beach only to be denied access because you're not covered up properly. Men wear beach pants that go below the knee and ladies need to make sure they are covered - No swimwear.

The Spa is great, had the works done and felt wonderful afterwards. It's hard to fault a Spa that pampers you. It was very serene and relaxing and the ladies that work there know their stuff. Well worth the money.

There are tuk-tuk's outside the hotel and they'll take you anywhere you need to go. Always pleasant people but make sure you nail down a price before they take you anywhere. They also do tours make sure you have a price from them for that as well. They will take you to some really fascinating places but in the end they are hoping you buy something from the places you visit.

They have a turtle conservation area close by. The turtle hatchery is just down the road from the resort and worth a visit. You can see them from 1 week old to fully grown. The babies are released into the sea at certain ages.

If you dive make sure you are there at the right time of year. There are two diving seasons in Sri Lanka. Between November and April is the best time to dive on the west coast and May - October on the east coast.

Our one big problem we had with the place was that halfway through the holiday we were asked to go to reception to settle our bill because, I think, they thought it was getting too high. It was pretty annoying and we've never had that happen to us. Still to this day not sure what that was about but we did feel hassled by this and it did spoil the mood quite a lot. after that we felt we had to watch what we were spending.

Unfortunately we left relieved to be going home (not normal for us). We would have given it a 3 1/2, obviously you can't :-) Compared to the places we have been this is somewhere on the bottom of the ladder. I think we would choose another location if we returned.

All in all we had a good time and enjoyed our stay. We met lovely people and have great memories.

Room Tip: Get a Deluxe Room. They all face the sea, they're private and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bloozydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Avani Bentota for a week after a short tour around Sri Lanka. We approached the hotel over the railway crossing but although the trains went all through the night and sounded their horns as they approached, you soon got used to it and anyway, as the train line seems to run a long way up the coast, most other beach hotels would be the same.
The hotel itself is very nice, rooms comfortable and good size. All rooms nicely situated with a good view of the pools and gardens. Lovely beach area and beautiful sunsets. What seemed to be lacking was the service. There were plenty of staff ( who were all very pleasant) but they were just ineffective. In-room toiletries (and even the tea and coffee on our last day) were not replaced and nor were toilet rolls if you used more than your allocation (and that applied to public areas too). The bar snacks were not consistent in either matching the description on the menu (bacon missing from club sandwich, chutney served with samosas rather than chilli sauce on the menu) or quantity - one day 6 samosas, the next day 5. Asking for a lime juice was a farce, they would either bring you lime and soda (which was more expensive) or a very watered down squash like drink, but always try to overcharge you.
We had stomach issues over the duration of our stay ( they may have been brought with us from previous hotels - they disappeared as soon as we returned home though). What I did not like in the restaurant was to see the same tongs being used to cook the bacon in the morning both handling the raw and cooked meat - recipe for disaster. Also, although the food in the buffet was varied and you could always find something you liked on the menu, on more than one occasion it had not been heated through before being put in the food warmers, another recipe for disaster in that climate.
I felt it was a real shame that these issues existed. With staff training it would be so easy to put right and then the hotel would deserve it's 4*.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VeronicaHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our stay at the Avani, Bentota last week was most enjoyable notwithstanding more than the odd unseasonable [?] downpour. Everybody at the hotel was very friendly and our superior room with sea view was great with the pool was a mere 10 yard stroll from the terrace. The two guys servicing the room were very cheerful and helpful, as were all tyhe staff. We went a la carte the first night; it took 6 phone calls to even get sight of the menu [minor irritation] but then there was no mullet/snapper - all the available fish were apparently too small. The only other problem was a bunch of kids running around the restaurant during the meal - the hotel could probably sort that by moving the childrens play area a little further away.

The two hotels immedialety south of the Avani [The Turf and The Taj] were undergoing refurbishment but nonetheless we strolled down the road between them and the railway track and found a restaurant called Mallis right next to the railway station less than 5 minutes away. After negotaiting past 4 small but lively puppies as we crossed the tracks, we gorged on fresh seafood there the second night - I got my mullet here and it was no tiddler! Its certainly worth a look for something a little different in modern surroundings with the occasional train for added atmosphere ........ and we welcomed the change from the hotel buffet and/or rice and curry after our 3 weeks touring, [and its not just seafood].

Room Tip: The Superior rooms are on the ground floor for quick pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VarnPotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have two kids aged 16 and 12 and took two double rooms at the Avani. The resort is a minute off the old Colombo Galle highway and the only thing that separates it from Bentota Beach is the lawn.

Check in was quick and efficient, each of us was given a cool drink while formalities were completed. The rooms are neat and functional (just not very large) and the toilets are very good. The beds are very comfortable and the linen is spotlessly clean...full marks for house-keeping. Each room comes equipped with a large panel TV which has movies pre-loaded onto it so the kids were able to entertain themselves.

There are two entrances to each room, the main entrance is off the lobby area while the other door opens onto a patio with two deck chairs. These look out onto the lawn. The resort has two pools both of which were excellent, if a little heavily chlorinated.

One of the pools abuts the breakfast area. Breakfast is a fairly elaborate affair and there is something for almost every palate. We had guests from England, Australia as well as Iran along with us and every seemed pretty happy with whatever was on offer!

Of course, the main attraction is the beach and this is excellent. It's clean, the sand is powdery soft but the water can get a bit rough at times, so people would be advised not to leave their kids unattended.

There are deck chairs/sun beds placed discreetly around the lawn and under the palm trees so if you want to spend a lazy afternoon, listening to the roar of the ocean while you watch the squirrels at play before you doze off into oblivion, nothing better.

While we were there we also ate out at the Aida restaurant across the road and Wonder Bar (or is that Wunderbar?) which is a covered teakwood terrace restaurant which looks out onto some greenery and the ocean. Please note that any exploration of the surrounding treats necessitates having transportation at your disposal.

In summation: the Avani is not cheap but it's certainly worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have just returned from the Avani Bentota on 22 October after 3 fantastic weeks in paradise. We went to this hotel be default as our original hotel Avani Kalutara was not open in time. We were a bit apprehensive on arrival as this hotel was not featured in Virgin Holidays brochure so we thought we may not get the 'rockstar' treatment as they say! We were not disappointed, having visited the other hotel to see location, style etc during a night out at the red lobster restaurant in Kalutara it was not as good a location etc as the Bentota one so we were pleased as we had got a better deal. The Bentota hotel is built in a lovely setting and style is relaxed and low key it has the railway line at the back and the beach 100 yards from your balcony, you can almost feel the spray from the waves whilst sitting on balcony. The noise from the railway just adds to the ambience that is Sri Lanka. The food in the restaurant was excellent quality at all times, although the best meal of the day was breakfast, fresh omelettes, eggs, proper bacon, hienze beans or at least they tasted the same, fresh fruit, bread etc etc. At each evening meal there were fresh carved joints of beef or pork, an array of curries, pastas, rice, international dishes and the best array of fancy cakes and fruit that I have ever seen anywhere - and I have travelled extensively around the world - where all cakes normally taste the same but these ones did not they were very tasty. I would like to make a special mention of Deepthi the lady in the restaurant she can not do enough for you. The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard, the shower in the room was fantastic and always plenty of hot water, the pools were always checked for cleanliness and the pool man was great getting you sun beds every day whether you wanted them in the trees or around the pool and you only had to ask and they would give you clean towels. The grounds of the hotel were lovely and do not be afraid to venture out for meals and to explore. We visited many restaurants for dinner in town, golden grill, Serena villa, alma etc to name but a few and all the food was excellent quality and you must try the ginger beer it is delicious and refreshing drink. The only thing to be aware of is the mosquito men (creeping death) we called them, they follow you as soon as you leave the hotel grounds so beware after they have walked with you for a while and they talk to you about Sri Lanka they expect to be paid - just tell them it is your second visit to Sri Lanka and they will leave you alone. The tuk tuk are a great way to get around and cheap too - do not pay more than 200 rupees to go anywhere local. Do the walk along the beach - turn right and walk along to the end where the temple is on the island, pay 200 rupees to cross the river then walk to main road head right through the town back to Bentota - it takes about an hour but is a lovely walk. Try also turning left on hotel beach and head over the rocks eventually to alma restaurant where you can sit on beach and enjoy a cold beer. You can also get a tuk tuk to the alma restaurant (200 rupees) then walk back along beach. Use the man with the green fancy tuk tuk outside the hotel entrance he is great and will wait for you each day to take you wherever you want to go. Do not miss the grilled fresh prawns at the alma restaurant (£9) for 2 people including rice, salad, garlic bread - excellent value. The spa in the hotel is very good although our treatments were free as compensation for the hotel change so not sure how much they would have been. If you want to go on a tour do not book with travel company as it is expensive, we pre booked in Uk with Red Lobster restaurant and tours which was great value for a 4 day tour, we visited Pinewalla, Sigyiria, Kandy, Tea Plantations, Yala (where we saw the leopard) and Galle, all hotels were excellent quality and the food provided and papa PatricK and his son Shayen did us proud. (£1000 inclusive for 4 people - excellent value). We also visited their restaurant in Kalutara for a seafood feast - this was delicious and great value 12000 rupees for the meal (£60) this was for 4 people - seafood platter, 2 lobsters, plate of grilled king prawn, rice, salad, curries, fruit, 8 beers and then 3000 rupees (£15) for the travel from Bentota to Kalutara return.
All in all I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone - we would definately visit again we loved the hotel and Sri Lanka - fantastic holiday was had by all.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Corbetts23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The location of the hotel is idyllic - right on the beach, and both hotel and grounds were very well kept. Room was very comfortable, although it was at the top of a very steep and quite narrow flight of stairs, which would have made things extremely difficult for anyone with even a slight disability. Hotel was booked solid when we arrived, so if there had been a problem, there was no alternative. Food was okay-ish, very inconsistent, and rarely what was printed on the menu! A dish that was great one night woud be dreadful a few days later, so presumably the quality depended on which chef was on duty. In general, the staff were very friendly and helpful; the exception being the accounts dept.. Three times they tried to bill us again for the taxi from the airport to the hotel which had been paid in advance ( no small amount - $120 ) and we're still waiting for an apology. There were also a couple of food or drink charges which weren't ours, so check your bill!
One thing that is not mentioned in the hotel's publicity is the fact that the railway line is quite literally a stones throw away, and runs all night. The hotel sits between a level crossing and the station, and the trains sound their horns as they approach. This can be quite disturbing at three in the morning, and sometimes sounded like the fast train was coming in the bathroom window!
We love Sri Lanka and will definitely be back, but I don't think we'll return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DesertIslandDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 24 in Bentota
825 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
8.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Property: AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing