We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bad staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
colomno
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very bad staff”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

we are second time time stay in this hotel , first time we are arrived very good well come because the manager is german ,20-09-2012. second time we are arrived every thing is change the hotel staff , and the manager , we are stay more the 45 minute get the room ,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    472
    159
    44
    34
See reviews for
461
604
48
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Avani Bentota was perfect for us to relax for a few days and we didnt want to leave. It is clean, spacious, quiet, architectually designed and with 2 beautiful pools. The balconies looked out over the pool to the beach which is great for walking. The staff here were some of the best in Sri Lanka - (that is really saying something !!) and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast in the pool side open restaurant was delicious with many Sri lankan and western choices. As we there there for a special occasion we had dinner on the beach - that was really something with the best food and service. It is an easy walk into town and head across the bridge on Mondays to the travelling food market - great array of fresh food stalls. We also got some great buy shirts, scarves and tops at the shops here. Catch the train down to Balipitya for a river cruise - amazing experience - or go further down to Galle. There are some good restaurants across railway line from hotel too - use walk bridge. Also stop and say hello to the lifeguards at the life saving club - so proud of what they do. Hopefully we can get back to Avani Bentota in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peachie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I loved it here. Rooms are comfortable, modern design, comfy pillowy white duvets and I think everyone gets a balcony to gaze at the sea - awesome.

Loved the well thought out design of the place - really open, bright and makes the most of the beautiful sea and beach.

Breakfast was included and had good choices - everything you expect from a 4-5 star place great pastries, local fruits, omelette station and attentive free flowing coffee service.

Have recommended this place already to some friends planning on visiting Sri Lanka. We will definitely be back too

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelernyc168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

After a punishing trip to the mountains and Columbo we were at breaking point. Hotels had been some of the worst. We arrived expecting the worst but Avani was just perfect and the wounds of previous travel disappeared quickly.

Architecturally designed property is modern, clean and great quality. The rooms make you not want to leave. The pool atmosphere and sea view will remain with you for years to come.

Be patient with the staff. They want to excel but as with all of Sri Lanka they don't have the completeness of service or training you would normally expect.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithsd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Mostly good things to say about staff, hotel, room, etc. Staff struggled when hotel/restaurant was full. Family tables booked in restaurant which meant regular guests had to eat outside with little lighting - I like to see the food I am eating!!! However that happened on only one occasion on buddhist holiday - be sure to avoid it if you can; it happens every month on full moon. Hotel managers tend to avoid conflict of any kind so if you have a problem it becomes more annoying as it is difficult to discuss. Overall though had lovely time. Sri Lankans are very friendly and this includes staff of this hotel. Would go back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here at the end of our Sri Lanka holiday. Not a good start when we were told that the twin bedded room we had booked was not available; in fact they had no twin bedded rooms at all, all rooms have a queen size bed only! After a lot of 'haggling' we managed to be allocated a larger room that could allocate a second bed, even then only a single temporary bed was offered and it took a lot more talking before we were finally settled. All that after an eight hour car journey to reach the hotel!!
The room was eventually lovely, clean and airy.
The beach is beautiful,very few beach traders here, with sunsets to die for!
The staff were friendly and helpful.
But the food was really not good with little choice out side the hotel.
There is a lot of wasted/under used space in this hotel and so much more could have been offered to their guests. I certainly do not think it deserves its four stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel few months ago and we liked it so we decided to go back.When we arrived we were asked to seat on a sofa where we were abandoned.In the mean time a small group arrived and they were immediately welcome with soft drinks and fresh towels,two gentleman arrived and received the same attention...we were ignored! There were two women supposed to welcome guests,a thin one was supposed to look after us but the only thing she did was to fill the information sheet.When she decided to accompany us to the room I asked why we had not received the same welcome as other guests,she looked almost surprised and babbled "sorry". I complained then with the manager who was not able to give me a proper reply but apologised. He also offered to upgrade us to full board but as I had already had a disappointing experience at another hotel(where the manager invited us for lunch then sent us the bill) I refused and decide to stay 1 instead of 3 days. We had several ants along the basin as there were holes in the wall,same around fridge and one also on my tablemat at breakfast time

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ennio36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#7 of 25 in Bentota
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
8.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Property: AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing