We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really good hotel, beautiful location and good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A really good hotel, beautiful location and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in September 2012.

Good check in, made to feel welcomed.

Room was nicely appointed, great view of the beach and pool. Large TV in room and free wifi throughout hotel.

Dinner in the a la carte restaurant was decent, nice food and good service. Bar was so relaxing - ideal for a gin and tonic watching the sun go down.

Two pools at this hotel, both nice but the bigger one was much better.

The only things which let this hotel down were noisy cleaning staff early in the morning and a very slow check out. We also asked for help with our luggage but no one came.

Overall a really good hotel. Would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    432
    147
    42
    31
See reviews for
406
555
42
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I enjoyed a relaxing time at Avani Bentota with relaxing beach views, two pools and a spa.The food was lovely and the service very good. The rooms were spacious and very comfortably furnished with modern fittings and smart TVs. Staff were very attentive and friendly. They even set up a special beachside dinner for us.

I also had a lovely massage at the spa which was a treat.

Excellent value for the price. Four star comfort at affordable cost. Would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: There are wo types of rooms. The deluxe rooms are much larger than the standard. Several on ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

After a week travelling across Sri Lanka and its cultural sights, the Avani Bentota was the perfect way to end a trip in relaxation and style. The sunbeds by the pool and under the palm trees are definately rewarding. The staff is really friendly and the food is far better than any other hotel we tried in Colombo, Kandy, Nuwara Eliya and elsewhere in the country. Don't be intimidated and explore the beach in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christoschatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

3 nights with family (wife and kids ages 6 & 3).
The GOOD: Excellent service...we had to leave early in the morning (6am) so they opened their kitchen and breakfast service early that day (we were a family group of 4 adults and 4 kids), staff attended to all the needs of our fussy children through the stay, fantasic beach...slightly rough but exhalerating as beaches should be, lovely swimming pools...especially the kiddy section, good breakfast, nice excursions/water sports. The hotel was designed by Jeffery Bawa...one of Sri Lanka's most renowed architects and it shows...it has a really chilled out atmostphere. Best of all, it wasn't swarming with people. Excellent value for money.
The BAD: An average Spa for what we paid and we couldn't get the time we wanted our massages. It has only two restaurants, an A La Carte restuarant which is overpriced (as all resort restaurants are). Steaks were below average. The buffet restaurant had some good local Sri Lankan food and the standard intercontinental fare.
The UGLY: None.

Room Tip: Any room facing the inner courtyards or any rooms facing the sea, all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Supershahram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

One of my best holidays, Srilanka has been the dream destination. We visited SL in 2009 and stayed at this hotel. Let me at the outset say- this place is a bliss. It exactly on the beach and most of the rooms have beach view. The hotel was that time known as 'Serendib Beach Resort'.

+ives- Rooms, service, food, location
_ive- nothing, absoultely nothing

Best season to travel SL is Sep- April, Guys go and have fun. Srilanka is the place to be.

Room Tip: Go for beach facing rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The service is really good .. it has a romantic feeling and view.. The hotel is about 3 hours away from the airport.. the food is nice.. the pool and beach areas are nice.. the spa wasn't really good though

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Excellent stay of 2 days during eid holidays in august. Clean big rooms, very comfy, lcd screens, nice views to the pool area, the beach in front of the hotel is stunning. Helpful and smiley staff. Didnt try the buffet, but the a
A carte restaurant is correct, without more.... Try going outside for some good curries or sea food. Bfast is scrumptious. Very recommended overall!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lampros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#8 of 30 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#4 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Property: AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Agoda so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing