We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 1st anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our 1st anniversary”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice and cozy hotel resort ; beautiful location by the beach.
Service leaves much to be desired but you can always resort to Executive chef Bjoern who made our stay memorable.
take a 15 min walk on the white sandy beach and you'll reach a nice seafood restaurant where they also support the sea turtle project.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    457
    157
    44
    34
See reviews for
442
591
48
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I've been to AVANI. My first stay, a few months ago, was great. My second stay, however, was horrible. We were put in a room at the far end of the resort. So then we decided to upgrade to a Deluxe room, thinking it would be a little cleaner. It was just as horrible. The floors and furniture surfaces were filthy, sticky food residue, smears, and footsteps all over. There were insects everywhere (ants, roaches, and even spiders).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alassfoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel has seriously bumped up their game since they reopened, service is excellent to locals as well, which is rare in most places now days. Food is average but the buffet is extensive.
The rooms are really clean a spacious. In my humble opinion if your looking for a relaxing holiday close to Colombo with great service & great surroundings, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Only been in the Deluxe room which is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niro curly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Was there in early august, service is great. you get a warm hospitality even from the gardener... rooms are comfortable & cozy... only thing is the quilt covers up to your chin, but cannot complain. buffet is a good spread with different varieties... didn't see any recycled food at the next meal.. you get a chance to play indoor games. the Gym is well equipped. its up to you to decide whether you need a relaxing holiday or otherwise.... since you can have both at the same time....!

Room Tip: rooms in pool side wing is a long walk from the restaurant... avoid if you not prefer walking after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amdu293962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
252 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Avani Bentota is a very nicely kept hotel in Bentota area. The location is good. The reception is warm and hospitable. The rooms are quite comfortable with large bathrooms and balconies opening throgh french windows to the lawn and the beach. The pool is clean and good. The buffet had a good spread and very nice. There is a nice indoor garden.
One can really enjoy Avani Bentota.

Room Tip: rooms facing the lawn on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRABHU60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a three night stay here at Avani, as part of our honeymoon in Sri Lanka. We upgraded to the suite which looked very comfortable, private and nicely decorated. Once we'd settled in, a few hours in, we noticed a strange smell coming from the bathroom. We asked maintenance to come three times over the next day, each time they would come, either run the tap, flush the toilet, but the smell never actually went away. In the end, we decided to just put up with the smell, as we didn't want to move again especially as we were only there for three nights. We were compensated for the inconvenience of the smell but it still affected our stay as we'd wanted a perfect suite which we'd paid quite a lot for. The service at meal times was a little slow and it seems like a lot of the waiter staff didn't actually know what we'd asked for. Food however was very good, buffets were tasty and there were quite a range of food. Overall, we would have had a lovely time if our suite was up to scratch...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was there with my kid last July, the room very spacious ,newly refurbished and the toilet very spacios and well designed, room was only 10 meters from the swimming pool which was really nice .The hotel leads straight to the beach where you can have nice walks and great fotos .
Free buffet with enough varieties and reasonable price, 2000 ruppies/person.
Very safe specially when you have kids with you.

Room Tip: Choose Ground floor room with direct access to swimming pool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mones75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
817 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
8.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Property: AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing