We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We moved to the Bentota Beach Hotel from the dissapointing Club Bentota for the final week of our Sri Lankan holiday. What we were looking for was a nice hotel with good quality rooms in nice grounds with good food - and this hotel seemed to tick all of those boxes. The grounds and design of the hotel being a Geoffrey Bawa creation are particularly impressive and although Keels the current owners have made numerous changes and modifications the original design of the building is still clearly discernable. The pool area and grounds are particularly impressive, rooms are well maintained and comfortable with superior rooms offering either a sea or lagoon view. Although the food was good but not outstanding my only real criticism was the main eating area itself which was brightly lit and quite tightly packed with tables very close to each other which resulted in a busy cafe feel rather than a subdued restaurant. As a result despite being on a half board package we did decide to eat out quite a bit and there are loads of great value quality restaurants nearby. The Aida over the road is particularly impressive. We also arranged a couple of trips with one of the beach boys Nehal a lovely man who I can't recommend highly enough. We went to to the Bevis Bawa Brief Garden which was a little dilapidated and thus dissapointing, the turtle hatchery and a riverboat safari. At one point I even left my camera at one of the temples at which point Nehal arranged for his team to row all the way back across the lagoon to get it for me!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ABECP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2007

I loved the surroundings and the choice of nearby venues for outings, eatings and the readiness of staff to guide and help. If i ever go back, i would stay there again without reservation!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

I use this site a lot so I thought it was time to give as well as take.

My wife and I just got back from Sri Lanka where we were booked into the Bentota Beach Hotel for 8 days R&R. We stayed there 2 nights and then moved on.

This is obviously a place for families with kids or octagenarians on an all-inclusive. If you're on a couples' trip hoping to experience some of the magic of Sri Lankan hospitality and culture then run a mile. It has all the charm of a motorway service station, a fact that really comes to light (literally) during the evening.

The main dining area is a brightly lit refectory-style room with all the charm of Alan Sugar with a grudge. If that's not bad enough the hovering waiters whip your plates away as the last mouthful leaves the table meaning dinner is over in about 30 minutes. Amazingly, the two nights we lasted had a Bar-B-Q and then, wait for it, Tex Mex food theme! We were wondering if we'd flown to the wrong continent?

You then had little alternative but to face the hotel's "evening'entertainment". If your idea of holiday heaven is a mixture of darts, bingo and pin the tail on the elephant all to the accompaniment of Maria Carey piped through an electronic organ then look no further.

The rooms are OK and the pool is a magnet for the kids but the problem with the hotel is that you feel you could be anywhere in the world where the sun shines in March. There's very little to remind you that you're in one of the most intoxicating countries on the planet and, to be honest, most people there didn't seem to care.

Having checked out we headed down to Galle to stay at the colonnial-style Galle Fort Hotel and then returned to Bentota for 2 nights at The Saman Villas. The Galle Fort Hotel in particular is stunning. Just ask for Carl and he'll take care of everything for you.

Lots of people at the Bentota Beach Hotel seemed to enjoy themselves, a fact supported by the comments on this site. However, as a regular user of the site I felt it was important to give some context to the feedback as the 5 star rating is, in my opinion, needs to be qualified. For me, it's like someone has transported Leicester Forest East to the sub-continent. Make your own judgement as to whether that's a good or a bad thing.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank JNHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

This hotel is fabulous.
The food is brilliant with excellent choices and fresh. Children love it as well.
The entertainment could be a little more but what they had was wonderful.
The rooms are stylish and clean and the added touches of the cleaners is lovely.
Although the weather was poor we enjoyed our time there.

We staff are the best I have ever experienced. They are polite, friendly and go out of their way to help you.

Super shiney star for the Bentota! xxxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank babyding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

After approx 20 hours of travelling (3 hours of them were to get to the hotel from the airport which is only 60km away) due to the roads been very busy and hectic. It was an experience, beeping horns, flashing lights, 5 abreast in a one way street with no road markings etc. It was mad, a white knuckle ride!

The hotel was very nice and our room especially was very large in size and had a lovely view of the river and lagoon area which we were getting married at. Our room however was a superior room so I would def book one of these (after talking to a few others in standard rooms on the ground floor, these were cold and damp but this was because they fell victim to the Tsunami which is not the hotels fault.

Our wedding day was perfect. Everything was arranged and all we had to do was turn up. The photos are lovely and very professional. The DVD of the ceremony was put together really good and the elephant ride was brill! The hotel even paid for me and my husband to have a massage on the onsite spa. They also decorated on our room with balloons etc which was a surprise. There is a salon at the hotel also so no worries lady, you can still get your hair and make up professionally done. For our evening reception, we choose to go on the boat and have a bbq meal. This was organised brilliantly and there was enough food to feed 90 people, there were only 9 of us!! The choice and quality were lovely also. I would recommend doing that.

The choice of watersports is excellent and cheap. The hotel and its grounds are brilliant. Pool is excellent and not salt water. Elephant lives on the grounds and he loves bananas! A ride on it will cost you about £5 but well worth it.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and extremely helpful and spoke good english. With regards to tipping, we left our tipping until our departure which we would recommend. They only earn £35 per month and are over the moon when you tip them a £1!!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank louise234_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2006

We were on honeymoon and were told we would be up graded on arrival, instead we were placed on the wing with the all inclusive guests in pretty standard accomodation "single beds" not really what you want on honeymoon! We had an immediate room change to one with a double bed! next day the loo would not flush and we were moved again to a twin room. the same night after playing merry hell with the under manager we were put in the honeymoon suite, altogether a different standard . Alas 2 days later they had a wedding party and we were moved again!!! 6 days and still we hadn't unpacked. On the plus side the staff were brilliant and friendly, the food was excellent and the hotel grounds superb. Outside of the hotel the locals were friendly but became a bit of a nuisance following us around and generally making us feel uncomfortable. Sri Lanka is a beautiful island but the infrastructre is a mess and getting anywhere by car is a terrifying experience. Thank god we visited Dubai for 4 days on the way home, altogether a more satisfying visit.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Lozberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank chunkychoccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
942 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $68 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing