We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2007

This hotel is fabulous.
The food is brilliant with excellent choices and fresh. Children love it as well.
The entertainment could be a little more but what they had was wonderful.
The rooms are stylish and clean and the added touches of the cleaners is lovely.
Although the weather was poor we enjoyed our time there.

We staff are the best I have ever experienced. They are polite, friendly and go out of their way to help you.

Super shiney star for the Bentota! xxxxxx

  • Liked — the exceptional staff
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank babyding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    507
    220
    93
    67
See reviews for
454
508
41
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2007

After approx 20 hours of travelling (3 hours of them were to get to the hotel from the airport which is only 60km away) due to the roads been very busy and hectic. It was an experience, beeping horns, flashing lights, 5 abreast in a one way street with no road markings etc. It was mad, a white knuckle ride!

The hotel was very nice and our room especially was very large in size and had a lovely view of the river and lagoon area which we were getting married at. Our room however was a superior room so I would def book one of these (after talking to a few others in standard rooms on the ground floor, these were cold and damp but this was because they fell victim to the Tsunami which is not the hotels fault.

Our wedding day was perfect. Everything was arranged and all we had to do was turn up. The photos are lovely and very professional. The DVD of the ceremony was put together really good and the elephant ride was brill! The hotel even paid for me and my husband to have a massage on the onsite spa. They also decorated on our room with balloons etc which was a surprise. There is a salon at the hotel also so no worries lady, you can still get your hair and make up professionally done. For our evening reception, we choose to go on the boat and have a bbq meal. This was organised brilliantly and there was enough food to feed 90 people, there were only 9 of us!! The choice and quality were lovely also. I would recommend doing that.

The choice of watersports is excellent and cheap. The hotel and its grounds are brilliant. Pool is excellent and not salt water. Elephant lives on the grounds and he loves bananas! A ride on it will cost you about £5 but well worth it.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and extremely helpful and spoke good english. With regards to tipping, we left our tipping until our departure which we would recommend. They only earn £35 per month and are over the moon when you tip them a £1!!

  • Liked — The garden areas to sunbathe
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank louise234_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2006

We were on honeymoon and were told we would be up graded on arrival, instead we were placed on the wing with the all inclusive guests in pretty standard accomodation "single beds" not really what you want on honeymoon! We had an immediate room change to one with a double bed! next day the loo would not flush and we were moved again to a twin room. the same night after playing merry hell with the under manager we were put in the honeymoon suite, altogether a different standard . Alas 2 days later they had a wedding party and we were moved again!!! 6 days and still we hadn't unpacked. On the plus side the staff were brilliant and friendly, the food was excellent and the hotel grounds superb. Outside of the hotel the locals were friendly but became a bit of a nuisance following us around and generally making us feel uncomfortable. Sri Lanka is a beautiful island but the infrastructre is a mess and getting anywhere by car is a terrifying experience. Thank god we visited Dubai for 4 days on the way home, altogether a more satisfying visit.

  • Liked — Food and staff
  • Disliked — Room standards
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lozberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

I and my partner have just returned from the Bentota Beach Hotel after 2 weeks, I have only good things to say about the hotel, the staff and the grounds.....

we decided to go B and B as we have had our fingers burnt with all inclusive deals before (bad food and miserly drinks measures) the food in the all inclusive buffet was superb and we actually paid to eat it several nights (not a patch on the golden grill round the corner which i can thouroughly recommend!)
The gardens and the rooms were immaculately maintained and the staff were some of the best I have ever come across in years of travelling, nothing was too much trouble!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone from honeymoon couples to familes.

We will be returning!

Nick

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank nderfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht,Holland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2006

We stayed here March 2006 and it was excellent. When you exit the airport watch out for the guys wanting dollars-Euros (and coins.. they save them up and ask you to change them in to notes!) The transfer was 3 1/2 hours which is nothing like the brochure stated of course, but then the roads are not great and the traffic consists of everything from the Ox and cart to the SUV! The hotel was lovely and the staff were 1st class. We changed rooms and paid a few dollars more to stay above the Tsunami damaged rooms. The food was great. Pool, the best I have ever seen at a hotel, the gardens beautiful... with an elephant, chipmunks, lizards and birds roaming! The beach huge and clean.... simply great!

Helpful?
16 Thank The-Osbornes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#8 of 30 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Property: Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#8 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing