We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Pune, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

As part of a group we were booked here for two nights. The resort is beautiful with a river to one side of the property and the beach on the other side, it is the perfect location for a holiday. Loads of activities for those who want an active holiday, and plenty of place for just lying under a tree with a cocktail in one hand and a book in the other. A nice swimming pool, a spa (which a friend certifies gave an excellent massage) and a good restaurant. The breakfast spread was huge.
I can honestly say that this was the best part of my Sri Lankan trip!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Bentota Beach Hotel.
Your recommendation will definitely encourage us to continue focusing on guest satisfaction at any time in the future.
Once again thank you for your sincere review and it’s a pleasure having you with us.
Look forward to welcoming you to Bentota Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    520
    228
    96
    70
See reviews for
478
525
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

On the last night of a week staying at the bentota beach hotel and the trip has been amazing. The room was decorated to a high standard and the turn down service every night adds something special... The food is amazing the hotel is worth a visit even if it is just for one of khan's naan bread or something from the desert table... The staff are attentive and are always willing to help and it's on the beach so you don't have far to walk at all! Overall I would happily stay here again and it gets a massive thumbs up from me!

Room Tip: Train is out back but it didn't bother us until friday night when it was a bit loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessiebm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your most recent experience while at the Bentota Beach Hotel.
Our special thanks to you for your lovely, praising words for our team members for their special caring of our guests , which made your stay with us memorable holiday as ever.
We will most certainly share your comments with all our team members, who put in the extra mile and made the difference.
Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

So I can't believe it's a 4 stars hotel. I mean it's great. Great space and great pool. Wonderful golden beach 1 minute away from almost any room. Green spaces are widely spread and sunbathing under the huge trees is very relaxing. The pool-side cafeteria has some good food. Didn't try the restaurants inside because I was staying away from Sri Lankan food (Yes, I did not like Sri Lankan food). Rooms were nothing special though, could have been better. But the good thing is that Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel; even on the beach. All in all, this hotel was probably the highlight of my trip!

Room Tip: Any room on the ground floor I think would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
It is truly rewarding to know that your stay with us was wonderful, specially by our location, selection of food and other amenities.
Thank you for taking the time out to leave such a positive review. We're looking forward to serving you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Good location, very friendly staff , nice garden, beautiful beach, rooms and bath need of some refurb. had good time over two days stay. we will return to this hotel once again once they refurb bedrooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonq53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are jubilant to hear that you will be back with us soon and we will ensure your future stay to be even more enjoyable than the one you’ve already had.
We will also make a note of your comment regarding the need of room modernization at the next refurbishment.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very impressive breakfast spread and quality of food.
Staff friendly but room service was slow.

Rooms ver comfortable in general.

Great location next to beach, but hotel feels old and the rooms are old fashioned. Pricing too high for quality of rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gishanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about our services and facilities. These will greatly assist us in assessing our self and which would guide us in a positive directions.
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The place is close to Colombo, which is pretty convenient. The food is really good, and has a variety to choose from. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. They accommodate to our needs very politely. The beach has good waves and is not dangerous, which is good. The facilities there are amazing such as the banana boating, tubes and kayaking. The pool is also very good but be careful of the rocks inside. I recommend people go visit this hotel, and almost every night they have some activity taking place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are very happy to know about the great experience that you had during recent stay at Bentota Beach hotel. We are lucky to have such a great location which is central to everything you need while on holiday. Hope you would visit us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was our first time in Sri Lanka,flew out on Air Sri Lanka which turned out quite average. Pre bookeds taxi took us from the airport down to Bentota.Treated like royalty on arrival at the Bentota Beach Hotel. To get to the point the hotel is set in beautiful grounds,great pool and don't miss the second pool at the Spa centre.The staff are polite and curious about "where are you from" what do you do" (for a living)" have you children" but this applies to the people in the streets asking similar questions.Hotel food amazing if you like curries...this is heaven. European food also catered for.
The nearby railway is a must to go on its just like you see in the movies ,we went down to Galle about 75 mins away, from there a ride in a Tuk Tuk to a tea plantation ,well worth the trip.
The hotel beach area is just something special , very few people on a palm tree lined beach perfect......Brilliant holiday, though perhaps not for children under 14 yrs. Finally if you want chips,fast food and Watneys Red Barrell like Majorca this isn,t the place for you!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are quiet, although a railway runs at the rear of the hotel there are about 7-8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 106trevorh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for spending your precious time in writing about your recent experience at Bentota Beach Hotel. It gives us a feeling of joy and satisfaction to know that you were satisfied with the service and facilities of the Hotel.
We take pride in providing our guests with a quality product and exceptional service at all times, it’s great to hear such good feedback on this.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,606 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
816 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Property: Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing