We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once is enough, and not for too many days!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Watch out for the rooms on the loser levels, we were placed there first (very damp feeling) but after one day managed to get similar rooms higher up (much better).

Everything in the hotel has been adapted to the russian guests (menus, staffing in the reception), and that affects the whole feeling of the hotel. The russians are to many!

Be ware of the laundry service! The tags they use to mark the clothes can easily tear your garments when trying to remove them. We got one item back with a black stain in the middle of the front, they sent it for re-laundry but it's still noticable.

Really nice spa department! Had pedicure and it was so relaxing you could easily fall a sleep :-).

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisbetM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We were sorry to hear that your stay with us was not satisfactory other than our spa facilities and the location.
To uphold our brand’s high standards, we will make every effort to communicate with our associates to make your stay here more enjoyable moving forward.
We were sorry to hear your dissatisfaction with several aspects of our hotel, including its laundry services.
Also we have followed up with the appropriate departments and can assure you that these issues were not up to our normal operating performance.
We look forward to hosting your next visit to Bentota Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 587 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

We arrived back on Tuesday 11th March ! We got Married on 3 rd March ! What an amazing day , what an amazing stay ! The staff were so attentive , & friendly , treated us like kings ! Both of our rooms were amazing & Clean ! Although our first room did smell of sewerage ! Once we complained , we were moved to an even better room , with even more stunning views !
The choice of food was very good on the whole , although we found the meat sometimes very tough ! Always found something very nice to eat , the choice of salads, fruit ' curries & desserts were awesome !
Our Wedding was absolutely stunning ! Thanks to everyone involved in organising that, the photographer, the Kandian dancers. & choir! The poor elephant ! Shanilli the wedding planer who ensured everything was perfect ! All involved in the after wedding on the pontoon , the food was exceptional ,& again all off the staff amazing !
Ok some of the rooms could maybe do with a make over, But remember a holiday is what You make of it ! How much time do you spend in your room anyway ?
Great thanks to all of the Staff & all of our 12 guests for Making Our Special Day , the Best Day of Our Lives ! Amazing !

Room Tip: All are pretty good ! But the deluxe rooms are amazing , especially the ones with the sea views !c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to comment about your wedding vacation at our resort.
We are always overjoyed to read how our guests feel after their wedding day with us and it is so gratifying to hear the dedication and hard work put in by our team is appreciated.
We are filled with pride knowing that our associates’ hospitality and service made your stay the more pleasurable.
It would be our sincere pleasure having you visiting us in the future and we would be most obliged to assist you in arranging your future reservations with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and i stayed here after our tour of Sri-Lanka, and prior to our trip to the Maldives.
We were initially placed in a deluxe room for the first night due to the hotel being 'full'.
Next day my husband was given the choice of 2 rooms and chose one that was farthest away from the train line, it had a lovely big balcony facing the gardens/sea, from here we did not hear any train noise. The room itself was a nice size and clean.
The hotel had lots of Russian guests who were not wearing all inclusive bands but were always propping the bar up.
On several occassions whilst getting our own drinks (which we were asked to sign for) we noted that there were items that we had not obtained on the receipt.
We put 2 and 2 together and realised other people (who were propping the bar up) were getting drinks and not signing for them.
When my husband questioned this he was told "no problem"
Another couple who had been on our tour told us they had not been asked to sign for any of their drinks.
My husband questioned the receptionists about this and was told there should only be our drinks on the receipt that we should sign for.
To cut a long story short, we noticed afterwards that we were made to wait for further drinks both at the bars and in the restaurant. (news travels fast!) and that some staff ignored us.
This spoilt the rest of our stay to this lovely hotel, we didnt purposly set out to get staff into trouble.
The food at the hotel was amazing. We have travelled extensivley and i have to say the food here was some of the best we have ever had. A fab array of choice.
The bar on an evening had a nice ambience to it, (until we got ignored!)
The hotel has lovely grounds with plenty of sunbeds.
There is a souvenier shop which was actually cheaper than the airport.
Not a great deal going on outside the hotel, but it was safe to go for a stroll on an evening.
A great place to stay...if you dont question things.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 800 plus. There was no train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soniaroberts05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

We thank you for your generous comments and the time you spent for the feedback on Trip Advisor.
As we strive for excellence service we value feedback such as this to better enhance stays for our future guests.
We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the delay and the inconvenience while you were at the bar.
As this hotel is not a fully all inclusive resort, we have guests who are not on all inclusive (not wearing wrist bands) but with different meal plans, Bed & Breakfast, Half Board and Full Board basis. They get their beverage orders and sign the total bill after obtaining several beverage items over a period.
But for guests who are on All Inclusive, we get their signature on the Bar Order Ticket (BOT) to maintain records for service purpose as it helps to keep proper stocks of most essential beverages ready, all the time to serve at our outlets.
Also we are very confident that all our guests will be treated equally with dignity by our associates.
We would very much appreciate it if you could send us more details on the same incident via mail (bbh@cinnamonhotels.com) , so we can personally look in to this matter and take appropriate action for the inconvenience you experienced.
It will also help for the ongoing investigation of the circumstance of your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back, trusting that we could deliver the expected service on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

we had a lot of fun in this hotel.. we enjoyed the big waves of the beach but expect a lot of spectators because it's not a private beach.. if you don't want to go to the beach, you can enjoy the pool which was really my favorite part of the hotel.. i love the design of the pool where they placed some rock formation underwater where you can take a rest in between swimming and the water seemed very clean... the breakfast was amazing and we got to try also the international dinner buffet and it was also a good choice for us... one thing i don't like though is the way going to our room because it's quite far from the reception and it's like passing an eerie maze, but it's not a big deal for us... it's more peaceful on that side anyway and it's facing the beach and our room has a small terrace which was very nice to hang out during night time with some drinks.. i would definitely stay in this hotel again if given a chance.. i would recommend it to all travelers...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAQG04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor based on your recent stay.
Our constant endeavor at Bentota Beach Hotel is to maintain a soothing environment and offer attentive, warm, friendly and personalized service to our guests. We are extremely pleased to note that you had a memorable stay with us and these comments will be shared with the entire team as a matter of encouragement.
It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to having you back with us for another salient holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Food: enjoyed the buffet. Upgrade to full board or at least half board.. especially dinner. Works out to $25 for full board.

Great location.. can play on the beach or enjoy the nice pool.

Enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful Trip Advisor review of your stay at Bentota Beach Hotel, which has been both encouraging and uplifting.

We are looking forward to your next visit with us and assure you of another unique experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have been in this hotel once in 2013. my overall experience here was very good. Hotel staff were very supportive. Rooms are good. Food was great and I never felt I am bound to have pre-fixed menu as almost all cuisines were there in the buffet. One disappointment was that the beach was not private and restricted myself to have fun on beach.
I have recommended some of my friends visiting Sri Lanka to have atleast 1 night stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing river are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manish K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We were fascinated by your words of appreciation and were excited to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

All your compliments were greatly appreciated and have been shared with the entire team especially with the Executive Chef and his team.
Thank you once again for staying with us and for recommending Bentota Beach Hotel to fellow Trip Advisor reviewers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Upon arrival at the Bentota, it was clear that the location was great. Sandwiched between the river and the Indian Ocean...fantastic. We crossed what we thought was an old railway line on the way into the hotel...how wrong we were. The line was mainly operational of an evening and early morning. When I say the line is close, it is on the other side of the hotel entrance. It is not ideal and it does spoil what is otherwise a great hotel. The beach has soft wand, clear waters and is great for swimming. The river has fisherman of a daytime and there is a floating restaurant of an evening. The food in the a la carte restaurant is superb. It is a shame the service lets it down. The food is to Michelin standard and the chefs should be commended for the tasty, well presented food.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs...for whichever room you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muscat_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We are indeed delighted to read your wonderful compliments on Trip Advisor attributed to your recent stay at Bentota Beach Hotel.
We always take pride in ourselves in offering warm Sri Lankan hospitality to our valued guests.
We have shared your compliments with the entire team especially the Executive Chef and his team. Also we assure you that your concerns on quality of the services in the restaurant will be looked in to urgently and immediate steps taken to prevent re-occurrence.
While thanking you for taking time to write to us we eagerly hope to have you with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.9 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $246 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing