We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Made a mistake in our booking at Oasey beach and had to find another nearby for one night Got a great deal through Agoda. Rooms excellent- ours had a view of the manicured lawns - Staff helpful from the moment you arrive to the secong you leave making even one night one to remember. Had a driver all trip so took him and his sister and mother for a meal Food was excellent but service was bad. Think this was due to our guests being Sri Lankan. Otherwise would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCorlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate your comments on our location, services and our associates.
All our guests are entitled to be, and will be, treated equally with dignity and respect. Our team will not discriminate or disrespect any guest based on their nationality.
We will certainly be looked in to as areas where we could better our quality standards.
We look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

I should think that coming back to any hotel where one spent many happy and memorable moments forty years ago, during the seventies, more often would be doomed to fail...

“Carrying this certainty in my hand luggage”, I arrived at BBH in the middle of January to spend almost two weeks there once again.

My concerns where put to shame already when I entered the hotel's reception desk, the same beautiful interior, exterior (seen from inside) and, not least, the smell of cinnamon...

The Front Office Manager (I hope this title is not my "invention"!) Mr. Ruwan, Mr. Subash and not at least, Mr. Prem Kumar welcomed us, early arrived and slightly impatient guests, in a way that made even the waiting comfortable

The room was slightly worn. But who prefers cold, unpersonal shine before charming ageing?
(Selfcomfort at my age...)
I was told that a considerable rebuilding is planned. -Please, do this carefully, to preserve the architectural work done by Geoffrey.Bawa.!

The guests were of many different nationalities, and compared to the seventies, I felt almost like an endangered species, being a Scandinavian. This was no problem for me, though. The hotel's atmosphere, the service and above all the generous space made the passport's origin rather unimportant, and it was always possible to find one's own tree shadow to place the resting chair.

The hotel has many long-term-guests who come back for annual stays.

The food for breakfast and dinner (I was a "halfpensioner") was excellent and the service in the restaurant was quick and very kind, although many guests often arrived simultaneously. For those preferring a quiet meal, the noise level could be annoying and some of the guests were obviously stuck by "The Law of the Jungle", for which there really was no reason, because all the dishes were refilled when needed.
Anyway, the hotel cannot be responsible for the guests' behavior and for me travelling alone, this "struggle for food" mainly appeared to be rather entertaining...

It has been said that a hotel never can be better than it's management.
The management at BBH encourage their guests to leave input to improve the hotel's quality.
-Sorry, for me there was nothing more to wish! I had an excellent stay, and I just want to say "thank you!", not least for the invitation to the memorable "Pontoon Trip".

There are many persons I would, and should, mention by name, but then this description from my stay would appear more like an old-fashioned telephone directory, without numbers, though...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
We greatly appreciate your loyalty towards Bentota Beach Hotel, even after four decades. It is really rewarding to know that we were able to exceed your expectations on your stay with us again.
We are truly happy to know that you found the services and facilities, of the room, food and our team to be of high standards.
Thank you most, especially for recognizing Bentota Beach Hotel repeatedly for the excellent hospitality provided by our associates and Rest assured that such praises will be shared to the entire team.
It would be our sincere pleasure having you visiting us in the future and we would be most obliged to assist you in arranging your future reservations with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great Location right on the beach from one side and on the river from the other side. Rooms are quite spacious. Bet linen and towels are in the worst possible shape.
Breakfast was very good. Service was not that good as you need to ask at least 2 times for anything

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argyris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. So we thank you sincerely for sharing your honest feedback which is deemed invaluable to us, which will certainly be considered as areas of improvement.
Whilst thanking you for sharing your feedback with us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our resort for a more memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Me and my wife went there for our honeymoon, and it was really nice. There were so many surprises for us and we were so happy there. it was just 2 nights but we wished if it was long. Anyhow we will be visiting you in this year as well. Friendly staff and delicious foods. Location is perfect. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are perfect for honeymooners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chathura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Bentota Beach Hotel.
It is wonderful to hear we were able to meet your expectations and deliver the calm and comfort you expected.
It was our pleasure hosting you at Bentota Beach Hotel and we sincerely hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My family - wife and two teenage daughters - spent a weekend - two days - enjoying the hotel, its amenities and food. All are kept in an excellent manner and its a great value for money. Family wanted stay an extra day, but there were other commitments.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prathapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Bentota Beach Hotel. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality.
Also thank you for recommending us on your review, and hope to see you again when your travels bring you down south.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

It's important to know that on the west coast of Sri Lanka, the train line is next to the beach. Any beach hotel in Bentota will be close to the train line - including Bentota Beach Hotel. The train line is right next to the rooms and the trains run from 4am - 10pm.

The hotel moved us to a different room for nights 2&3 which was much better but you could still hear the trains.

The beach is AMAZING!!! The garden areas are beautiful and all staff are very helpful. The pool area looked great too however we did not go in the pool.

We found Bentota easy to walk around. A must to do is have dinner at Restaurant Diya Sisila. Beautiful food. We got a tuk tuk there and back by the same driver for 500rupee.

The spa at the hotel is VERY GOOD! Not particularly cheap but well worth it. We had the Aloe Vera scrub and pedicure. We had such a great experience that we booked in for another treatment the next day!

Be sure to keep doors and windows closed if you don't want Mosquitos in your room - there is no net in the room.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We are truly happy to note that your stay with us has been exceptional and memorable.
We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you particularly appreciated the food, Spa facilities, services offered by our friendly associates and the views of our unique location.
Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to having you back with us for another memorable holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The stay was for 2 days and was super.

1 staff was smiling and extremely helpful
2. super kids play area..
3. customized food by attentive staff to the kids. Staff went out of the way to accommodate the kids.
4. did not discriminate saying locals..
5. fast service from check in to check out and for room calls.
6. Best experience in a resort hotel in recent years.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJMJTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your visit.
Giving you a personalized service and an experience like no other is our forte, and something we look forward to with each visit you make to Bentota Beach Hotel.
We look forward to delight you with more of our facilities and hospitality on your next visit to Bentota Beach Hotel, hopefully in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#7 of 26 in Bentota
945 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $68 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing