We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointing what they have done to Geoffrey Bawa architecture!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointing what they have done to Geoffrey Bawa architecture!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Well if you have come here to see another great piece of Geoffrey Bawa architecture you will be so disappointed with the outdated renovation. Our room had over 5 different tacky tiles (all budget) no class/style. Not an architects dream.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alm1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    518
    227
    96
    70
See reviews for
476
524
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Though I wanted to stay in Vivanta by Taj but I haven't regretted for staying at this hotel. Love the smell of spices in the lobby area, food was good, wifi works everywhere. Will not mind staying at this hotel again. We had a wonderful trip of Srilanka.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Priyanka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your visit to Bentota Beach Hotel. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal and were happy with the other services offered by the resort.
Thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent location in between the river and ocean. Especially enjoyed the beach and lovely well tended gardens. The hotel is showing its age and a little tired; could do with maintenance and updating in many areas. Very pleasant and friendly staff. Buffet food was good and varied.

Room Tip: Garden room in the north wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Bentota beach Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you sincerely for sharing your honest feedback which is deemed invaluable to us, which will certainly be considered as areas of improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We travelled to Sri Lanka from 5th of Nov to 10th of Nov and stayed in this hotel for 2 days. I regret the decision of not staying here longer since this hotel deserves it! After having travelled for 2.5 hours from Airport, the hotel made us feel so relaxed and rejuvenated with its ambience and decor, was out of the world!
The place has been tastefully decorated and has a nice peaceful calmness to it. The rooms provided were nice and airy and were facing the lagoon/ river.
Buffet had a nice variety and the service and almost always very prompt.
I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a good relaxing time on their holiday!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adeosthale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Bentota Beach Hotel. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us.
Glad that you were happy with the ambiance, Service and the food that the resort had to offer.
We do hope that you will continue to patronize Bentota Beach Hotel to enjoy the peace and tranquility that the resort is being renowned for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel grounds are nice and clean, and a pleasure to be around. Great food in the main restaurant. The bar and Pool bar are expensive, and differ in price which didn't make any sense to me as all drinks come from the bar! The beach exit is to a public beach, so it gets a bit annoying with the touts. GYM : The gym is adequate for use, although the A/C does not work very well or is not often on, therefore making the workout difficult.
Bad Experiences : 1) The reception team expected us to find our own room. 2) They put us in a twin room, when we had booked a double. Had to complain. 3) The bathroom and rooms are a little dated. For a 4* + hotel, they have old TVs and moldy shower corners. 4) As all rooms face the garden, when people have loud music, you can hear it. Someone was partying till 3am, at which the Hotel did nothing.
Overall : Nice place to stay of all you wan to do is relax! But be careful of your wallet. I stayed 2 days ans spent £70 just on food an drink! I was expecting more though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dharm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are deeply distressed to learn that you did not have a memorable stay with us. We apologize for the shortcoming you experienced with regards to the allocation of your room which didn't meet your expectations.
Also we are constantly reviewing our standards and always endeavor to improve our product and service offerings. Your constructive feedback is therefore deeply valued by us and will certainly be looked into as areas where we could better our quality standards.
Thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were a group of 11 with 4 teenagers occupying 5 rooms. Firstly, we were all relocated from the sister property Cinnamon Bey Beriwalla to this one at the last minute. That was stressful. They offered dinner on the house for the two days of stay as compensation - pityful!
Even though one of the room was upgraded to a suite, the Shower area in the bathroom is literally 2 feet by 2 feet. You need to Squeeze and maneuver your self to close the door!!
The SPA experience was the crappiest in my life. As soon as the massage started there was loud music out side and some kind of party with screaming mike announcements started (at 11:30 AM by the way!!) Upon my protest, they removed a 50% off the charge.
Oh yes the blinds in the suite do not shut out the light from outside well enough, so budget for 5:30 Am rise and shine sunshine!!
The rest of the property is nice and the beach is clean!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raghu64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. Constructive criticism is always appreciated as it helps us to better our product and service offerings,
So we thank you sincerely for sharing your honest feedback which is deemed invaluable to us,which will certainly be considered as areas of improvement.
Whilst thanking you for sharing your feedback with us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our resort for a more memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel a number of times when I have visited Sri Lanka previously, I decided that whilst there this time I had to at least pay them a visit. So Lunch it was, and may I say I wasn't disappointed, a weekday and the food on offer was glorious !! an exceptional display although we were pretty late dining, and the tastes were fantastic. The restaurant has had some refurbishment and the new layout for the buffet was pretty impressive.
I would recommend you pay this place a visit to dine there even if you are only passing through as the hospitality and staff are so warm and welcoming.
Many thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol210660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your very short visit to Bentota Beach Hotel. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal and were happy with the changers that have been donewith the new buffet layout. I also take this opportunity to thank you for showing your appreciation towards the hospitality that was offered to you on all your visits to Bentoat Beach hotel.
Looking forward to serving you better on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Property: Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing