We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
Chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Refreshing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was really nice and comfortable stay at bentota beach resort. Staff was warm and polite.the property had gud stuff to keep children and adults well occupied. I enjoyed doing yoga in calm environment . beach is so clean. Really had nice fun at the beach .water sports was so much fun.
Children loved jet ski. And banana boat ride .we took adventurous trip to mango groves. Saw alligator there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghnabaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations - Bentota Beach Hotel at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments with regard to your stay at Bentota Beach Hotel. Our Water sport centre is renowned for its quality of service, attention and care extended through the variety of sports activities available. It was an honour to be at your service.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to Bentota Beach Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    509
    220
    93
    67
See reviews for
456
511
41
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The room was spacious and comfy. The hotel had everything one would need on a vacation. The location, the food, the staff - all very good. We spent about a week here and enjoyed every bit of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaranKapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations - Bentota Beach Hotel at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We wish to thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay with us. It was with great pride that we shared your comment with the entire team at Bentota Beach hotel. It was an honour to be at your service.

We eagerly look forward to the opportunity of serving you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent six nights at BBH as part of our Honeymoon in early December, and had a lovely time.

The hotel is well laid out, and the rooms are quite spacious and well maintained, and the staff friendly and helpful, particularly those round the pool and in the restaurant.

The food was of a very good standard, particularly the choice of currys, which were brilliant.

The choice of watersports was also good, and we had great fun on a jet ski for a fair price.

The choice of trips (with Kuoni) was good. We went on the boat trip/turtle sanctuary visit, which was good value and interesting, and also went on the Udawalare Safari, which was great, but a very long day.

Negatives- journey time too and from hotel is almost three hours on roads that you feel you are going to crash every 10 seconds.
Jewellery shop opposite that is recommended by reps is very overly expensive, and pretty sure prices are made up by who you are rather than based on the product
Drinks menu for AI is a little limited

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DavrosFelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in jan for the last part of our holiday.

Travelled in a large family group and the reception gave us all rooms together on the garden 601-603. Ground floor which we were very pleased with.

Rooms - beds very comfy,bathrooms needed a little updating but great room service.

Food - went b&b which was delicious. The restaurant down stairs was definately worth a visit, best food in Sri Lanka!!

Service - great staff, everyone so helpful!!

My friend recommended the hotel and very glad she did! We all had a great time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clare r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We arrived here after a week of travelling around the island enjoying the wonderful wildlife and scenery which is so varied. The staff really go out of their way to be helpful, the accommodation very comfortable and the food terrific - there is just an amzazing variety and anyone shoud be able to find something to their taste. Surprised so few Brits there around New Year though - one of the best New Year celebrations we've encountered - agree with "starlight 799"!. Certainly hope to return someday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandG1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Pramukshi Kariyawasam, Public Relations, Bentota Beach Hotel at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We will certainly convey your thoughts to the entire team at Bentota Beach.
Looking forward to the day of your return to Bentota Beach once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here on NYE 2012/2013 and loved every minute of it! A whole schedule of entertainment was organized until dawn! Main highlights being a lagoon cruise serving beverages and short-eats for $15 PP, followed by an AMAZING buffet which included delicious chillie crab with all cuisines you can think of!! The fireworks was short but was well planned as it was followed by the very lankan PAPARE band to draw the crowd into the dance floor!

We had lunch at a seafood restaurant called "mallies". the lobster was great but the coconut bread sandwich was to die for! This restaurant is situated a10 minute walk away from the hotel (try walking along the beach- refreshingly prepares you for the scrumptious meal!)

The only con I can point out was that it took 30 minutes to check in! However well compensated for by other activities!

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starlight799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our second John Keells property during our fantastic trip to Sri Lanka. But that was really unfortunate for us as both stays were not good (see Cinnamon Citadel Kandy).

I honestly do not understand why the check in process took over half an hour and why we had to wait another 45 minutes to get our luggage sent to our rooms. Just like at the Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, my husband had to go down to the lobby to retrieve our bags.

It was not a good start, especially when we went down for dinner and couldn't help but overhear a gentleman screaming at the front desk staff that he would, "Do everything in my power to ruin this hotel!!!" Apparently, his room flooded and he had to carry his bags to the car after waiting nearly an hour -- there are a lot of steps to get from the rooms to the car pick area, so no easy feat.

Oh and nowhere on the website does it say that the rooms are practically on top of the railway tracks (first train of the day comes around 6:30am and the last at 11:30pm).

What this hotel does have going for it are the beautiful grounds, the lovely beach front, the good pool-side food and the immense number of activities (very nice pool, air pellet gun range, archery, water polo, table tennis) and spa.

All in all we made the best of our four nights here and had a very nice time.

There is so much potential for the Bentota Beach Hotel, but just like the Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, the rates are outrageous considering the poor service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MpHav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#8 of 30 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Property: Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick and Travelocity so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing