We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, ok but not great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Bentota
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, ok but not great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at Bentota Beach Hotel for two days with some colleagues. We were a group of 10 with both Norwegians, Sri Lankans and Indians. The hotel is situated nicely by the beach and it also has a great swimming pool. We also enjoyed water sports and a river boat trip which was excellent.

The food here is ok, but when a focaccia is a pizza pre-slized in four (looking like the pizza of one of the others) then it's better to cut down the menu. Also during dinner the waiters were a bit unattentive or over attentive. We had a table for ten, but one place was missing glasses, and we had to grab some ourselves from the table beside.

It's also nice to ask if you want more food on your place or more wine in the glass, and not just start filling it all up. Seemed like they wanted us out of the room so they could clean up for the day. And don't order the tiramisu. They served up some white pudding with cocoa powder. I prefer a menu to be correct. The bar is also not that great with way too loud music, so it's better to sit outdoors.

All in all I give 4/5 due to the hotel itself and the superb location.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 411/511 as they are very close to the road and train and the view is not that goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    517
    223
    94
    70
See reviews for
471
518
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stay in Bentota Beach Hotel for 3 nights, and I was quite happy with the resort.
They have direct access to the beach, the hotel has many restaurant options (although the food is not the best in most of them. I recommend you stick to the local food and the buffet for lunch).
A nice swimming pool, and wifi that covers the whole resort (even in the pool).
The rooms are OK, comfortable, and with good air conditioning.
Our room had a balcony, although with view to the lake (if you can take the room with sea view, is probably better).
Overall, a good experience.

Room Tip: Get a room in the last floor, with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diegzynko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beautiful property at the beach. Awesome location, good food, great ambiance, excellent bar, great service, nice pool. Room quality can be improved. Great place for kids as well as adults.Saturdays and sundays are fun. Must try their flavours of hookah(sheesha) at the bar.Hmmm overall a good experience

Room Tip: Try and book rooms on the ground and upper ground floor. Avoid rooms on the lower ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiringupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nice, clean rooms which are tastefully designed. Service was good as well as the food. Located in a very touristic area and is great for a sun and sand vacation. My family and i are in Sri Lanka for a short holiday and my wife and i was able to relax while the kidsenjoyed the water sports that are offered by the hotel. The sporting activities are a bit expensive though...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of a tour around Sri Lanka. This is nice hotel, with large grounds adjacent to a huge swathe of beach.

The room was great, although the bathroom was very small, with the toilet cramped up in the corner - I think anyone over 6 foot tall might have a problem finding somewhere for their legs to go when sitting down!

The food was great, especially the 'fine dining' restaurant we visited on our last night.

My only real reservation was the proximity to the train line (The tracks run straight through Bentota, so this may affect other hotels just as much) The trains are infrequent, but insist on blowing their horns as they go by - and the early morning train never failed to wake us up. Fine if you can go back to sleep easily (like me) but not so good if you can't (like my wife)

The train line does give you easy access to Galle though, which we did for a day trip. Good luck finding out the train times though, we had different times given us by the station master, the hotel and the guide book. There was one time that was common to all of them, and we managed to catch that one!
Also, we had several people trying to tell us that the Galle fort was shut due to a high level government meeting taking place there - which was a load of rubbish. There's a tourist information office over from the railway station, I suggest you check there if you're not sure. I think the locals must get tired of people only visiting the fort and not taking a tuk-tuk around the other nearby attractions (that's the only explanation I can think of!)

All in all, great stay - and I'd certainly come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KINGKONG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

This is stunning property with an excellent pool, greens etc. rooms are large and standards of the room decor, bathrooms is high. The dining offers good food option, but does tend to get very busy and noisy during peak hours. The eatersports facilities offered by the hotel are much more expensive than other options close by. The standards of service from the bell desk to in dining service leaves much scope for improvement. Also, this is clearly one place in Lanka wherein only a decent tip to the service staff ensures any kind of service at all!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiran0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

it was nice hotel and i liked it but i wont visit it again even i have booked the deluex room because it needs alot of renovation. i think you should visit avani resort near bentota beach hotel it looked very nice and new. the food was ok and service was perfect but the still the hotel building is very old.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rania k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#7 of 21 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Property: Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing