We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Nearby Hotels
$144
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saman Villas(Bentota)
$413
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,465)
Filter reviews
1,465 results
Traveler rating
537
529
232
97
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
529
232
97
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbentota beachwater sportssri lankathe rivera la carte restaurantjet skiswimming poolsuperior roomplenty of sunbedsnice poolturtle hatcherybeautiful beachgeoffrey bawaindian oceancurriesbreakfast and dinnertuk tuk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
817 - 822 of 1,465 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My Wife and I got married at this hotel in July 2011, and wow what an experience we had! The staff were amazing, we had a party of 23 people come with us to the hotel and they catered for our every need. Nothing was to much trouble Micheal the mananger couldn't do enough for us. We had a slight problem when we wanted my Wife and bridesmaids dresses steamed cleaned they came back pressed,which we didn't want so they got the house keeping manager who was on his days off, to escort the dresses to colombo where they were steamed proffesionally! You wouldn't get that in England. We had our wedding in the grounds which were stunning and had the floating pontoon for our evening and what a day and night we had especially with the Calypso band playing for us while floating along the Lagoon it was out of this world. My Wife and I would not of changed a thing.

There was so much choice of food and variety every day they had a different theme. We were All inclusive which was worth every penny. My nephew came along who was 2 at the time and the chef would come out each night and ask his mom if he could cook something fresh for him which was a nice touch.

Outside the Hotel a Man called Tommy with a tut tut organised all trips for us as we were such a big group he was awesome. Some of the tut tuts did try to rip us off but Tommy was very honest and we used him and his friends for the whole 10 day holiday and they stay with you if you want them too or if not they will arrange a time to come pick you back up and he is very reliable.

Overall we were so glad we chose this hotel as the Management and staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble we will definatley be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

A peaceful, immaculately kept seaside hotel. Even though I stayed in an ordinary room, the decor was unusually elegant, the bed was comfortable, and I felt like I was in paradise!

The buffet food was great - so much choice.

The bar staff were always smiling, helpful and friendly. And even though our booking was mucked up, the reception staff were surprisingly patient.

The place was designed by the famous architect, Geoffrey Bawa, and it has an overall feel of harmony to it. The pond in the middle, is especially gorgeous at night time...

Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank Santhuthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Room overlooking beach okay but couldn't sit on balcony as got bitten badly by mosquito's. Tiles cracked in shower cubicle but overall room clean and acceptable. Reception rooms impressive, shame the rooms didn't match. Food okay with a reasonable selection but as restaurant very large when a lot of groups arrived it felt more like a fast food cafe and didn't have much atmosphere. Trains ran from 6am every morning. Nice swimming pool and grounds set on beach but resort could do with some updating. It is set 10 minuyes walk from the nearest town but it is not the type of place tourists can wander and buy from as a lot of paving slabs are broken and you can see raw sewerage flowing underneath, I stayed a few days on an all inclusive basis, coca cola was included but not diet coke which I had to pay for ?

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Bentota Beach Hotel was built in 1967, which makes it probably the oldest of the Geoffrey Bawa Hotels. Its central courtyard has some really tall Araliya (flower) trees, perhaps the tallest we have ever seen, which reach right up to the top floor Deluxe rooms, which we had. We were on half board basis, as from previous experience we found that we could not have the huge breakfast buffets and then also eat a substantial lunch buffet as well. During the weekend that we were there, the hotel was quite full, and was dominated mainly by a Middle Eastern tour group, a German group and a number of locals. This meant that both car parks were full, and we found it difficult to park. The buffets are all very generous, though some meats are a trifle undercooked at the buffet - this can be dangerous when there is honey glazed pork on (Saturday's) menu.

We stayed Sunday night as well, and found that the hotel emptied out after noon on Sunday. The staff are all very courteous and helpful. The speed of checkin was very swift, but due to some internal dept. calculation that had to be done, we were kept waiting on check out.

The choice of pillows was excellent, and afforded a good night's sleep. We were disturbed on the first night by Buddhist chanting in the nearby temple, a DJ at the courtyard Private Lounge which went on well into the night, and a couple of dogs outside.

On the first day, the (toilet) flush was not working properly, but this was fixed before we complained. Our room was 209 - the top fo the basin tap kept dropping off with a clatter, one of the clues why the hotel needs a little more refurbishment work. There was insufficient bath gel in the shower. The LG TV was a little small for a hotel of this calibre, since the duty was dropped substantially recently it would make sense to at least retrofit LED screens into the Deluxe rooms. We enjoyed watching the DVD's that we brought with us. Some lamp fittings in the stairways are falling apart, with lots of rust. That said the place looks quite pretty in the night. We were kept waiting for 20 minutes for pool towels, as the attendant was on a break. As locals, we expect it, but a British or German tourist would be quite shocked, I would imagine.

While we enjoyed our weekend very much, it is clear that a lot more work needs to be done before KHMS upgrades this hotel to their premier Cinnamon brand. Still it is the grand dame of Bentota Resort hotels, and a Kandyan wedding with all the trappings added spectacle to our Sunday.

A highly recommended day trip is the one to the architect of the hotel's sprawling villa, Lunuganga. It is just 4km from this hotel. Geoffrey Bawa was a flamboyant man, who became a star international architect. The tour is worth the Rs. 1,250 ticket, and you can throw in a lunch or an afternoon tea (prebooked) additionally if you want better value.

Room Tip: Take the Deluxe rather than the Standard or the Superior. It is worth it. Avoid the new wing, which does not afford a good view of the ocean. The top floor is the (original) 2nd floor, the other ones are actually BELOW it.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LocalActingGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very nice hotel between river and ocean, clean rooms and nice water activity, nice swimming pool, food is good but very high price

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmedalmahameed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews